We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Italian food and impeccable service!”
Review of Lucca Restaurant

Lucca Restaurant
Ranked #252 of 1,482 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: US$ 1,500 - US$ 2,500
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Description: Enjoy Italian-Mediterranean cuisine and a scrumptious menu of fresh seafood, meats, and homemade pastas at Lucca. House specialties include agnello de Lucca, Gnocchi Al Ragu Di Anatra, Filetto Di Manzo Con Burro Alla Senape served with mustard sauce, red wine reduction, potato "tortino" and portobello. Located in the Ambassador Section, Lucca is a wonderful Riviera Maya, Mexico restaurant where families can gather around a table and enjoy a relaxed atmosphere. Reservations are required.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy Italian-Mediterranean cuisine and a scrumptious menu of fresh seafood, meats, and homemade pastas at Lucca. House specialties include agnello de Lucca, Gnocchi Al Ragu Di Anatra, Filetto Di Manzo Con Burro Alla Senape served with mustard sauce, red wine reduction, potato "tortino" and portobello. Located in the Ambassador Section, Lucca is a wonderful Riviera Maya, Mexico restaurant where families can gather around a table and enjoy a relaxed atmosphere. Reservations are required.
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Lucca serves the most incredible Italian food I have ever eaten. The service is divine. One of the best meals we have ever had.

Thank kimberlysbunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecAccount, EXECUTIVE CHEF at Lucca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent visit to our Italian restaurant Lucca. I am very pleased to know your opinion “amazing Italian food and impeccable service!”

Your review is most certainly an acknowledgement of our efforts to offer the best culinary experience in Riviera Maya. We hope to have you visit us again soon.

MARIO LÓPEZ
EXECUTIVE CHEF
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Wow where to start, waiting staff are great, Israels team make you very welcome and help the dining experience become amazing. Menu is very interesting so you wont be disappointed

Thank DEGALR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecAccount, FOOD & BEVERAGE DIRECTOR at Lucca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

It was a pleasure to see you also had an amazing dining experience in Lucca, our Italian restaurant and one of the eight options that make up our culinary tour. And I thank you for highlighting the work of Israel and his waiter staff, who had the honor of serving you, as well as the interesting options that you found in the menu.

I hope this fine dining experience will be the main reason for you to decide to come back again in the near future. Please receive our best wishes and warm regards.

RENE MACIN
FOOD & BEVERAGE DIRECTOR
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of celebrating my birthday in this absolutely beautiful restaurant from the moment you walk into the serene ambiance, and the greeting by hostess and host Israel, you will enjoy this restaurant. Chef Francisco greeted us as soon as we were seated and to our surprise had remembered our prior visit to the hotel and restaurant in May. He even remembered what we had each had for dinner on our last visit. We closed the menus and told Chef Francisco we were in his hands, from that moment pure excellence in one of the most delicious Italian meals we have ever had. A tantalizing carpaccio appetizer, followed by the most delicious orecchiette pasta with Italian sweet sausage and a pomodoro sauce that could only be compared to your nonna's sauce.

And to top it off Chef Mario Lopez had prepare a beautiful birthday cake, and I was serenaded by the entire staff Happy Birthday "Auguri" An unforgettable birthday evening, by the most wonderful staff!

Thank littlerOse0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecAccount, EXECUTIVE CHEF at Lucca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you very much for sharing with us your descriptive comments which reflect your satisfaction with the memorable experience that you enjoyed in our Italian restaurant, Lucca.

As Executive Chef, I feel proud to know that our chefs, and each member of our staff, celebrated with you an important moment as your birthday. Every detail that you experienced, from our special tasting menu that Chef Francisco prepared for you, to the traditional “happy birthday” which our entire staff sang for you, is our particular way of saying thank you for having chosen us.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you on your next visit to this beautiful paradise where we will spoil you with the fine details that characterize us. Until then, we remain at your service.

MARIO LÓPEZ
EXECUTIVE CHEF
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Chef Francesco Cavicchi is the executive chef at the Lucca restaurant at the Grand Velas Rivera Maya resort. My sister and I had a fabulously prepared five course meal. Chef Cacicchi took us on a culinary tour of Italy that we will never forget. From the wine pairing, to the rich and robust flavors, to the exquisite presentation, to the "love " put into the food this meal was a highlight of our stay at the Grand Velas. Bravo!!

Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecAccount, EXECUTIVE CHEF at Lucca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Ms. Michelle, thank you for your kind comments that describe the excellent culinary experience that you and your sister enjoyed in our fine dining venue, Lucca.

As you state, Chef Cavicchi loves to pamper all his visitors with "a culinary tour of Italy" with some of the most original regional recipes fused with a contemporary blend of presentation and ambiance.

On behalf my chefs and service team, we look forward to serving you again and providing you another memorable culinary experience.

MARIO LÓPEZ
EXECUTIVE CHEF
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

Lots of options for everyone but when one of our group wanted a substitution, she was told "no" from the kitchen. Desserts were delicious and presented beautifully. Some of our group stated their food was a little bland. Restaurant was crowded and service was a little slow which made the overall dinner time long.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynnetravels2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucca Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Lucca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing