We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Ranked #38 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
stpaullori
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spring break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just returned from the RIU Riviera Maya Palace for spring break. We had five mothers and daughters, and it proved to be an excellent choice. The hotel is beautiful, the lobby spectacular, and the grounds immaculate. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. A special thank-you to Edgar, we had a problem with our flight, the night before we were leaving, and even though he had just gotten off work, he went back behind the desk and time and effort trying to help us resolve the issue. I liked that this resort was a mix of young and old and people from all over. The food was good for an all- inclusive and the buffet is better then the specialty restaurants. I had always heard the wine was terrible at all-inclusives but they had a nice Chilean red Cabernet and Chardonnay. I loved that we could walk the beach into town and that it wasn't overwhelmingly big. The beach is gorgeous and even though it was sold out when we were there, you could always get chairs by the pool and beach. It's also a nice perk that you can go to any of the other RIU'S. All 10 of us agreed that it was the perfect place for a mother daughter spring break!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank loristpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,310
    1,309
    401
    157
    104
See reviews for
1,463
2,619
47
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,016)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Don't worry about booking this resort, we have been twice and we are really fussy holiday makers. It is a beautiful resort, rooms and grounds are spotless, no bugs or mozzies. Super hot this time of year but not too humid in the evenings which is great. Bar service at the pool and in the evening in fantastic, shows are the usual offering, some really funny but nothing exceptional, we had more fun sat around the lobby bar chatting to people. Food is good both buffet and a la carte, I would give the Brazilian a steer, the worst of all of them. We noticed that since 3 years ago when we travelled last that the premium brand drinks have declined slightly, they still serve Absolout and Smirnoff Vodka but no longer Jack Daniels, only Jim Beam. We booked an upgraded jacuzzi suite as it was our wedding anniversary but dissapointingly when we arrived it wasn't available on our first night, we instead had a suite and he following night was moved to the correct room. If you want one of these rooms I can recommend room 2046 which has a great ocean view and that of the pool and courtyard. The hotel did some things to 'make it up to us', but to me they didn't really go out of their way, not even a note or anything in our room on our anniversary, shame. I think that is what lets this hotel down for me, is that they are catering for the masses and whilst everyone is very friendly they just don't get how to make it special and you feel like you are an individual, small touches could fix this. Also, the gym is useless, really needs updating, only one treadmill working the whole trip (2 weeks), the other squeaked very loudly and the rest of the gym equipment is old and clunky, not easy for my husband to lift weights. Also, we visited the other hotels, the Riviera Maya far outshines all of them, my only wish would be that the hotel would provide a little shuttle bus up and down the road to drop outside each hotel and finally to the end where you can go into Playa Del Carmen. Again, great hotel, great service but personalised service is definitely missing.

Room Tip: jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

After much debate, we decided on this hotel. We had been to one of its sister resorts (RIU Playacar) and had mixed reviews. We love the loction, so we thought we'd upgrade to a "5-star" to see if it was better. It was definitely better. The service and the cleanliness of the grounds was excellent! The staff was eager to please - from the front desk to the waiters that offered us drinks on the beach. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. The rooms were OK. We had two - a standard jr. suite and a "superior" jr.suite. The only difference was the view from the balcony. One looked out over the central pools and gardens and the other had no view at all - just some grass and a privacy fence. If you don't plan to spend much time on your balcony, don't waste extra money on a superior suite. The location is great. It's a pleasant, safe, 15-20 minute walk into interesting Playa del Carmen. We had no concerns about safety at all - either on the resort or in town. The buffet food was very good. The restaurants were good also but don't expect 5-star meals. The wine is served out of a bottle which is a big step up from the casks at Playacar. It's not great quality but it's acceptable. I wish they'd offer more beer variety than the Dos Equis on tap. The pool is very nice. It's a little cramped and noisy with constant entertainment games poolside which for me was a little tiresome. The beach area is spectacular! There were lots of loungers and space either in the sun or under palm trees. You could be on the main beach or the private hotel beach area. The water is clear, beautiful colour with an extensive sandy bottom.

Room Tip: Our time was mostly spent outside so it didn't matter. The rooms with the better view tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scbrown757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

This is our 4th time in he Mayan Riviera and the first time in the Palace Riviera Maya. We went this time from March 5 to 12. This palace is absoutely beautiful. The pool is the nicest of all the Rius there. It is bigger with lots of room and plenty of chairs. The beach is one of the best in the world with (nice cool to the feet) white coral sand. There is plenty of room on the beach with lots of sun lounging chairs. The staff are the best we've seen in all the Rius. They jump for you in the dining rooms and the bars with or without tipping. I've been to 5 different Rius and other hotels and this one is best for service. We went to the Brazilian and Chilis for supper 3 times. The food and service was good there. We went to the buffet the rest of the time. The food was alright at the buffet but the food at the Riu Palace Mexico buffet was better when we were there 2 years ago. The entertainment at night was all right but a lot of dancing. It would be nice to have more variety. Over all it is a great safe area to go with lots to do. We went for a side trip to Cozumal with snorkeling and sightseeing. We also went 4 wheeling for half a day with a swim in a cenote. We would likely go again and probably stay at the Riu palace again.

Room Tip: get a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djkoomans36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel is beautiful. The beach and pool were excellent. The buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner was better than the 2 "specialty" restaurants we had to make reservations for. The Brazilian restaurant had poor service, poor sides and all the meat was way overcooked. The steak restaurant was the same. We couldn't eat at the Japanese restaurant b/c my brother-in-law didn't bring pants. So beware! Otherwise, everything else was fantastic and the other staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kacardenas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#26 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,332 reviews
21.2 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,182 reviews
18.6 km away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
0.9 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,325 reviews
1.4 km away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Address: Av Xaman-Ha Mza 9 y 10 Lote 1 Int.Fracc. | Fase II Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,263 - ₹ 36,975
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing