We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18,525)
Filter reviews
18,525 results
Traveller rating
14,680
2,501
751
336
257
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14,680
2,501
751
336
257
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maria marie chef's plate coffee house romance concierge el mediterraneo spice restaurant royal pdc danny boy jose garcia frozen grapes hour lounge ocean view turn down service tequila bar our honeymoon lobby bar beach butler
Filter
Updating list...
828 - 833 of 18,525 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Beautiful resort and very hospitable people. From the day we checked in to the day we left nothing but professionalism throughout. My wife and I loved the food Chef's Plate and Maria Maria was fantastic. And our other favorite spot was Rincoñ Mexicano the Tacos and Cervezas by the beach was fantastic! Room service, pool activities Fifth Avenue shopping is also a plus and also plenty of excursions for everyone to enjoy. Just truly a wonderful place and can't wait to come back next year! Thank you Playa Del Carmen and special thanks to Uriel he was a great waiter throughout our stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LATROY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at Hilton Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear LATROY K,


Thank you very much for your visit to THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen, we really appreciate you have taken the time to share your great review.
We would like to mention that our goal is to ensure our guest satisfaction, we always make our best effort in making feel our guest special and valued during their stay and we are so proud that we did with you!
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

This makes it 5 visits for us. Still loving The Royal. Will send a great big thanks and big thumbs up to :
Mediterraneo- the Morning crew:
PACO -our favorite waiter!
Rebeca the Manager, Yareth the hostess, Chef Loyda -the best hot berry crepes and awesome Hwevos Rancheros.
Asiana:
Lorenzo,Victor and Yareth
Maria-Maria:
Always a Big Favorite - and a well run house
Pelicanos - Omar the chef -Excellent Ceviche!!and Shrimp croquettes.
Chef's Plate: Medallia hostess, Pedro - waiter and Tanya the manager- Awesome meals!!
Also -Ivan at the front desk- concierge -made our vacation special by getting us the "room with the view"! Thanks again!
The Hotel is as great as ever!
Improvements for next year -please bring back those great little tarts in the Coffee House, the ceviche and shrimp balls at the Rincon, also those great lime peanut snacks in the room.
Jeff/Ruth C

Room Tip: Quiet -ask for garden view, like Ocean -ask for closer to the beach
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jrcoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at Hilton Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Jrcoil

We like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us such an enthusiastic review! We are very satisfied knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful Resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to them, whom I´m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.
Thank you for your recommendations, we will keep them in mind.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

We had a long weekend at The Royal (4/26 - 4/30), a nice getaway for parents with young children. I read so many reviews, so I booked the transportation to/from the airport. It was so nice not having to wait in lines and sit on a bus. Check-in was pretty quick, as well. We went ahead and used our $200 resort credit towards the spa at check-in (so did everyone else we met). We had a nice room, near the main pool, overlooking the gardens. The only time noise was an issue was when the people were coming back to the hotel in the wee hours of the morning.

Food - We ate at the resort for every meal and it was fine. The best food was at Rincon Mexicano. The taco bar was great and so was their menu. We also loved the kitties that came around at Pelicanos at dinner. They were adorable. Other than that, everything was just fine. Our least favorite was the Mediterranean place - it was edible, but my shrimp was way overcooked and so was my hubby's meat. Maria Marie was nice and I do recommend eating there just for the ambience alone. We ate at every restaurant (except Chef's Plate) and at dinner most of the restaurants were quite empty. Everyone we talked to decided that the food on 5th avenue was way better. We were just too tired to venture out. We didn't even make it to the shows because we were asleep by 10 pm. All of the wait staff and hotel staff was nice, but no one went out of their way to talk to us...maybe it's because we aren't drinkers. (I am very outgoing and love to talk. At our other vacations, I knew so many staffers names and life stories, so I was a little let down by this.) I will say that the bartenders did a great job of giving us yummy non-alcoholic drink options. The coffee shop was fantastic and we went there twice a day.

Foam Party - The second best part of the trip was definitely the foam party. It sounds kinda cheesy and lame, but as the bubbles were being shot (and flying on top of our heads), I laughed harder than I have in ages. One tip that isn't mentioned about the foam party - the cabanas near the pool will have purple ribbons put on them. Do not put your stuff there. They will make you move, or charge you $150 for the cabana. Get out there early and reserve a cabana that is one of the first you see when you walk up to the pool from the main lobby (those are free), or grab a chair if you aren't sunburned like we were.

The Spa - was FREAKIN' AMAZING. It made our trip. We were very sunburned, but our couples massage ladies were amazing. This was the only time in days that it didn't hurt for someone to touch my skin. If you have resort credits from Expedia/Travelocity/Bookit, I highly advise using it to your spa treatments!

Overall, we had a nice time. A nice getaway, but there was nothing that made us scream "we have to come back". I give it a 7 out of 10.

One last thing - please don't forget to tip. Tip your maids, your bartenders, your wait staff, your mini bar stocker, your barista, your chauffeur - everybody.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at Hilton Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Stephanie M,

Thank you very much for your kind comments and great review. We are glad to read that you really enjoyed your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future in our beautiful resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

I’ll preface my review with a few details. This is our 4th consecutive year we have traveled to The Royal in Playa del Carmen. It’s always been an excellent experience. The original draw for us was location in Playa, and secondary was the amenities offered by The Royal. What kept us coming back are, both of those things and the staff. This year was very different. The staff, in general, offer same charm and ultra high end personal service. Hyatt, however, has removed the extras that the previously family owned resort used to offer. And that was a HUGE unexpected disappointment this year.

Housekeeping/Room Amenities
We appreciated being able to select our housekeeping / turn down service times, that was a option we had not been given in previous years.
Claudia Cordova kept our room neat and filled with towels. Our morning housekeeping services always occurred during our selected time of 10am to 12pm. Nicolas keep us well stocked of snacks and plenty of water. We most definitely appreciated the water. The towel creatures were always a nice surprise in the afternoon and evenings. We were satisfied with our room, however, we were disappointed by the lack of amenities we have been accustomed to receiving in years passed. We missed the slippers, and the toiletries were slim, no cotton balls, cotton swabs, sewing kit, shower cap, or nail file.

Food /Beverage
One of the selling points that caused us to select The Royal 4 years ago was premium/top shelf liquor. This year it was not so easy to come by, and that was very disappointing. The number of poolside servers appeared to lower. Barman Reyes at Tradewinds is most certainly an asset to the pool bar. Such a great personality and bartender, always with a smile. He learned our names and favorite drinks immediately. Also Prudencia has been one of our favorites every year, and this year was no different.
Again this year, we were so happy to see Javier at Spice, he has remembered us every year we return. He knows our breakfast beverage preferences and always has a smile. In years passed the servers at Spice were permitted to create fancy tablescapes for returning guests, another small yet charming touch it seems a Hyatt has done away with. Also Areli J has become a favorite server of ours at Spice.
Sports and Entertainment
We can definitely see the Hyatt Corporate changes in the entertainment schedule. The entertainment events have been pared down this year. Thumbs down to you for that, Hyatt. What did we miss this year? Lots, poolside ceviche demo, poolside mango sorbet trolly, poolside frozen grapes handed out by the very social and informative entertainment staff, and the staff member who came around and cleaned sunglasses.
But, of course, there are plenty of good points. Jiovanni (I’m not certain of the spelling of his name) from the dive team /water sports, he has remembered us all 4 years, we do enjoy chatting with him daily during our stays. Sergio on sports and entertainment team is an asset to the day to day events at the pool.
Spa Azul/ Gym
Isaac at the spa assisted my husband daily with guiding him through the steam, sauna, cold pool and hot tubs. So helpful after his work out at the beautifully newly remodeled gym. We encountered Juan and Carlos of fitness team every morning in the gym. They made sure we had all the gym equipment we needed to maintain our daily fitness routine. The encouraged us to sign up he fitness challenge. We had a fun time out on the lawn doing the challenge. The equipment is well maintained and the facility is clean.
Miscellaneous
Freddy Lopez the bellhop assisted us with a smile upon arrival and departure. He made sure we were happy with our room and that we knew where the ice dispenser was located.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank CherylSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at Hilton Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Dear CherylSD,

Many thanks for your contact and your comments regarding your stay at The Royal Playa del Carmen. We are sorry that everything was not up to the standard that you would have liked.
We would like to inform that we are not owned by Hyatt, there have been several years now that we are part of Playa Resorts where some Hyatt Resorts belong as well, and we are very sorry that this time we did not exceed your expectations and we sincerely hope you consider to give us another opportunity to host you at THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

The resort is outstanding. The food was excellent and the room was so luxurious. The staff and service are amazing. We were pampered the entire time of our staying. The only downside is the seaweed on the beach. The hotel tries everything to get it of it but they can’t keep up with the amount of seaweeds that come to the beach. Other than that the resort is absolutely five stars.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at Hilton Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Michelle M,

On behalf of THE ROYAL Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your great review. It makes us very happy to know that you have enjoyed Resort.
We do want to apologize for the seaweed situation, but unfortunately we cant do anything against Nature, that is why we work very hard on a daily basis to try to keep our guests as more comfortable as they can be!
We truly hope to have the pleasure of hosting you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews