We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time in Mexico, first time doing all inclusive”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #25 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First time in Mexico, first time doing all inclusive”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just returned from 11 nights at this hotel. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this small hotel. The location is excellent and we didn't need to rent a car. The rooms (we had to move our last night since we added one more night) were clean, clean and comfortable. AC worked well in both rooms. WiFi available in a couple different common areas but in our first room we had for the majority of our stay we had no trouble with wifi in the room. Water pressure in the showers was good. Toilets flushed fine. Beds are a little firmer than we prefer but we were able to sleep fine. We opted for all inclusive which was new for us and other than a couple of very minor hiccups it was great! We definitely felt like we got our monies worth. We went to both beach clubs the hotel has passes for. Kool Beach was closer but busier and like others said the pass relegates you to the plastic chairs versus the nicer wood ones but honestly it wasn't a big deal. Indigo beach club was smaller and quieter though a little further from the hotel. We liked the feel of Indigo but the beach at Kool was nicer in our opinion.

The menu at the hotel restaurant which is the one you go to for the all inclusive had a good amount of offerings including pasta, seafood and mexican. Lunch menu was a little small but okay. They make a great burger at lunch time! We generally found the food very good with an occasional inconsistency but nothing horrible. The servers are very nice though service is a little slow so do not be in a hurry.

Clientele was very mixed with regards to age and gender though we noticed many couples and just a few families with kids. They have two small pools but they are adequate for lounging in and around and are kept clean. Grounds are very well kept. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1401 which was a honeymoon suite and it was a great size with a small couch and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WChvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,153
    456
    82
    15
    9
See reviews for
364
871
87
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I love this little place on a side street right off the main drag. Once you step inside past the office/entryway, you notice the small, winding pathways moving through small pools and lush vegetation. Stairways are spiraled and the whole place feels relaxed.

Our room was perfectly clean and secure. The continental breakfast the next morning in the open-air bar was nice and enough to get us going. I would seek this hotel out if I am back in Playa again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vern_bodeen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed each one. We had a lovely, clean, room. Perhaps it needed a little redesigning, but it was very comfortable and suited us perfectly. The grounds are impeccably kept and are just so easy on the eyes.

The location is 1/2 block from the main strip, though our interior room was quiet. I think a room on the exterior of the hotel would be quite noisy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonhoward7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Level Contributor
440 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel is a real oasis in center of the town. 50 meter from the 5th Avenu. The garden is a tropical paradise. Two swimming pools and two restaurangs with good food. We had a continental breakfast included, and it was ok.
The staff very helpfull and happy as all Mexicans.
The rooms are big and modern and we loved it. First floor is the best, you have the garden just outside you doors.
Only negative was the beds. Hard and with a plastic cover to protect the matress.
If we come back, we will choose this hotell again.

Room Tip: First floor in the second garden. If you have children have i room in first garden close to the chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulf-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have been here 4 days, halfway through our vacation and we couldn't wait to write a review. We have stayed at hotels, all inclusive resorts, and cruised and this has been absolutely one if the best ever. Aventura Mexicana is intimate, pretty, well located and the staff and rooms are very nice. No one believes a perfect review so here's my only negative - the beds. They are not as comfortable as I would prefer because the memory foam topper is very warm and I have a back issue as well. But I have had worse in exclusive 5* resort. The take away is I am confident if That if I were mention it to manageme t they would try to rectify it. It is just not that big an issue. Would I recommend this place to friends and family? - in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunsequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.7 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.4 km away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 km away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#21 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,072 - ₹ 15,180
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing