We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit noisy but nice”
Review of Kinbe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinbe Hotel
Ranked #104 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had 3 nights here and the rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The location is great but the only downside is that you can hear the disco beats in the night (I am a light sleeper) but this need not put you off - it was a dull, droning noise and if clubs are your thing then you will be out dancing anyway! Despite other reviews, the staff we had were friendly and the showers were hot. I am not a big fan of air conditioning so our room did get stuffy as there was only one small window - other rooms had more windows though. Overall it was an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sheilagonewalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 200 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

Perfect location to main drag (5th Avenue) and beach. Small rooms but spotless and quiet. Great value for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms are small but you can get larger ones or ones with a patio. They also have roof top sun ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I spent a few days in Playa on my own following a friend's wedding in Tulum. Based on a great review in Lonely Planet's guide to the Mayan Riviera and an unbeatable online price, I booked my stay there and I'm so glad I did. It's a beautifully designed hotel, steps away from the beach, 5th Avenue and the town's nightlife. The rooms are elegant and cozy - nice touches like azure bedspreads, smooth rock shower floors and in some, fun open lofts with a winding wooden staircase to the bed. The property has a nice open-air pool with a waterfall wall, at the top of which is a roof deck offering a great view. The staff are friendly, worldly and accommodating. Equally enjoyable for couples and singles.

Room Tip: The "Garden Room" is the one with the loft style, my favorite of the ones I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I were in town for a wedding and the Kinbe was recommended to us by the wedding couple. We aren't into the all inclusive thing so once I saw their website and read reviews I knew this was where we wanted to stay. We luckily booked early and got a GREAT room, the garden terrace with a view of the beach and great big deck area.

All the rooms are differents shapes and sizes, our friend had a great lofted room and another a regular size room perfect for a couple. A lot of friends from the wedding stayed there, including couples with children and our elderly friends. Our room was cleaned thoroughly everyday. All the front desk staff was friendly, helpful and honest. Our room had a mini fridge which came in very handy. They also have a great, huge rooftop deck I wish we used more. The price was very reasonable and definitely worth it. The decor is warm, welcoming and flourishing with bright greens and flowers.
(side note: book your airport transportation with the Kinbe, reasonable price and our driver was waiting for us at the airport, smooth ride to and from the hotel)

The location could not be better! To the left is the beach, to the right is the main street, 5th Avenue. We enjoyed the lounging at the Zense (sp?) on their beach chairs. We also enjoyed the cafe past the Starbucks, I believe it's called Sasta, delicious bagels and coffee, much better than Starbucks. The bar kiddie corner from Starbucks was our favorite laid back, grab a night cap kind of a place. We also ate at Fridas a couple times down 5th avenue for lunch. Our dinner at Sur was the best service we had there.

We also recommend a day trip to Tulum. It was super easy to catch a shared van/shuttle about 8 minute walk from Kinbe. We opted for a cab back which was about $40, but between 4 of us not bad at all. We explored the ruins and made our way to Playa Paraiso, which is beautiful.

Thank you so much to Ian, Elena, Alejandro and the entire staff at Kinbe. You really made our lodging experience relaxing and comfortable. If we're ever back in Playa we'll be sure to stay with you again.
Emily

Room Tip: Book early and request a room with a view. There are only stairs, so if you prefer no stairs request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mle1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeeval, Manager at Kinbe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear guest... thank you very much for your amazing and kind comment!!
Really hope to see you again and very soon

Warm greetings from all the Kinbe's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My trip started at a all inclusive at the Wyndham. After one day of soggy, tasteless food and beds that were so hard it was like sleeping on the floor we decided to move. The hotels policy was liberal and we didnt loose any money. That was nice. There was really not much evening atmoshere and since I was traveling with a old friend we were bored. Staying is town is the opposite as staying at an all inclusive. The people at the Kinbe are really great. They were laid back and local people. Although two of the people who worked there were Italian. Lots of Italians in PDC! Since my friend is a pilot we were offered the largest room with a second floor area with just enough room for a bed. The first floor area is small but it has a really great balcony. The beach is a one minute walk - maybe 150 feet. We bought some food at the restaurant on the right and stayed there all day. Its crowded buy great people watching. The other rooms are small, even for wuropean standards, like a college dorm room. But the large room was kind of cool. First street is up the road 150 feet as well, so you are in the middle of both primary activites downtown. This is a nice boutique hotel with character. Wi Fi is free but doesnt work so great. If you really need wifi then go up to the corner at Starbucks and pay some crazy money for a coffee, but the wifi is good. BTY 3 doors down from Starbucks is a local coffee place, half the price and excellent.

Room Tip: check the room out first, they are mostly small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estebon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#89 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
216 reviews
0.1 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#113 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
223 reviews
0.3 km away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
256 reviews
0.8 km away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#47 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinbe Hotel

Address: Calle 10 Norte | Between 1 & 5 Avenida, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#86 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 2,206 - ₹ 12,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinbe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinbe Deluxe enjoys a great location:few steps from the playa and from the famous “Quinta Avenida”. All the rooms face the pool and the astonishing waterfall, which creates a quiet and peaceful sensation and an intimate atmosphere.From the rooftop is possible to enjoy a wonderful ocean view, sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinbe Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing