We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 426
US$ 405
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 276
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 547
US$ 380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 439
US$ 333
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 611
US$ 283
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 166
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 722
US$ 552
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 85
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 410
US$ 391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 1,729
US$ 959
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,660)
Filter reviews
5,660 results
Traveller rating
2,869
1,918
547
207
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,869
1,918
547
207
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barmusty smellasian restaurantpalm treesentertainment staffmattress padevery other daypushed togethergreat holidayplenty of sunbedsmain restaurantevening entertainmentsmaller resortgated communityspecialty restaurantsother resortslunch buffet
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 5,660 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

spent a brilliant two weeks at the riu playacar. The check in was quick and easy and the room easy to find, the room was very spacious and very clean ( and kept clean over the two weeks by the hard working cleaning team especially santiago). The bed is massive (super-king), plenty of hangers for your clothes, free mini bar which is stocked up every two days with water, soft drinks and beer, there are also optics of spirits. the bathroom big with double sinks and large spacious shower. We were on the third floor and there's no lifts so be prepared to climb 55 steps every-time. The grounds and pool areas are immaculate and the beach stunning albeit at this time of year theres plenty of seaweed ( when weve been before to the riu tequilla we went in october and theres no seaweed), The food is lovely and theres plenty of dining options ie asian, italian, mexican and steak house aswell as the main buffet dining room, and all the staff are very helpful and friendly especially Natalie a waitress in the main buffet area, The entertainment team work really hard day and night and the shows are ok. Also the bar staff are very friendly and they have international brands, we tipped a dollar every other drink or so and tipped waiting staff and cleaners ( who got more obviously). The area of playacar is a gated community so very safe and also a good 20 min walk to the town of playa del carmen is worth it and also safe. I deffo would reccmmend the Riu Playacar in a heartbeat its the cleanest, friendliest hotel i ve been to ( riu brand never lets you down).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mccartan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Just returned from two weeks at riu playacar after previously staying at the tequila across the road. Absolutely fabulous holiday, weather glorious, occasional downpour but the animation team entertained us, they work really hard and are very enthusiastic at keeping the holiday atmosphere going, special thank you to Claudia who did the yoga and dance sessions I really miss them now I'm home. Hotel is spotless, staff are attentive and polite, food and drink are outstanding. We enjoyed the riu tequila and went over there a few nights for the entertainment, but, prefer the playacar as its directly on the beach. Lovely 20minute walk into playa del Carmen from both hotels. We also went to the riu tucan for lunch and coffee during the day. Cannot recommend these hotels enough as the choice of being able to use the facilities of 3 hotels is great. The TUI rep Kirsty was also very helpful and lovely. Will definitely be retuning.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Spent a week at Riu Playacar March 19/180 March 26/18. Had been several times before the renovations. Although I much prefer the Mexican decor the renovations are very well done and everything is clean and modern. Rooms spotless, beds much improved from the hard ones of previous years. Staff still great and had no complaints with the food either. Will continue to frequent this resort as i have in the past. Great vacation.

Room Tip: Beach front or buildings 5 or 6 are quiet away from the nightly entertainment.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RileyOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

we were staying at Riu Tequila across the road but came across to the Playacar for all but one day of our fortnights vacation. My wife loved Claudia's exercise classes and took part in water aerobics, dance classes and zumba everyday. beach soccer and table tennis were good aswell. staff very friendly in entertainment team especially Claudia and Debbie. beach lovely although sea was red flagged for some days we were there. Lunch generally good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 90andrew58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We are currently still at the resort with a family of 4. 2 kids and the parents. This resort IS small compared to others, this has its ups and downs. First it has very limited resources ie: sports bar, a disco (which is a good thing) etc..just because there is no room for them. You can however walk almost across the street to the tequila and have those things, all depends if you feel like going to another hotel in the middle of the night.

Next is the rooms. Let me just tell you, the designer of these rooms needs to have his head checked. Let me explain. This hotel has 8, 3 storey barrack type complexes with around the 20 some rooms on each floor. The first 6 barracks are old and outdated and you can deft see wear and tear, however Barracks number 7/8 are new therefore are fresher, bigger rooms and a nicer overall decor HOWEVER Why in the world would you build a door in between the rooms is way beyond me. Is it for the occasionally lazy people that rent 2 rooms and can’t seem to walk 5 feet to the room door to go next door? I have no logic for this. I mean you hear everything next door, and you hope that they are watching something interesting on tv otherwise ur stuck. The good thing is because of this I learned some Spanish:))...

The food is great. I always found something to eat. Alcohol could def be better. The best brands these guys have is Smirnoff, j and b scotch, red label...

The staff is nice, but I really could care less weather they are nice or not, in a week that I’m here I’m not here to make friends.
Beach is gorgeous could however use some more palm trees for shade.

All in all it comes down how much you pay. We were lucky to get a score a deal that kids stay free, this was worth it, if not deal try to find a diff hotel unless you want to learn Spanish from ur next door neighbour.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a valued feedback following your recent stay with us and for highlighting the variety of food offered at our restaurants.

At the same time, we are sorry to read that you felt disturbed by the noise from the room next door. Therefore, we would have liked to have been informed about all your inconveniences during your stay so we could have helped you to enjoy a pleasant holiday.

We sincerely hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate the high standards of service and quality that are typical of our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Playacar
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews