We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Nearby Hotels
US$ 715
US$ 439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 331
US$ 258
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aventura Mexicana(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
US$ 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 944
US$ 791
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 826
US$ 702
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 245
US$ 179
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 1,448
US$ 967
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 556
US$ 403
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 916
US$ 634
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 395
US$ 285
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
539
117
23
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
117
23
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindigo beach clubhot tubel tajmaster bedroomrooftop terraceperfect locationthe penthouseimprevist restaurantthree bedroomshopping and restaurantsfull kitchenprivate jacuzzigreat gymbreakfast includedliving areasister propertyfifth avenue
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Porto Playa staff could not have been more helpful. Condo was beautiful, well appointed. Pool was great, location super convenient. The beach there is not ideal, but with underground parking (no sun baking your car!) and a 1-minute walk to Fifth Avenue, it was still a great location. We drove to several lovely beaches & attractions, then came home to the pool to rest & make our own mango smoothies to drink on our terrace! At night we had many restaurants to choose from, but when we returned to our condo, there was no noise from the lively Fifth Avenue.

Room Tip: We were in a regular 2BR, which was lovely & roomy, but the penthouses looked like they would be worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and 16 yr old son just returned from a 5 night stay at Porto Playa. We stayed in unit 217 which was a 2 bedroom penthouse. We had a slight water view from our patio and a better water view from the rooftop penthouse. The property is definately private and serene and we really appreciated how peacefull it was yet so close to fun and entertainment. Not a good place for someone who has a hard time with stairs since there are no elevators. Even if you get a ground unit, you still have stairs to get to the property and stairs to get to the pool. The location was perfect.....5th Avenue has something for everyone and we really enjoyed trying different restaurants. ( Our favorite being Aldea Corazon that I'm writing a seperate review for, it was awesome!) We had no problem with our unit. The A/C worked fine, we thought the beds were super comfortable,not too hard, our WIFI worked fine. We walked to Mega and bought some groceries, wine and beer. We had breakfast at the Indigo Beach Club 2 mornings and it was really good. We used the beach club 2 days and never had a problem getting lounge chairs. One of the best things about Porto Playa is their pool! The water temperature is perfect and it was never crowded. We never did use our gas grill, but we used the rooftop penthouse jacuzzi every day and just enjoyed hanging out up there. I'm an early riser, so I would walk to Starbucks every morning ( just a few blocks away on 5th Ave) and enjoy coffee on our patio. With all the worries lately of traveling to Mexico, I have to say I felt very safe in Playa del Carmen. I walked every morning by myself on the beach and we walked everywhere around the town as a family. Everyone at the hotel was very accommodating arranging our airport transportation and excursion to Tulum/Xel-Ha. I would definately stay here again, they take pride in their property and it shows by how well they maintain it.

Room Tip: Ground units have nice large patios; 2nd floor units have the most private balconies and the 3rd floor units with the penthouses have the best views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed in unit 203 last week of Mar/12, was our 2nd time staying here. Condo was a ittle dark because of its location, but fairly quiet. One small complaint would be that the AC continued to run regardless of whether it was turned on or off so was a little cold at night. Bed was very hard, but am used to a softer bed. I still don't understand why in this day (its 2012!!!) they can still get away with charging $50/week for wi-fi that is slow and spotty, couldn't get on wi-fi at pool area although could see signal. While they advertise that you can use the Indigo Beach club (its a place just down the street where they have a restaurant and beach chairs/beds) it is unsuitable if you want to go swimming. There is a lot of boats tied up out front and a lot of "seaweed" at the waters edge. We saw no one going in the water there. Best place to go is Mamita's Beach, about a 10 minute walk at calle 28. We wil definitely be going back here soon, hopefully in a 2nd or 3rd floor unit as they're much brighter.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badger-ten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Porto Playa was one of the best places I have ever stayed in Mexico. The condos were clean and staff was very helpful. My only comment was the beach was nice but I have experienced better in Playa. I will definitely rebook.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

THis was such a lovely property. The design is fantastic, the rooms are immaculate and very nicely done, the staff is fantastic--flawless. We loved the rooftop pool, our room on the first floor, its proximity to bustling 5th Ave, the quiet hush within the courtyard - an oasis within the urban bustle.

I would consider buying a unit, it was that good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plannergirl34950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews