We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
186
60
18
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
60
18
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher and dryerthese condoscaribbean beachswim up barplayacar phaseliving roomwell equipped kitchenminute walkrecommend unitindividual unitscentral airevery other daythe property managerpatio furnituregreat poolsenior frogsgated community
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We agree with the other reviewers, that as far as Xaman Ha the resort , there are just positives. The grounds are immaculate, even the beach area in front of the condos is groomed every morning. The balconies are perfect for early morning sunrises. It is close enough to 5th Ave to be able to walk to almost everywhere, including the Mega grocery store or Walmart . ( cheap taxi back to condo ) . The rest of the reviews relate mostly to the individual units. 7106 had updated bathrooms and kitchen, altho there was no dishwasher and there was no tv in the smaller bedroom. There was a washer and dryer, plenty of bottled water and this unit had no problem with plenty of hot water. Rentals Your Way/Caribbean Beach Properties was extremely responsive, and their agent Renan, was very prompt at
answering questions and addressing issues. We had reserved Unit 7004 prior to 7106 and less than a month before our arrival we were told by Airbnb that they were refunding our money and that the unit was being withdrawn , altho it was still listed
on their website as available. When we asked for an explanation, none was given and we were left to rush and try and find another rental. We would not use Airbnb again for that reason. It cost us several hundred dollars.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so units on ground or first floor, no access to pool from ground floor patios .
Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dutchgirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

The condo was great. Not overly fancy but did the job. It was a family trip and there was more than enough room for everyone.

The best part was how close to 5th Avenue we were, it was perfect for meals and to stock up the room with snacks!

Robin, the swim up bartender was perfect. His humour was unmatched and we loved visiting him everyday. The beach was amazing and not crowded.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

My husband & I stayed with another couple.
First the Pros: The footprint of the condo is great, very spacious. It was great to have a washer and dryer. The facilities of Xaman Ha are fantastic including the pool, pool food and bar service, access to a most beautiful beach and access to Playa del Carmen for eating, shopping, site seeing. There is a small safe which was great for travel documents. There were large bottles of water for cooking, drinking and teeth brushing.

The Cons: When we arrived the patio door was open and tv was on. So we were not sure if the condo was ready for us or if there was someone still using it.The main bathroom could definitely use some general updating and especially the lighting. We could have used more linens: bath towels, face wash cloths, kitchen dish towels and dish cloths. We did receive two bath towels the next day. In the future if returning (which I would in a heart beat) I would bring a couple of face cloths & a couple of dish cloths from home.
I don't feel like it was cleaned properly as there were crumbs and maybe pepper in the utensil draws, one spatula actually still had food on it. We put everything into the dishwasher, dishes, silveware etc and then wiped out the draws and felt good after that. The bedroom furniture and shelving were good but needed to be cleaned better. We ended up living out of our suitcases mostly. When I travel I like to unpack so I can easily find everything and clothing is not wrinkled.

We got our driver USA transfer/Entertainment Plus to stop at Soriana on the way to the condo to pick up supplies which was excellent. We made grocery lists and each person had their items to pick up ....beer, tequilla etc, bakery, produce, dairy and eggs. We made up a pico with eggs and ham on a fresh tortilla for breakfasts and had sandwiches in the afternoon (just for the first couple of days) and dinners on the town. Reviews of which I will do later: Carboncitos, Valentines Day at La Mission, amazing ribs at Mom's, a fabulous group of eight friends and family at La Familia, the last evening amazing dinner at El Tenedor. Breakfast at a beach restaurant one morning, tacos on the beach at Coco Loco..hot dog at the pool bar at Xaman Ha .........we had amazing food.

I would have given this a 5 star rating if:
The condo was cleaned better. The condo is not quite as the pictures show.(it needs some updating). Could have used a few more linens.
All in all after we sorted out a few issues we loved the place and the view is amazing. I would go back.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor excellent view but t here are quite a few stairs if that is a consideration.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ICD-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Although we encountered problems with last year's 2 bedroom condo with another couple, we decided that everyone deserves a second chance. Well bingo, we were wrong. Once again our issue is not with the property itself, but the individual unit. Don't be fooled by the Xamanha-ha "Luxury Condominium " boast. Each individual unit owner is responsible for the upkeep and upgrading of their units. Yes photos are available online but photos can be deceiving.
We stayed in unit 7020 this time. The unit has not been upgraded, I would venture to say, in a long time. Firstly, although there is ample indoor seating for 2 people, and more, not one stick of the furniture offers a comfortable place to sit. We spent all or time sitting outside on resin chairs. Admittedly my husband and I are in our mid sixties, but not yet ancient. One couch is actually a trundle bed with mattresses like rocks. No comfort there. The other couch is low, old, and hard. You got it, not comfy.
The king sized bed is on a wooden platform, and although we like a firm mattress, there is zero give in this one. The pillows were so old they were reduced to pancakes once you rested your head on them.
The bathroom lighting was so poor it was almost nonexistent, making it difficult to shave, dry hair or apply makeup etc. The shower, which had been updated had a floor so slippery a grab bar would help prevent a fall, not just for us oldies but for any age. In addition the hairdryer was hot wired behind the outlet. We felt that was a fire hazard, but were told no. Still not entirely convinced. Hot water you say. Barely existent. Don't know if you can pin this one on the homeowner, or the property association, but seems to be an issue confirmed by other guests we spoke with.
Upon arrival, unit screen door was broken, we had difficulty operating the safe, until we figured out that although the directions instruct you to enter your PIN number followed by the # sign, the # sign was actually a B. Problem solved once we figured that out.
TV in the living room had more snow than a blizzard.

The patio had a resin table with one broken leg and was situated directly in front of the wall A/C unit which blew hot exhaust. Of course we moved it which solved that issue.

I will say that the rental agency, Rentals Your Way/Caribbean Beach Properties was extremely responsive, and their agent Renan, immediately remedied those complaints he could. Living room TV fixed, new pillows acquired, and screen door repaired.

As with last year's stay the outdoor and common areas are very well maintained. Food availability at the pool is basic but very good, including breakfast which is now available. The swimup pool bartender, Robin is a joy. He is so engaging and entertaining, a terrific bartender who makes the best guacamole ever. Everyone loves him especially those who rent here for a month or longer. What an asset. I can only hope he is appreciated for all he does to make each day enjoyable.

Although the location is great because of proximity to the town of Playa del Carmen, and beach, needless to say we will not be back, since two years in a row we encountered the same issues, owners who do not feel the need to upgrade or update their units.
The rating of 1 really reflects the review of this condo specifically not the property as a whole, but heard the same complaints from many of the renters we encountered.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

this condominium complex consists of personally owed property managed on site. There is a pool and it is on the serviced beach. There is a bar with limited food service.
The flat was well appointed, with Aircon, WiFi, fully equipped self catering, maid service etc. It is about 20 mins walk to the far end of fifth avenue but there are restaurants and bars within 10 mins of so. It distance out makes it quite and the beach nicer. I would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: there are many different condos but there are similar but here is no lift so you may want to consider that but there is only three levels.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James_J_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews