We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful property, bad customer service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairmont Mayakoba
Ranked #6 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, bad customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for a corporate sales meeting. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are appointed with high end finishes and everything feels very new. I stayed in a casita room which was quiet and private. They have free bicycles you can use to get around the property but since they are first come first serve your bike may be taken by another guest when you park it at the beach! The spa/gym facilities were really nice. I didn’t have any treatments but did use the locker room area with steam, spa, etc and it was really relaxing.. Be careful about leaving anything valuable in the lockers…when you leave the locker area I noticed staff lurking in an untrustworthy way.

I would consider staying here for a vacation if the customer service was better and the price came down. For $300+ a night in Mexico I expect more. The night I checked in it was over 90 degrees in my room and the air conditioning was broken. The bellman said it would eventually cool down. I had to call for engineering later that night for help because the room felt like a sauna! They were able to improve it but the temp in the room never dropped below 75 the rest of the week which is too hot for me.

They wouldn’t allow me to change rooms since I was there with a group. I also wrote a letter to Fairmont and didn’t get any resolution. If they could have handled this situation better I would give it 5 stars. Since I gave them several opportunities to accommodate me and received no response I have to rate it much lower.

Room Tip: If you stay in a casita ask for a room near the lagoon so you can see all the wildlife. There are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cowbell2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Cowbell2011,
Thank you for taking the time to provide details of your recent stay with us. We apologize that your experience was less than favorable and assure you that we are looking into the matter further. We welcome further details of your stay and have sent a private message to your Tripadvisor messaging center. We value your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve upon the high standards of service we strive for.
Sincerely,
Sven-Erik Richter
Hotel Manager
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,469
    530
    159
    91
    48
See reviews for
1,172
1,200
48
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the Fairmont Mayakoba and definitely not our last. The property is absolutely beautiful, spacious and relaxing. The service was next to perfect, with all of the little added details that Fairmont is known for. The staff are wonderful and the whole experience made it difficult to leave.
Take advantage of the boat tours around the property, beautiful areas to be discovered!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great Spring break trip with family, awesome beach front, recommend the Beach Casitas, food was very good. Service was above average and the facility is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank villellap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here with two other families from March 10, 2012 to March 21, 2012. We had six adults and 8 children ages 4 to 11. We had a fabulous time. The food was out of this world. The service was wonderful, the staff was attentive. The rooms were beautiful. We loved it. The beach was a bit choppy but everything else was so fabulous that we can settle for the choppy water.

I think this resort would be better suited for couples - not a lot for the kids to do but we had so many they kept each occupied. Perfect for couples or couples with young children.

The food was so good I can not even describe it. Every meal was a treat and the drinks were so fresh and perfect. It was a culinary dream come true. We all loved the food.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the canals facing the golf course. Gorgeous views. Or even better stay on the beach if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellosaraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I researched many properties on TripAdvisor and chose Fairmont Mayakoba and am delighted with my choice. My husband and I both celebrated our birthdays, and the staff made sure that they recognized us with cake in our room and balloons, as well as a surprise dessert at dinner. We had a signature king casita in the 300 area which was close to La Laguna (breakfast every day) and a short walk to the lobby and spa. We had the appetite for luxury package and it was well worth it! As you have read, prices were not cheap, and having that package enabled us to try many things that we might not have, without being concerned about how much we were spending. We are REAL FOODIES and both of us loved the food at this resort. The fish is so fresh, the ceviche is probably the best I've ever had, the presentation is wonderful! Sushi is available at the lobby bar and it is very fresh! We ordered chocolate souffle´ one night that was amazing. For breakfast I had egg white omelettes made to order, fresh varieties of fruit and fruit juices and a wide range of specialties, some Mexican, some not. They even had a Fitness Bar with heathy choices. Service was quite attentive, and servers all spoke English, even though we tried to make it through with our Spanish!

If you want quiet than the adult only pool is your place. Infinity edge overlooking the lagoon, great lounge chairs and away from the kids! Can't comment on the beach as we never went down there. We never had issues with finding the golf cart shuttles - only used them when we went to Las Brisas, the restaurant by the beach, which was our favorite! The El Cameleon golf course was a blast, but make sure you keep your ball on the fairway because if it goes in the rough it is lost! I had a treatment at the spa that was heavenly. Join Fairmont's Presidents club for discounts at the spa and free wi-fi at the resort (and in-room).

Rooms were spacious and clean. Our balcony was very private overlooking the canal; could see lots of constellations at night. My favorite part of the room was the bathrooms - felt like you were in an outdoor shower with birds flying by and lots of light. My only complaint is that we had to end our vacation, but this is a property that definitely warrants a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julester18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont M, Manager at Fairmont Mayakoba, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Julester18,
From all of us at Fairmont Mayakoba thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion for you and your husband and for sharing such a glowing review of your visit. We were glad to read that we were able to provide the excellent service we strive for as well as catering to both of your foodie taste buds. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Riviera Maya in the very near future!
Sincerely,
Sven-Erik Richter
Hotel Manager
Fairmont Mayakoba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.3 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
8.1 km away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#8 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.1 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
7.7 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14,727 reviews
5.3 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mayakoba

Property: Fairmont Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun | Km 298, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,939 - ₹ 50,747
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 45 acre Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya, a AAA 5 Diamond Award property, boasts 401 rooms and suites, including a collection of beach and lagoon casitas, offering guests extraordinary views of the grounds. Guests at Fairmont Mayakoba can take advantage of several recreational activities on property including exploring nature trails on foot or BMW bikes, scenic boat tours on lanchas through crystal clear canals, sunbathing on the soft white-sand beach or at one of the property's several pools, non-motorized watersports (kayaks and catamarans), outdoor tennis and paddle courts, golfing on the renowned El Camaleon golf course (host to the only official PGA TOUR event in Mexico), lessons at the Jim McLean Golf School or being pampered with signature Mayan treatments at the luxurious Willow Stream Spa. Children and teens have a space just for them at the Discovery Club or at the Teens Room by Sony PlayStation(R). Fairmont Mayakoba's commitment to the environment has earned the resort several awards and accolades including a seal of verification by Rainforest Alliance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Fairmont Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Fairmont Playa Del Carmen
Mayakoba
Playa Del Carmen Fairmont
Fairmont Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing