We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for bird lovers but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Xaman Ha Aviary

Xaman Ha Aviary
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ok for bird lovers but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

my wife and I decided after walking past this bird sanctuary many times in the past years to finally go in. Yes there were alot of tropical and interesting birds, the pathways were clear, the signs all in Spanish..so that part was great. The map given was accurate and easy to navigate. What was not was the price-- I believe it was $22 USD per person-- a bit hgh i think. Admission at half that price would have been plenty.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank superuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    52
    49
    33
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful Birds but Highly Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Wow, $22 usd!! There were many species of birds to see, but you would think that with the amount of tourists that visit here, there would have been some info available in English. A fair price would have been $8 usd. I would not recommend this attraction because of the price. A nice short walk but you'll likely need water and bug spray.

Helpful?
Thank heeter_lyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“small but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Pretty little aviary in a beautiful, jungle-like setting in Playacar.

Helpful?
Thank livesinPlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton AB
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cool place but a little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

For 300 pesos or $22USD each we thought it would be better. It took less than 2 hours to see it all, at a very leisurely pace. There were no guides or interpreters, but it was a fun place to try out my new camera equipment. Many beautiful birds.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank EasyBurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not bad if you have nothing else to do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Xaman Ha aviary is located in PlayaCar hotel zone and easily accessed from any of the hotels. While it complements a short stroll and specially if you are into birds, I would not necessarily go out of my way to visit it. Full of local and endemic species, I must say the area is very well kept and has interesting information.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank acamacho1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xaman Ha Aviary also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Xaman Ha Aviary? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing