We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service; good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Ranked #50 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights to celebrate my boyfriend's 40th birthday and the staff at this hotel went out of their way to help us celebrate...They surprised him with a room decoration to rival a surprise party and later a delicious fruit tarte. Our room was spacious and clean but just a bit dark as the lights were not super bright and we didn't have a patio. We were in room 402; I'd try to request 405, 406, 407 or 401 if you are on the top level. Great location in downtown Playa, very close to everything and still quiet. I'd recommend if you are looking for an alternative to an all-inclusive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeftCoastTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,481)
There are newer reviews for Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 424 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is my first review in tripadvisor, so please bear with me :-) The Illusion hotel is located a few steps from the beach and also a few steps from the 5th Avenue. As a matter of fact, it is on the 8th street, between the 5th Avenue and the beach. If you haven't been to Playa del Carmen, the 5th Avenue is a long street, parallel to the sea, with stores and restaurants.

Rooms are ample and have everything you need like air conditioning with remote control, ceiling fan, telephone, wi-fi internet access, iron, hair dryer, minibar. My only complain would be that in the room I stayed, the TV was small, and as the rooms is ample, it is kind of hard to see the TV while on the bed. However, I saw the other room types on the hotel, and they had larger LCD TVs. I was on a business trip (I'm a Wedding & Family photographer), so, if you're on vacations, TV is probably the least important aspect.

My tariff included Continental Breakfast (fruits, bread, yogurt, coffee, juice) but you can also order cooked meals from the menu at an additional charge. The hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast, from 7:30am-10:30am. The waiter kindly explained all services the first time I went to the restaurant.

I stayed on the basic room and it was very ample and comfortable. Yet, depending on your budget, you may want to try the other rooms on the rooftop level. Those are really nice suites with more luxury and even more space. On the rooftop there is a small pool with a bar and a view to the ocean. The hotel has 41 rooms.

It rained non-stop during my 3-day stay. When checking out it was still raining and the front desk personnel kindly handed me an umbrella so I could get my car from the parking lot to upload the suitcases. I must say I found the hotel employees to be very attentive and caring.

There is also a tour operator desk at the lobby level, which I didn't use so I can't comment on it. By the way, the hotels gives you beach towels, which I also didn't use.

In brief, I would recommend this hotel. It is not on the beach but very close to it, and to the 5th Avenue. Rooms are good and service is equally good. If you go for a bit more luxury, rooftop suites are really nice.

Room Tip: if budget allows, rooftop suites are more ample, better equipped, more luxury.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdMachuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This Hotel is definitely a great choice if you want to enjoy the beach at Playa del Camen.

Location: The location of this hotel is great. It is not directly at the sea side, but very close by. However, although it is very close to the main pedestrian area, you hardly hear any noise. Just noise from inside the hotel itself is not well protected from the rooms.

Rooms/Hotel: The rooms are clean. They look a bit basic and you won't get this WOW feeling when you enter the room, but definitely a good choice if you want to stay a few days in playa del Carmen. The Hotel has a little pool on the roof, but nobody is using it. Also the bar was always empty during our stay. Breakfast is very basic and not recommendable. There are so many other options you can use on the main street.

Staff:The Hotel itself is clean, the staff is very very supportive and friendly. They are honest and give you good guidance what to do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Illusion Boutique Hotel for about a week in May 2012. The biggest advantage to staying here is definitely the location. The walk to the beach will take you about 60 seconds and you can walk to the main strip (5th Ave) in even less time. There are plenty of great restaurants and small shops along that strip to explore. There is even a Wal-Mart that you can walk to within ten minutes.

The hotel itself is in good shape and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were given complimentary water bottles upon our arrival and water was also provided on each floor. We stayed in room 312 which had a king bed and a balcony facing the street that leads to the beach (see pic). The balcony was small but had enough space for two chairs and it was nice to enjoy a drink out there at night and also have a place to dry our towels. The A/C unit worked well and there was also a ceiling fan. The bathroom area was spacious but smelled a bit musty at times. I think it has to do a bit with air flow through the room, but after going in and out of the room a few times it went away. There was free wi-fi that worked well on my smart phone and the use of a safe was provided free of charge as well. The mini-fridge was a nice bonus as we walked to Wal-Mart and had a place to store our snacks. Overall, the room was large, clean, and well worth the price given everything I've just mentioned.

I can recommend staying at this hotel for most travelers. It's a great base if you want to do tours and experience 5th Ave. If you are looking for a resort atmosphere and need special attention look elsewhere. Also, if you stay at Illusion Boutique, be sure to check out the pool on the 4th floor. It's a great place to have a drink while the sun goes down or you can book a massage in one of the huts on the 5th floor.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the street.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr_St_Kav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

LOCATION
Brilliant location: located in the heart of the town, on 8th street, just half a block from the beach and half a block from 5th Avenue (= the most bustling street of Playa del Carmen). The harbour where you take the ferry to Cozumel is a 10-minute walk from the hotel.

Playa del Carmen is full of good restaurants, bars, cafes and shops. After many trips, I recommend staying in the town centre on a B&B or accommodation-only basis and avoiding Playacar. Playacar is a luxurious area next to PDCarmen (20-30 min walk) where you have no choice but to choose from all-inclusive hotels; if you stay in Playacar you will miss the good atmosphere of the town.

ROOM
We booked a standard room with balcony (=sometimes called “deluxe with balcony”, other times “mirage with balcony”) and it was quite large with a king bed, conventional tv, free wifi, refrigerator, safe box and a basic en-suite bathroom. Clean. Very comfortable. No noise.

I have stayed at Illusion Hotel many times and I would recommend booking always an exterior standard room WITH balcony. The ones without balcony face the hotel corridors, are dark and have no privacy unless you close the curtains -making the room darker-. On the other hand, executive rooms (called “prestige”, “luxury”, “cabana” or “master”) look like they could belong to an upscale hotel; however, they are usually much more expensive than the standard ones and I know better value-for-money options on this upscale side.

As for the standard rooms with balcony, those ending in 10-13 are the ones with the best layout, whichever the floor. And those ending in 09 and 14-16 are pretty good, except from room 109 that runs adjacent to a noisy restaurant kitchen (avoid this room by all means!).

COMMON AREAS
Small rooftop pool and nice area.
Free beach towels and passes to several private beach clubs.
Complimentary computer access (slow at times) in the lobby area.
Massage services available.
Complimentary bottled water in the room and a tank of purified water on each floor to refill at any time.
Water, coffee and tea station for free in the lobby area.
No proper shower facilities after check-out but if you ask you will be given complimentary access to a free room for a shower.

RECEPTION
The attention at front desk is professional and very friendly at any time; the property of the hotel has recently changed and the current staff goes the extra mile.
Free and secure luggage store.

RESTAURANTS
If you are looking for the best restaurants in PDCarmen, these are: Byblos (french), Cenacolo (italian) and The Glass Bar (also called Di Vino; italian-international cuisine).

OVERALL
Perfect location and best value-for-money among mid-range hotels in the town centre. While working in Mexico, I usually go once a month to PDCarmen and this hotel is where I stay at most times because its reasonable prices (when I do not want to treat myself to a luxury hotel). Ideal for someone who looks for a place to sleep and expects to spend most of the time on the beach and walking around the town in the evening. I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joaquin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,251 reviews
0.4 km away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,375 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#55 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,380 reviews
0.1 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,506 reviews
0.8 km away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels

Address: Calle 8 Nte. | Entre 5a Ave y ZFM Lote 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 4,257 - ₹ 16,577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels is a small hotel with great personalized service and attention to details. A perfect blend of elegance and tropical freshness with a fusion of Asian/Italian decor and architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Illusion Boutique
Illusion Boutique Playa Del Carmen
Illusion Boutique Hotel By Xperience Hotels Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing