We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Such a pleasant place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Such a pleasant place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed each one. We had a lovely, clean, room. Perhaps it needed a little redesigning, but it was very comfortable and suited us perfectly. The grounds are impeccably kept and are just so easy on the eyes.

The location is 1/2 block from the main strip, though our interior room was quiet. I think a room on the exterior of the hotel would be quite noisy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonhoward7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    424
    74
    13
    9
See reviews for
326
791
78
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Level Contributor
440 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel is a real oasis in center of the town. 50 meter from the 5th Avenu. The garden is a tropical paradise. Two swimming pools and two restaurangs with good food. We had a continental breakfast included, and it was ok.
The staff very helpfull and happy as all Mexicans.
The rooms are big and modern and we loved it. First floor is the best, you have the garden just outside you doors.
Only negative was the beds. Hard and with a plastic cover to protect the matress.
If we come back, we will choose this hotell again.

Room Tip: First floor in the second garden. If you have children have i room in first garden close to the chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulf-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We have been here 4 days, halfway through our vacation and we couldn't wait to write a review. We have stayed at hotels, all inclusive resorts, and cruised and this has been absolutely one if the best ever. Aventura Mexicana is intimate, pretty, well located and the staff and rooms are very nice. No one believes a perfect review so here's my only negative - the beds. They are not as comfortable as I would prefer because the memory foam topper is very warm and I have a back issue as well. But I have had worse in exclusive 5* resort. The take away is I am confident if That if I were mention it to manageme t they would try to rectify it. It is just not that big an issue. Would I recommend this place to friends and family? - in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunsequitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Hill Country
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

You will be IMPRESSED if you book this hotel!!! We loved this place! Especially for the price!

My husband and I have made several trips to the Riviera Maya area and this was by far one of our most favorite places to stay. We typically stay at the larger all inclusive commercial type resorts so I was a little skeptical when my husband told me he was researching “boutique hotels in Playa.” I must have complimented him and thanked him no less than 50 times for his selection – “he did good!”

The entrance alone sets the tone for the place. Traditional Mexican colors, furniture and décor … lush gardens and pretty pools throughout – with a courtyard type feeling.
We had an upstairs room at the end of the “adult pool.” It was pretty basic but very clean and perfectly comfortable for us. I did notice right away that that there isn’t a door on the bathroom area so if this is a concern for you remember to ask for a room with a bathroom door (it was never a problem for us – but I want to point it out for others who might find this uncomfortable).

The grounds were very clean and well kept as were the pool areas and all of the terrace areas. Again, just very charming and what I envision for a “boutique Mexican hotel.”

The entire staff was very nice and accommodating. Rob is the onsite manager and he and his fiancé, Ann, were so good to us! We enjoyed visiting with them and they were able to answer questions about the area. They also turned us on to some local places to check out (Canibal Beach Club being our personal favorite). The front desk and restaurant/bar staff were wonderful as well.

We chose the all inclusive plan and I’m sooooo glad we did! The Mayan Bistro restaurant is very cute/quaint and the food was ALL AMAZING! The breakfasts, lunches, and dinners that we ate were all very good. My favorite turned out to be the last thing I tried which was the shrimp and steak skewers. Yum!

The location was just perfect for us. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle ... yet close enough to walk to anything and everything we wanted to see. We never took a cab the entire trip (except to the airport which they were happy to arrange for us). It was about a one minute walk to the main downtown/5th street area, about a five minute walk to Kool Beach Club (which is very nice and one of the two complimentary beach clubs included with the hotel), and about a 15 minute walk to the ferry to Cozumel. Important to note: we also felt VERY safe at this hotel and in Playa in general.

There was a very good mix of people staying there. I’m sure they accommodate kids just fine although we left ours at home and we saw very few kids at the hotel. We met a lot of very nice people from all over the world. There were couples, groups of couples, single girls there for a birthday party … like I said a good mix so all should feel comfortable at this hotel.

I could honestly go on and on ... we LOVED it so much we didn’t want to leave and we will be booking again in March! I will be counting the days!

Thank you Hotel Aventura Mexicana! You far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wahmsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is exactly the kind of hotel I like--charming, personable, beautiful, clean, safe and in a fantastic location. Here, you know you're in Mexico, like staying with friends. The staff was super helpful, particularly Luis, and there were always people around to assist. Our room was very clean, and the organic soaps and lotions were a nice touch. Food and drinks were very good, although I would recommend skipping the all-inclusive option and check out the myriad restaurants nearby--all well within stumbling distance when you've had one or two margaritas too many! The coffee and margaritas were outstanding (omg, the coffee...)

To be clear, if you're used to resort kind of places or fancy all-inclusives, this may not be your place. If you care about things like irons and in-room coffee makers, find someplace else (and what in the world are you doing bringing clothes that need ironing to the Caribbean anyway?? Unpack those things RIGHT NOW!) If you want a glimpse into the heart and soul of Playa, this is a great place to stay. In response to a few other posts, our double room had a door to the bathroom, so if that's important to you it's certainly available in some rooms. Our room was near the front desk area, on the second floor, and the wi-fi reached there most of the time. The pools are small, so not great if you're hoping to do some lap swimming. The Kool Beach Club access only allows you the plastic chairs, but we found that they didn't hassle us until we needed to use the bathrooms. (In other words, go sit in the fancy chairs and don't worry about it unless and until they ask for your day pass, at which point they'll make you sit in the plastic chairs.)

Can't wait to return, if for no other reason than to stare into Luis' beautiful eyes a little longer!

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor near the entrance received wi-fi in the room, although it was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RefusesToCheckBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.7 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#45 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 km away
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condominiums Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condom...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.0 km away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,947 - ₹ 24,384
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing