We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Maya
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 326
US$ 258
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 715
US$ 303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 267
US$ 254
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 583
US$ 307
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aventura Mexicana(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
US$ 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 858
US$ 747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 15,600
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 564
US$ 409
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 901
US$ 754
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 916
US$ 539
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
495
130
26
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
130
26
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut shrimptoes in the sanddeluxe balcony roomeconomy suitebeach chairssmall hotelbeachfront hotelcozumel ferryfree breakfastlove playatowel artocean viewwho cleaned our roomcoffee poteach morningtwo blocksmother nature
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We just came back from six nights at the Playa Maya. Having two kids ages 12 & 13, we were initially disappointed to learn the family suite was booked, however, the economy suite suggested by Stephen turned out to be perfect. We had two rooms with two baths and four beds! No, there wasn't a view from our room, but we spent the entire day sitting on the beach so we didn't care. Rooms were very clean and everything was in order.

All of the staff were friendly and efficient. Lorenzo was especially great. They never pestered us but were always nearby if we happened to want to order a drink or lunch.

Speaking of food, the breakfast was completely satisfactory. The lunch was even better. I favored the ceviche mixto while my daughter preferred the octopus tacos. My husband and other daughter were crazy for the fish tacos. Good and reasonable and we didn't need to leave the hotel until the evening when we would go out to eat.

We would definitely recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BlackHillsSovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Although I have been to PDC many times, I was not sure where to stay since this was my first solo trip. I made a wonderful choice in Playa Maya. The room was clean and large, the staff was incredibly friendly and I felt safe and welcome. The hotel is in the center of town, right on the beach and a block away from virtually anything. Even though the nightlife was alive all around, the room was quiet and spacious and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. I met up with my night owl friends and the location made it very easy to go anywhere. I am first and foremost a beach vacationer and it was fantastic to get a free breakfast right on the sand under the palapas. The water is still beautiful and warm, however if you have been to PDC before - note that most of the beach in this location has eroded, exposing rocks. I was still able to enjoy lounging on the beach chairs, but kids wanting to play in the sand had a very small area to do so. Swimming is also still possible, you just need to be careful to pick a path in and out.

My reservations about the beach paled in comparison to the rest of the hotel - great food, helpful staff, fresh beach towels every morning and new towel animals on my bed every night. It was the perfect, relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2dkdkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed for our 20th anniversary, initially we could not get the room we wanted (deluxe balcony) because it was high season and there was a 5 night minimum and we could only say 4 nights, but due to a cancellation a short stay was available (check their website site frequently for short stays and specials). I made the reservations via email and Mr. Ryberg was very responsive to all my questions. My initial inquiry was not responded to, but when I tried again Mr. Ryberg apologized and after that there were no problems. All the positive reviews are accurate in my opinion. This is a great place if you want to be on the beach, nice views of the ocean and Cozumel, walking distance to everything in Playa but still have a nice, safe, quiet place to relax when you have had enough of the hectic pace of 5th Ave. As others have said, this is not a 5 star luxury hotel or all inclusive so if that is what you like do not stay here unless you want to try something different. We like smaller more intimate places and like to venture out and try a variety of places to eat and drink (quality over quantity).
Upon arrival, our bed was decorated with rose petals and the number 20 spelled out in them with two “towel swans” and numerous tissue flowers. I did not ask for this but did say in my email to Mr. Ryberg that we were celebrating our anniversary so he must have told staff. I agree that the cleaning staff (Fidel and others), wait staff (Carlos and Luciano) and desk staff (Maria and others) are very good at what they do. They are attentive but not overbearing, they take the lead from you, if you want attention they give it but if they sense you like to be left alone they will do so, but all you have to do is ask and they will be there to help. Rooms are clean and in good shape especially considering the age of the building, filtered water is available free of charge and you have an in room mini fridge for saving leftovers or keeping cold beer on hand.
WE were on the second of three floors and the view was fine but with some obstructions from adjacent buildings, I think the third floor would be the best. I believe there are only 4 deluxe balcony rooms in the entire hotel. The balcony was perfect for 2 people to sit on and have morning coffee or afternoon drinks. The included breakfast was great, I especially liked the American breakfast with juice, coffee, toast, eggs and ham. The fish tacos, ceviche and coconut shrimp were some of the best we had in Mexico and the beer and mixed drinks were strong and fairly priced. Beach towels, a lounger and umbrella are included and you have a guaranteed space unlike the big resorts where you have to wake up at 7am to save a spot (not my idea of a vacation). The beach is not as good as Tulum or some in Cancun, but as good or better than any others in Playa except maybe Mamitas, but not as crowded and you can walk to Mamitas easily if you like. If all you want is a nice spot to wade in and cool off it is fine. There is seaweed along the beach but that seems to be common in Playa, probably because of the healthy ecosystem between it and Cozumel along the reef.
I would not recommend this place for someone who has “mobility issues” since the only entrance/exit is along the beach and the hotel has no elevators. As others have said if the staff sees you (and if you give Mr. Ryberg a heads up on when you plan to arrive they will be looking for you), they will come running to help you with your bags. I had barely stepped off the end of Calle 8 (8th street) when two of the staff looked up from 100’ away and said “playa maya?”, when I nodded yes they were there in an instant. Check in was smooth and fast.
I would definitely stay here again. If you are unsure, read a lot of the reviews and I believe you will get an accurate picture of what the Playa Maya is all about.
The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that I have never given any location 5 stars overall.

Room Tip: If you want the best views get the deluxe balcony and ask for the 3rd floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmartinncemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great staff, great location, beautiful location on beach, I would stay here again only if they updated the rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mazz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at Playa Maya from 3/12-3/22/2012. This was our second stay and was even more perfect than the first.

The original room we wanted was not available for the first few days, so we said we would just stay in the standard room-no problem. Upon arrival, we had been upgraded to the jacuzzi room. What a fantastic surprise!

Our room was always so clean---our cleaning person was in and out before we even noticed and the room always was spotless.

The waitstaff was wonderful and we are still thinking about those shrimp tacos. :)

One thing I want to talk about is how incredible the front desk staff has been to us. Always trying to teach us a little Spanish and going out of their way to always help.

We are returning the same time next year and staying at Playa Maya again!!! Thank you to Steve & all of the staff at Playa Maya!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trish0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews