We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Day Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Can Eco Tours

Maya Can Eco Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "YOUR ADVENTURES START WITH Maya Can Ecotours." At MayaCan Eco Tours, our priority is you, the customer. We understand you come down for a limited amount of time to vacation so it is important your excursion/tour is fun and worry free to give you the best bang for your buck. We are based on a business with over 4 years experience and we have English/Spanish speaking guides. Our tours could be pre-planned or custom for you. We want your tour to be based on what you want to do rather than what everyone else is doing. From Tulum to Coba; a pristine beach to a cenote, snorkeling to scuba; golf to fishing, and whatever you are in the mood for, it is no match for MayaCan Eco Tours. Our vehicles are air conditioned vans which are comfortable for long trips and short trips. Remember, Your Adventure Starts with MayaCan Eco Tours, Come experience with us:Tulum /Coba Mayan Ruins;Snorkel/Scuba in the reef or cenote;Deep Sea Fishing;Golf;Swimming with the whale sharks;Pristine beaches;as well we do Airport/Hotel Transfers, and Condo Rentals.
Canada
1 review
“Best Day Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Barry treated our family liked royalty. We were not rushed and we felt like we had known him for years. It was like hanging with an old friend. We snorkeled, went to the Honey Store, met a Mayan family, swam in a Cenote, went for a great dinner and even stopped at Walmart on the way home. We just casually hung out and did things as it was our day. Do not even think twice about booking with Barry. You will not be disapointed one bit. The Kamloops Krew....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luvdogss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Most personable tour ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

It was the best day of our trip, went to places no other tour would take you. Barry never rushed us and let us enjoy every minute. Would recommend this to anyone. 10 out of 10 couldnt have asked for more. Thanks Barry and Eric!

Helpful?
Thank Tyebrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Safe, Friendly and Reliable, Great for Kids too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We love Barry & his team! We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend Maya Can Eco Tours.

My family traveled to Riviera Maya in February. We have two pre-schoolers, age 3 & 5. Our driver picked us up from our resort south of Cancun and took us to our condo in Playa. Then Barry took us on a tour to Tulum & a cenote. A few days later, we were driven to the airport.

Here are some highlights:
1. Reliable – picked up us on time all 3 times.

2. Knowledgeable – knows much about local and Mayan culture. He educated us on what it’s like living in Mexico as en ex-pat, which we found very interesting.

3. Safe – we were told by others never to leave our resort. What! We felt perfectly safe with our guides.

4. Unique - took us to places we would not have known about otherwise. Places to visit that are not touristy. You will get to see attractions outside of the tour bus, real Mayan Culture not the commercialized mumbo jumbo. We visited a honey shop and were introduced to a family who lives off the land, created hand painted pottery and had a friendly little monkey. I love being able to support locals. The honey shop was a great place to purchase gifts, I wish I would have bought more. If you want to see something not on a typical tour or create your own, all you have to do is ask. We wanted a half day tour that would accommodate pre-schoolers. The tour Barry suggested was perfect. I could not imagine taking one of those big tour buses filled with strangers and lasting all day, most of it spent on the bus as they go to each hotel picking up passengers. Barry is really easy going and was open to stopping where ever we choose to, you truly get to design your day out.

5. Communication – easy to communicate with via email or phone. We set up everything via email. Barry is Canadian, but speaks English and Spanish fluently.
The price was good, and we were surprised that lunch was included. My children are picky eaters; the only sandwich they will eat is a crustless peanut butter sandwich. For lunch, Barry brought turkey and cheese sandwiches, which my children gobbled up, crust and all. At home, they ask for a “Barry Sandwich”, so for us he is now a household name.

Definitely is weird booking with someone you have never met in a different country, but after communicating with Barry before our trip, he made us feel right at ease. You won’t regret booking with Barry and his crew. We felt that Barry really went out of his way to make sure we had a good time on our tour. Next time we go to Riviera Maya, we will book them for airport transportation and tours again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MadCityMomOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husband and I spent a couple of fabulous days with Barry and his crew while vacationing in Playa Del Carmen recently. Barry is the unofficial Canadian Ambassador for PDC! He is very informed about Mayan history and the Mayan people and loves to share his knowledge and enthusiasm with visitors. Over a 2 day period, we toured The Coba ruins (what a rush it was to climb to the top!) and experienced the wonder of snorkeling in a cenote, visited the beautiful and awe inspiring ruins in Tullum, had a swim at the amazing beaches of Tullum (powder soft white sand), had lunch in a cozy little restaurant in Tullum, and snorkeled in the waters of Akumel Beach where we saw sea turtles, sting rays and the wonderful coral reef! Our stop at the honey shop was a great addition to our experience (bring lots of pesos for gifts)! Barry helped make our trip memorable and we would highly recommend him to anyone visiting the Playa del Carmen area. Barry is definitely committed to making your time with him special. We will be looking him up next time for sure.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine182206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We selected May Can based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Barry & Angel picked us up on time and we headed off on our full day's adventure. Barry proved to be a wealth of information not only about the ruins we saw but about the Mayan culture and history as well. It is easy to tell that he is very passionate about the Yucatan region, its people and its future.

Our itinerary was Coba, honey store (and next door's Pedro the Spider Monkey), Tulum and finally snorkeling in a cenote.

We were some of the last to be able to climb the Nohoch Mul pyramid at Coba as apparently it will be closed in April. I was a little apprehensive about climbing the pyramid as I have a fear of heights but Barry was able to ease my concern by telling me of some of his previous customers with the same issue who had successfully climbed & returned to earth. I was able to complete the climb and am very glad I did as the view from the top is spectacular.

We were never rushed at any of the ruins and we had to leave the cenote because they were closing for the day. The cenote was the perfect way to finish our day of sight seeing the ruins in the hot sun. Very refreshing and a unique experience for sure.

Before we were dropped at our resort Barry provided us with a few suggestions for restaurants in the area. I will not hesitate to recommend Maya Can Eco Tours to anyone who is heading down to Playa del Carmen and look forward to reconnecting with Barry on my next visit. From our discussions I know he has many more adventures in store for us. His professionalism, attention to detail and ability to make you feel like a friend rather than just a client is unique.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank retrieverguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya Can Eco Tours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Maya Can Eco Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing