We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location and inexpensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colibri Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Colibri Beach
Ranked #113 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Muskego, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and inexpensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Great location..on the beach and within walking distance of restaurants and night life. I would definitely stay there again. Great bargain hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    63
    37
    15
    6
See reviews for
25
77
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We booked on www.hotel.com with our credit card to ensure we had at least 3 nights accommodations for the weekend and when we arrived at the hotel they lost or did not receive our reservations. The hotel was clean, however not luxurious. It was a few steps away from the beach which was pleasant, however was set between 2 clubs that pounded music till early morning. The hotel manager was not helpful and wanted us to change to their other hotel across the street (2 nights later we found it to be empty with no lights and no way to enter) (glad we went elsewhere). They accommodated us for 1 night, however no internet access as promised and the screws on the patio door lock were falling off, which made us very nervous. Other difficulties, however I would only recommend this hotel for a 1 night stay when nothing else is available.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharetolearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

The location is great since it is right on the beach. It looked a little dissapointing at first compared to the Hacienda San Miguel we stayed at in Cozumel for the rest of our vacation. The value is not that great, it is a little expensive and I wished we would have stayed up a half a block at the Kinbe. The cleanliness of the room was good (room 7), but the bathroom was questionable enough for me to wear my sandals in the shower with me. The shower ended up being good though with very good water pressure. The room itself is pretty good sized with good storage, the bathroom is tiny. But the view is great since it's right on the beach. There was also a little porch outside the room with a hammock set up. Overall a decent place to stay, but we'll probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

I stayed here in May/June whilst I was doing my diving Instructor Development Course, IDC. The Hotel Colibri has spacious rooms, is very clean, has a/c in every room and is right by the beach in the middle of where all the action is. It has a great small hotel charm that you don't get with the huge mega-resort complexes near here.
Phocea, the dive center attached to the hotel, is a wonderfully run center with friendly and very knowledgeable staff. They have their own boat and do dive trips all over the local area as well as Cozumel. They also do dive trips in the cenotes and you can snorkel with the whalesharks (which is an amazing experience).
I highly recommend Hotel Colibri and its Dive Center, Phocea, for everyone!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiveMex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#132 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 km away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#100 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.1 km away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#69 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#130 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 km away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#87 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 km away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#85 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colibri Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colibri Beach

Property: Hotel Colibri Beach
Address: Ave 1a Norte Entre Calle 10 Y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Colibri)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,198 - ₹ 12,124
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colibri Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colibri is located on the Beachfront of Playa del Carmen, close to restaurants, banks, shops, tour sites, fifth avenue -- the most visited commercial street in Playa --, and Cancun International Airport. It was designed to provide all comforts and services expected by the travelers of today at affordable rates. Our friendly staff & manager shall give response to your requests and needs as fast as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Colibri Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Colibri Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Colibri Beach Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing