We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“WEDDING OF A LIFETIME!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #38 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
JRB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WEDDING OF A LIFETIME!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

When I picked this resort (sight unseen) over a year ago for my wedding, I read the reviews on tripadvisor almost everyday. We traveled with 90 friends and family, all of which stayed at this resort. The resort itself is really beautiful, so clean, friendly staff, easy layout, amazing huge beach, fun pool...

To address some of the negatives people mentioned. The "smell" people are talking about it what a vacation smells like. I didn't notice anything. We never saw or were bothered by any bugs at all. The entire staff was very friendly and always willing to help. Most spoke english well enough, but who really cares. Dinner reservations, although a pain, were easy to make and if we could not get one, we were happy to eat at the buffet.

The food was VERY plentiful!! Not one person, out of all 90 people got sick at all. If anything, people just over ate because the food was so good. Ate by the poolside buffet every day at lunch, pizza, tacos, pasta, salads, salad bar, burgers, fries, mexican treats, softserve, nachos....literally everything!! Breakfast was amazing...smoothies, 10 kinds of yogurt, eggs made to order, pancakes, breads, sweets, cold and hot cereal....once again, more than you would ever eat at home, but all so yummy. Dinner at the buffet was also a treat, themes each night so you never had the same thing twice...lobster tail, ribs, kabobs, salads, tacos...the list goes on and one. We only ate at two specialty restaurants (Mexican and Japanese) it was nice to be waited on, food was great. My guests raved about the other specialty restaurants.

Pool and beach were always fun and exciting. Plenty of chairs and towels. Great Service. Sure, people saved chairs, but that's life, no fault of the hotel,

As for the wedding, the hotel did an amazing job accommodating such a large group. They went above and beyond many of the usual services.

Spa was amazing--got my hair done, got an 80 min massage and a scrub. Staff knew what they were doing and did not let us down.

Tips were always appreciated, but never expected. The staff does deserve them!!

Enjoy your stay. I'm ready to return.

Stayed February 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank JrbJrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,150
    1,261
    391
    153
    99
See reviews for
1,392
2,497
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

This was our first visit to a RIU hotel, having stayed at Iberostars (8x), the Valentin Imperial Maya, and Barcelo (3x) in the past. I guess you can say we are Iberostar fans, but we were anxious to give the RIU brand a try. We choose the top-of-the-line RIU Palace Riviera Maya. The following points are made to assist others planning a visit and are not complaints. We had a very nice time at the RIU Palace Riviera Maya in mid February and do not let the little things bother us and ruin our stay.

The Hotel and grounds are gorgeous and very well maintained. As others have said, the beds are hard and the linens very rough. Soundproofing of rooms was nonexistent - lots of noise from the hallway and your neighbors. Our room was nice; although the bathroom had a water leak from above and the bathroom floor was constantly soaked. We advised RIU staff several times, with no response. We then called the front desk (2x) who eventually had it addressed by RIU Maintenance. When we returned to our room after lunch, we unfortunately found that maintenance used epoxy sealant to try to seal the leak (instead of finding the source of the leak). Epoxy is hazardous to breath for at least the first 12 hours. Our room was not livable and we had to be moved to a different room.

The bartenders and servers were friendly, engaging, and fun. We especially loved Islas at the Lobby Bar and Antenor (?) at the Pool Bar. The Front Desk Staff, as others have noted, is unhelpful and borderline rude. When asked directly about lunch options, they told us the only place to have lunch was Chili’s at the beach. Two days into our stay, we found out the Main Buffet was open for lunch (1PM -3 PM). The lunch food there was great compared to the lunch at Chili’s.

Loungers around the pool were saved VERY early. We woke up at 6 AM on our last day to watch the sunrise and we encountered people already saving their spots around the pool, with many already loungers already saved.

The food was overall good. We ate at the Don Manolo Buffet twice for dinner and 3x for lunch. Buffets were very good. For the Specialty restaurants, we dined at the Mexican (Appetizers good, I loved my beef entrée, my wife did not care for her shrimp-overcooked and rubbery), the Brazilian (good overall, except the beef was overdone), the Japanese (good all around), but the Krystal Fusion was very disappointing (tried to be too creative and do too much).

Nightly entertainment in the Piazza before the Show. The nightly shows were ok. There is no nightclub on-site. You have to walk about 7 minutes to the Nightclub at RIU Tequila. Note, RIU Palace does not offer a golf cart ride to/from the club (Iberostar does). With my wife in heels, we would not walk the distance.

We heard that wireless internet was available in the Lobby. We took a laptop and found the internet excruciatingly slow, almost unusable.

The beach was great - manicured and raked every morning, lots of sunloungers, plenty of locations for shade or sun.

Overall from our experiences, the RIU Palace Riviera Maya would be on par with the Iberostar Lindo, but it is not as nice as the Iberostar Maya and certainly not the Iberostar Grand. We would stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BucketListTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We have stayed at 3 previous Riu's and we loved all of them. We went to our friends wedding in February 2010 at the Riu Palace Mexico and that's how we decided to have our wedding at this hotel!! The staff was awesome!! Never had any issues with the front desk, wait staff was amazing and very attentive, hotel was immaculate, beach is awesome!! The pool was very cold but when you are in Mexico we could care less. Nancy Hernandez was our MICE manager for our wedding and she did awesome. I would recommend the Caprice package...it allows you to have all you need! We went with a group of 30 people and all of them loved the hotel. My parents and their friends went to a Iberostar last year and they loved this one more. Everyone loved the food at the hotel. So when trvaleing with 30 people I figured there would be some people not happy with something, but I never heard one negative....well except that there was no Corona in the hotel, but we loved the Dos Equis and all the mixed drinks ( I recommend the Carribean Orange and Chocolate Martini). We look forward to going back very soon!! You will love this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manda_3347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

My Husband and I were Married here and our stay was awesome. Our trip started out with a damp dark room on the bottom floor facing another hotel. They were happy to upgrade us 3 times! Our stay was 15 days and our last 8 days were in a suite facing the ocean over the pool! Everytime a better room opened up they asked us if we would like to change rooms!
The food was better then I could imagine, and everyone was super nice. The pool boys brought us two drinks at time and knew us by name. The maids made us dinosours, swans and elephants out of our towels and spare blankets. The shows at night are cheezy but fun, the night market is a little anoying and way over priced. The only lame thing was our wedding planner was all over the place, I had to call her half hour before the wedding to find out what was going on, she seemed curious as to why i had called. She also forgot to tell us we need blood tests, which we knew we did but read online a doctor would come to our room. We ended up waiting in a group of couples in an upstairs bar above the lobby in RIU palace mexico. Not very personal but whatever. We also did not recieve a wedding gift, which was part of the wedding package. The spa was also a total rip off, way more then I would ever have pay at home and half as good. I had to laugh at makeup it was so bad! My hair was ok and my mani/pedi looked good but don't expect anything but bare minimum attention to you for top dollar. I do makeup professionaly so i fixed myself up no problem but i didn't want to have to do my own face on my wedding day. They had one girl to do all of the above so, there's the problem right there. They over charged us as well so watch out for that!!. The Spa I believe is NOT actually part of the RIU hotel so it is no blame to them at all.
The photographer we had was super hands on and really friendly and cool. His name is Carlos and if you get him your in luck! he made us feel really comfortable and even gave us a ride back to our hotel later on! his pictures were great and he made us laugh the whole time!! Joe the bartender was our man, he was even in one of our wedding pics! We can't wait to come back for our one year and see everyone again, It was really great time!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acerfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Once again we choose a Riu Palace for our getaway. The Riu Palace Riviera Maya lived up to and met every one of our expectations. We found the food exceptional and managed to make a reservation for each of the five specialty restaurants without much effort--well worth the short wait at noon in the Lobby Bar. The Buffet is top-notch, serving great food in the morning and evening. We enjoyed unlimited lobster tails the evening we arrived--impressive to say the least.
We have travelled extensively throughout the world as well as several Cruise ships having said that our expectations are somewhat high.
This would be our fourth Palace vacation, we do always reserve the SUITE which is large and beautiful. The extra space is so worth the extra dollars--seperate living area, walk-in closet, hugh bathroom with jacuzzi as well as a two level outdoor balcony with a jacuzzi for two and in this case a fabulous ocean view.
The staff work so hard to please the guests, someone is constantly cleaning something--the place is immaculate.
If you're thinking of going, don't hesitate--this Resort is a little piece of heaven--ENJOY!!!
Many thanks to management who made our Anniversary extra special and unforgetable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redhatter-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.7 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,420 reviews
1.2 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 km away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
1.4 km away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,943 reviews
21.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,352 - ₹ 38,134
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing