We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Spring Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Ranked #33 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perkasie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Spring Break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Pros:
Best service and food of any all-inclusive we have stayed at in the Caribbean (so far). The drinks were top shelf (but you need to ask and make sure you are getting the top shelf stuff). The service was excellent and the staff were very attentive to our every need. The atmosphere was calm and relaxing.
Cons:
The beach is poor, very rocky and depending on the day, a lot of smelly sea weed. There was a lot of people traffic (since the beaches are all public) and there was only public beaches (no other resorts) on either side of the Paradisus resort. Our kids like to swim but the pools at this resort were small and were quite boring (teens). We did not heed the warnings about paying for an ocean view, its really not worth it but at least our room overlooked the property (with a little ocean in the distance). The rooms (for a luxury junior suite) were small in comparison to other resorts we have stayed with a similar room description. The bathroom was especially small and became crowded when everyone was trying to get ready in the morning and evening. Lastly, the rooms were not very sound proof and often we would hear other vacationers returning to their rooms late at night.
Overall we rate the resort as average. Asked if I would go back, probably not, mainly because of the beach and pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for your visit at Paradisus La Esmeralda and for taking the time to post your comments in Trip Advisor.

We regret we did not surpass your expectations regarding our beach and your room size. You honored us with your visit during Spring break. As you may know most of the people take advantage of this period to enjoy our beautiful Caribbean ocean.

In the other hand, we are pleased to know the service and our all inclusive plan were beyond your expectations. We strongly believe our personnel are our biggest strength to provide the service all our guests deserve.

Thank you again for sharing your point of view and we hope you give us the opportunity to host you again at Paradisus Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,577
    1,334
    438
    149
    107
See reviews for
4,636
829
27
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greenville,sc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We chose this property because it is new and much less expensive than it's competitors. The pros-the resort is new and beautiful and overall the food is wonderful. Passion Restaurant was absolutely phenomal. The cons-we stayed in the family concierge section and were extremely disappointed to find the king room offer one king bed and one foldout sofa. Our other child had to sleep with us. The refrigerator was never stocked, we couldn't get dinner es we requested even before our arrival and it was disgruntling to walk by the restaurants we tired to get into and they were empty. Obviously staffing problems...our children left the kids club and no one called us, the beach is worse than terrible...the servers at the family concierge pool are so rude, unless it was the steal of all steals we wouldn't go back. Grand Velas or Las Ventas would be our choices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boohooGreenville_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

We are sorry we could not transcend your expectations about your room. It is completely understandable that sharing your bed with your youngest child was not what you were hoping for. When this kind of situations occurs, we have roll away beds available at our guest’s disposal.

We have informed the manager in charge about the minibar restocking. The minibar is part of our all inclusive plan and it must be filled in ones a day.

On the other hand, we are pleased you decided to try our Passion Restaurant by Martin Berazategui, who´s inspired work has made him awarded of 7 Michelin stars.

Your comments about your stay help us identifying our opportunity areas, thank you for sharing them with us and we hope we can honor us with your presence again.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We would like to remark the excellent quality of the restaurants of the hotel, which include all kind of international food for all kind of tastes. We as a family specially liked the "Naos" buffet, which offered a menu with a big diversity of meals whose quality is supervised by chef Oscar Toribio. We appreciate his kindness and devotion in attending the customers needs, as they also do all of the hotel's staff.

flia, Cenere.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Arnaldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is the best hotel I have ever been at!! I truly enojyed my vacation with my family and will never be able to thank you enough. We had the best time of our lives.
The girls at the family concierge service where incredible and made our stay very special. One night they filled our bathtub with bubbles and ballons and left some candies for the kids!!! So special!
The staff at the kids club where also very kind and friendly! My kids were really sad to leave speacially because of the good friends they were leaving behind.
Each and everyone of the people taking care of us at La Esmeralda treated us with a huge smile and that is priceless.
All the areas are very clean and since they are brand new they are very pretty, but I most confess that the rooms are even better!! You feel like they have never been used! The cleaning staff does a great job and every day after a long day at the pool it is awesome to go back to a very clean and comfortable room. The bed is so comfortable that I thought of the possibility of asking where to buy one!!!!
If there is something I must complain is the fact that there is no chance to use the bali beds!! There are families that would just leave their stuff a day before (or during their whole stay!!!) and that is truly not fair. We tried to get a bali bed EVERYDAY of our stay and was just impossible. There is nobody making sure everybody has a chance. One day after a late dinner we realized why even waking up at 6 am (which is already not fair enough on vacations) is not enough... people would leave books, towels, etc a night before!!!!!
I recommend this hotel 100%!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMaria1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to receive reviews from our tourists. We are proud that you have had a memorable stay at Paradisus. Thank you for your time.

We are glad to receive your recognition to our staff. We have sent your comments to the kids club and Family Concierge staff. This kind of feedback helps us to maintain the quality service we strive every day.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the use of the bali beds at the pool area, the Pool Concierge was informed about it, in order to take corrective actions to avoid this kind of behavior from other guests. All our visitors deserve to use all our facilities in equal basis.

Thank you for your contribution and letting us know your experience during your stay at Paradisus La Esmeralda.

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We recently returned from Paradisus La Esmeralda after a seven-night stay. The hotel itself is beautiful and brand new but we had many issues that did not make it a pleasant stay. Upon arrival, checking in was a slow and tedious process and then we had to spend another hour at the concierge desk making dinner reservations for the upcoming week. There was very limited availability and times for dining even though we checked in at 2pm. Upon arriving at our room, we found it very dirty. All of the drawers had dirt in them, the floor was dirty, the decorative pillow on the bed had a big stain on it, our mini-bar had not been serviced and had left-overs in it from the previous guests, the shower floor was dirty and there were marks all over the walls. We called for someone to re-clean the room. We spent most of our time at the pool and we normally did not see a waiter/waitress until after twelve noon. We tipped but the service was always very sketchy. One time we tried to order lunch and drinks and the waiter told us he had to go on break and that he would be back in 1/2 hour and we never saw him again for 2 hours. Our room had a coffee maker but I had to call for coffee or cups or both almost every day. On our last day, it took two hours for coffee to be delivered. The mini-bar was not re-stocked unless I called. On the third day of our stay, I was going to put on one of my skirts to go out to the pool and could not find it. I started looking through all of my clothes and noticed other items missing. We turned the room upside down and called home but the items were gone. I remembered un-packing them when we arrived. I am very meticulous about putting my clothes away on a trip of this length. All of the items that were missing were brand-new and expensive brands...Lululemon, Nike, etc. We called security and Victor came to our room. He could barely speak english but we filled out a list of the items that were missing and the costs. He said he would come back the next morning at 9am after questioning those who had been in our room. He never showed the next morning so we went to the concierge desk. They said they would get back to us but never did. The following day we went back to the concierge desk and met with Andres Lopes who was the head of security. He asked us if we would mind going down to the police department in Playa to fill out a police report. He said it would take about 3 hours. We said absolutely not! We told him we wanted compensation which totaled under $200.00 and he said he would get back to us. Because I only brought limited clothing to work out in, I was forced to try and wash out the one pair of pants that I had left in order to go to the gym. The next day he had Wendy Romero from the concierge desk call us. She offered us a two-for-one at the spa or dinner in Passion, which was one of their restaurants which was not included in the all-inclusive. I said no. I did not want to go to the spa and pay for one person and we were perfectly happy eating in the restaurants that were included. Wendy said she had to make one more call and she would get back to me and she never did. On our last morning I still had not heard from anyone so I called for Wendy. I said we were checking out at 11am and to please have her call. No call. She met us at check-out (which took 45 minutes because the computers were down) and said they could do nothing. For under $200, I thought this was unfair and very poor customer service.
On a few positive notes, the swim-up rooms are very nice (which we had) and well worth it. The hotel was decorated very beautifully and we could tell that a lot of money was put into it. We did not find the food in any of the restaurants to be great. Vento, which was a Mediterranean restaurant, was very good.
We would not go back to this resort mainly because of the way they handled the theft. It gave me such a creepy feeling that they had been looking through my clothes. One of the missing items was in a drawer and the others were folded neatly on a shelve. We mentioned to the concierge, Wendy, that we were going to post reviews about this and that my husband is in the travel industry and he would not recommend the property to groups or individuals but it did not matter.

Room Tip: Swim-up suites are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to express our appreciation for sharing your comments about your recent vacation at Paradisus Playa del Carmen, La Esmeralda.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had during your check-in process, cleanness in your room and minibar re-stocking. Be sure that your notes have been sent to the managers of each involved area in order to improve and assure it will not happen again to our appreciated guests.

Regarding your sport cloths missing from your room, our security and guest service departments sent us the complete report from the investigation they made. Unfortunately they were not able to clear up this issue. We know this kind of difficulties may tarnish your whole vacation experience. That is why, as an act of good faith, we offered you some options according our possibilities.
We are truly sorry those alternatives were not what you were expecting from us, we really tried to make it up to you as better as we could.

Even though you had some difficulties during your stay, we are glad you were delighted by the comfort in your swim-up room and your gastronomic experience at our Mediterranean restaurant Vento.

Once again thank you very much for your comments and we hope you could give us another opportunity to host you at our resort and you could really experience our facilities and service that all our customers deserve.

Best regards

Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
alan.becerril@melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,987 reviews
15.6 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,729 reviews
26.3 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,279 reviews
4.4 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
36.4 km away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda

Property: Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,183 - ₹ 61,719
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach and surrounded by mangrove trees, Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda is an all-inclusive four Diamond resort with its promise of all-inclusive fun and LUXExclusive experience designed with the entire family. All suites feature a private balcony or terrace and include air conditioning with climate control, free Wi-Fi, 24-hour room Service, cable TV service, Minibar, in-room safe, complimentary toiletries, bathrobes, living area with sofa and a coffee maker. Services for relaxation and pampering include a YHI Spa, a hair salon ($), Wedding services, tours/ticket assistance and a business center. World-class facilities including Family Concierge ($), Fitness, YHI Kids, Kids Zone, Kids Club, Baby Club, Game Room, Life enriching experience, Kids Pool. The resort offers 14 restaurants to choose from which are open daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing