We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 196
US$ 190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 202
US$ 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 432
US$ 320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cielo(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Reve Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 275
US$ 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 277
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 201
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 682
US$ 541
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 744
US$ 725
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 269
US$ 262
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,968)
Filter reviews
6,968 results
Traveller rating
4,275
1,917
506
163
107
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,275
1,917
506
163
107
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelmagic showplenty of chairsapple vacationscab ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,879 - 2,884 of 6,968 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have just returned from Iberostar Tucan (10th-24th July) and it was absolute paradise!! This is one of the only holidays that I haven't been ready to leave at the end of the 2 weeks! We could happily have stayed on for a further week at least! The setting is beautiful and has a very tropical feel about it. The staff are very polite, helpful and friendly. The beach is beautiful, white and wide with plenty of soft sand and thatched sunshades and sunbeds. If you fancy a place right at the water's edge, you can pick up a free umbrella to go with your free towels that are supplied daily for beach use. The pool is unbelievably huge and gorgeous and is right next to the beach if you prefer this to the sea. The sea is very calm,warm and clear turquoise with a very gently sloping sandy bottom so that you can go out quite a way before becoming out of your depth. Kayak and catarmaran use is also complimentary, whilst you can pay for the use of jet skis or go parasailing from the beach too. The whole hotel and grounds are spotlessly clean and the food is good and varied. The specialist restuarants are all worth a visit too although the italian was our favourite and the mexican our least.The drinks are plentiful and available from the lobby bars, restuarants, pool bar and the beach bar. As well as the enormous main pool, there is an adults only pool with a swim up bar and a specialised sports pool (also a small kids paddling pool and playground I believe). The adults pool is lovely and refreshing as the water is cooler in there and there is shade if you wish too (the water in the main pool is very warm - more like a bath really!) You can use the facilities at the Tucan or its sister hotel, the Quetzal (all in the same grounds), and both share the pool in the middle. In the grounds between the 2 hotels there is a small jungle area with paths to walk down. There are monkeys, agoutis, turtles, a giant tortoise, flamingoes, peacocks and many other birds to see. it is especially pretty at night when the paths are all lit up! The rooms are a good size and the airconditioning is very welcome as the temperature is extremely hot and humid both day and night at this time of year! It is a 5min walk into the gated area of Playacar where there are a few small shops and a Starbucks (for free wireless connection whilst you havea drink rather than pay in the hotel lobby! Playa del Carmen is a 5 minute taxi ride away for 70 pesos and has more shops, bars and restuarants. It is alos the home of the famous Coco Bongos which is well worth a visit. There are many excursions bookable from either the town, your travel rep or directly from the hotel. The prices do not seem to vary too much wherever you book from. Our kids (two 19 yr olds and one 14 yr old) visited Tulum and X-Hal and thoroughly enjoyed them. Last year we visited X-Caret and Chichen Itza which were also good trips. Last year we stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe which was a little further down the coast, and whilst that was also beautiful, I think the Iberostar Tucan was better due to its location (nicer beach and nearer Play del Carmen), shorter transfer time from airport (about 50 mins vs about an hour and a half), far superior swimming pool, better air conditioning in rooms and just in sheer beauty of surroundings! There is also a small nightclub in the grounds which we visited a few times. It is blissfully cool in there due to the aircon and our 14 yr old was also allowed in if accompanied by an adult. This was another plus point as the club at the Gran Bahia last yr was strictly over 18s so only our older teenagers could go in and we had to go back with our youngest. The evening entertainment is also very good compared to what is usually available in hotels, as there is a team of professional dancers and singers employed by the hotels should you wish to watch in the evening rather than stay in the lobby bars. The airconditioned fitness centre/gym is also well equipped compared to other hotel facilities we have used before. Overall, this holiday was our best one ever and I would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank smiffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We just returned from a seven day stay at the Iberostar Tucan. It was our first trip to this resort. Check in was a breeze, no waiting friendly staff which greeted us with a glass of fresh juice. We arrived early in the morning before our room was ready, but we were able to leave our luggage with the staff in lobby; which they watched closely while we explored the resort and headed for the beach.

The grounds are immaculate, I have NEVER been to a resort where the staff is endlessly working to keep the grounds clean and maintained to perfection. They are friendly and always greet you with a warm smile (Hola), making you feel very welcome. The entertainment staff "Star Friends" who are very talented... are remarkable, they arrive early in the morning and must stay until the wee hours; they do everything from water zumba (Yeah Ricard "King of Zumba") beach parties, magic shows for the kids, to various beach games through out the day.... and in the evening the same staff puts on a variety of shows (Vegas, Mexican Folklore, etc.) everyday!!! The activities are endless, free scuba lessons (Alex was great), complementary catamaran's and kyak's, beach vollyball, ping pong - along with optional jet ski, and parasailing (at a very reasonable price - however don't pay the first price they say ..... they will go down).

Once we arrived to our room it was very clean. We were in building 12 which was very close to the buffet, beach and pool; a perfect location. One of the best parts was the abundant wildlife; Howler monkey's, Iquana's, Peacocks, Flamingo's, Sereque's, and Tucan - great for kids. The best time to see the monkey's is very early in the morning or early evening - if you hear a big growl like a big dog - they are close by just look up.

The Ala Carte restaurants we tried were great, the Japanese and the Tropical were our favorite. Our steaks at the Tropical were cooked to perfection and the Japanese was a night of fun, laughs and good food; you must try the fried banana and ice cream dessert it was delightful. The buffets were all good too, however the food was very repetative - not bad for a few days, but got a little tired after seven. The ice cream stand between the beach and pool was a favorite with our family - chocolate chip was the BEST!!! Our waiters were all wonderful, very friendly and will wait on you like you are royalty - by the second day they knew us by name. ALL of the Iberostar staff seem to really enjoy their jobs. We spoke with many of them, Dominico (at the big buffet) has been working their for over ten years and he said he loves it more each day - and it shows in his service a very happy man! Be sure to request his section in the large buffet.

The drinks were pretty good, daquiri and dirty monkey's were the best, however we did notice that the drinks at the lobby bar were far better than the drinks at other bars although Victor at the beach bar was GREAT!! I think this was mainly because of the house liquor brands and not the bartenders.

The beach was beautiful, clean and just as pristine as could be. The pool was VERY warm, but then what do you expect in the middle of July, it too was spotless.

If you want to go shopping I recommend 5th Avenue, we went there twice and it was great, lots of shops and restaurants; they are willing to bicker prices A LOT much more than we found when shopping at the Plaza down the street from the hotel (they seemed to be all fixed prices). One of the waiters (Roberto) from Iberostar (who was off) recognized us while we were shopping at 5th avenue, and came over just to say "hi" and to see if we were enjoying our trip to Mexico. We talked with him for probabaly a good 30 minutes - just shooting the breeze - Roberto did not have to even speak, but we're glad he did very nice man! A taxi from the hotel to 5th Avenue is only $7 + tip, but well worth the trip.

We have stayed at many all-inclusive hotels abroad and I can honestly say that the Iberostar Tucan is at the top of our list - especially for the price. You will not find a friendlier staff nor a cleaner resort! Perfect for couples or families. Remember to tip well it too can make a difference!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tq1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Check in - quick and easy. Front desk staff helpful & courteous
Check out - quick and easy. Able to get a late check out if available at $10/hr.
Cancun Transfers - best way to privately travel to and from resort.
Rooms - Average - a bit on the smaller size, tough spacing for a family of 4, but clean. No adjoining rooms on property. Mattesses are on a cement slab. Everyone had back pain including my 16 year old who can sleep any where. If you have back problems this should be taken into consideration. Resort has mattress pads upon request. This did not alleviate back pain for my family.
Room safes - about 8" x 8" and operate from a code you choose. No issues with theft.
Hair dryers, irons and some amenities such as shampoo, conditioner, comb, & sewing kit provided. Alarm clocks, but no ipod docking stations. No electrical converters needed.
Buffets - typical. Gets redundent the longer you stay. Try the Japanese (can't go wrong). None in our party of 11 (ages 13 to 46) enjoyed the italian or mexican al la cartes. Very pushy waite staff (due to reservation timings). Food was normal for an all - inclusive at this price point.
Evening Shows - best of all resorts we have been to in Mexico (remember people you are not in Vegas or NYC). The entertainment staff work long days and long hours.
Pools - 1 large main pool. Bring a raft or flotation device. Most of it is not usable for any long period due to depth of water. There is a good area for small children. A smaller pool for water basketball. Adult pool with swim up bar is tiny.
Drinks - top shelf in lobby bar. Beach bar is very busy but wait times were minimal. Soda fountain available with coke products and orange Fanta. If you do not like the water out of the fountain, ask the bar staff for water. It's bottled and tastes much better.
Beach - Beautiful. Maintenance workers clean debris every day. They work hard to keep this area well maintained. Huts available as well as a beach umbrellas. You should not have any issues with shade. Beach towels provided with towel cards. If you lose your towel there is a $10/towel charge. I absolutely hate this method used by some resorts. We manned towels all day for 11 people to make sure we had no issue.
Wildlife - as everyone else has said, it's quite interesting and fun for everyone.
Nightlife - nightclub available on property for those interested. Obviously you are a cab ride away from the great night life in playa. Paid $7/cab. Resort really pushes a club in town.
Vendors on beach every day, as well as, beach spa personnel. They will stop by all day long. If you say no, they keep on going with no issue. Spa on property near lobby. Resort jewelry store and convenience store on property in lobby. Photography as well.
Ping pong tables available near pool (close at 7pm) and billiard tables available at the show area. No game room or teen center. If you have teens they will be quite bored in the evenings. Tennis and basketball courts are outside main lobby near the weight room. You will be able to get a decent work-out in, but gym is very hot. Soccer available on the basketball court as well. Bicycle tours of playa community for adults 2x daily.
If you normally have problems with mosquito or bug bites, you will definitely need your bug spray here.
Dress code - slacks are required for men or older teens in most restaurants. If you forget, they have slacks available free of charge. Very casual resort. Dress as you like. Buffets not air conditioned.
Staff - everyone we met or talk to was kind and friendly. Buffet restaurant wait staff were some of the best we have seen in all our travels. We tipped at all meals and tipped our maid every 3rd day when we wanted our room clean. We stayed on property for 9 days. Resort not big enough for an extended stay in our opinion. Not enough variety.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GODs_blessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was our second time to the Iberostar Quetzal/Tucan complex, fourth to the area..
We had a lovely vacation at the Iberostar:
check in was quick (even on a Sunday) easy and we were greeted with chilled juice..
Our room was just what we requested, near the pool, king bed and no smoking, perfect
(we had requested this by e-mail a couple of weeks before departure)
We also had booked our specialty restaurants via e-mail...this worked out well also (really liked this feature)
check out was as easy, no problems

the room was cleaned well, air worked well
we found the pool to be pristine clean (quite warm as it is summer) but crystal clear
the ocean (more to our liking) ....plenty of palapas and they also give out many umbrellas...the towel game lives on of course.....the beach was very nice, bit of a step down when entering but beautiful...first few days there was no sea weed but there was a few days with a fair amount washing in...the staff was working hard to clear the beach. I don't know if this is annual, a storm out at sea or just the currents...but the ocean is fickled and by the end of the week the seaweed seemed to have found someplace else to go...
There was a hatching of beautiful yellow butterflies that just seem to never end...

we loved the restaurant near the beach and ate many breakfasts and lunches there, very easy, very comfortable
the buffets were good (truthfully maybe a little cut back from 4 years ago) but still quite good and always found something yummy
now let me say this about the a la carte restaurants, I have been disappointed and typically don't expect much, I would rather go down town but.....
the Japanese was very very good, the cook was very entertaining and the food was delicious and they gave you plenty
the steak house was quite good as well, the service was quite professional and the steak was good...
night entertainment was quite good some nights, the magician was very good, a couple of the nights it was only fair....the up side to the night entertainment is that they had live music most nights before, during and after the shows, I loved this...there was some dancing as well...we did not visit the disco so can not comment on this...
we spent a large amount of our time at the resort only going downtown a couple of times and out for a day trip x1.....
Iberostar, I think, takes pride in their establishment and it shows....
It is an older resort but the location, pride of ownership and dedication of the hard working staff make Iberostar a great choice....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

So first off a little about us.. We are yearly visitors to the Cozumel area and this is my 3rd visit to the Playa Del Carmen area. We love Cozumel but just did not find a good last minute deal so we started looking in the Playacar area especially since they re-did the beach area and I had heard it was pretty nice. We did love the beach at this resort but we still found ourselves craving for Cozumel waters which are a lot more clearer than the Playa del Carmen side of things... but more than that we are beach people and we got an excellent deal via apple vacations and decided to jump on it. Also when in Cozumel we prefer eating at our favorite loncheria's and taco joints so we are not real AI folks. The deal was so good it was only $100 more for this all inclusive compared to other non all inclusive hotels so we thought lets go for it..for an extra $100 it was an excellent deal and if we saw this come up again we might pounce on it.
First off the grounds of the hotel are lovely- 4-5* and they kept our room nice... great ac, decent water pressure and hot water, fresh stocked fridge etc, our bed was hard too- we slept on it the first night and next day asked for an egg crate mattress pad and it was much better. great beach service on the beach but we still got our own no problem on that. The beach was nice and we preferred to get our own beach umbrella to be closer to the water- which to us felt nicer and with more breeze than the palapa area. The beach did get crowded with guests but I'm still mesmerized by that blue water so I was fine (again we are beach people and I was happy to be on vacation). We didn't go to any of the shows it was not really our thing. We enjoyed the people who worked at the resort very much...everyone was helpful and fun to be around (5* on the customer service) My only BUT in our vacation was the food... I know what to expect for AI's but I'm still not really sold on them because I don't think the food is that great and it does get old at 1.5 days. I think if you can sign up for as much of the specialty restaurants as possible that would be a good idea... I know they limit they amount but you can also sign up if any one cancels there reservations. Also know we don't eat fancy when we have gone to Coz but I love going to taco places where we get fresh yummy taco's for under a dollar each and they are great...so I don't eat really fancy anyways and I kept telling myself I'll just make tacos and I'll be fine... but I found the food lacking. We both enjoyed the breakfast buffet- I would say no problems with this- we loved the fresh fruit juices and fruits available everyday, we loved having omelettes made from scratch and surprisingly we liked the coffee too. Lunch was a different story -I really didn't like much of the lunch buffet but I do love guacamole and chips and sometimes would just go with that option. I also made fish tacos out of the white fish they had daily and just put this between one of the quesadillas added a bit of pico and it was okay- nothing I was craving for more but okay. One day on the beach for lunch they serve a paella and it was really good and flavorful but if you see it in the lunch buffet just know you may be eating left over paella. We had bites of pizza, ravioli and not so great. I do have a good tip- if you want to know what the hand made pasta will taste like in the ala carte italian restaurant taste it here it seemed to be the same and sorry but its gross- it tasted like the pasta was made from flour tortilla dough- something is off but they aren't so good..(also a not to skip the italian food place -or order something other than pasta there). My husband did fine at lunch because he was happy with a fresh grilled burger everyday and they were really pretty good. The dinner buffet the first night was fun because they really do have a huge selection of food and like many other reviews before me you should be able to find something you'll like- just don't expect much... I ended up making my own taco's again... We did eat a little late 8-8'30 just so it would cool down and did find some of the interesting dishes of the night to be lacking at that time ... one day it looked like they had baked a large grouper and would have loved a piece of this but it was really picked over at that time.... another day it looked like they had some type of roast but it looked overcooked and dry. I had some decent ceviche there with shrimp and white fish- not too bad but I wish it was a little cooler and had some chicken Mole and wished it was a little warmer- it made me a little nervous not to finish the whole chkn thigh but the sauce on it was really delicious. They have tons of deserts but I'm not really a desert person- the ice cream was okay a little too sweet for me... I did enjoy the lime and coconut candy/desert- just a few bites-its kind of interesting to me I don't know why- just something I don't see that much around our hispanic neighborhoods. We ate at the Japanese restaurant and it was ok to good- yes like beni hanna's but not quite as fresh in my book but if I went back would still book here. We enjoyed the show and had great service. The italian food restaurant was not that good I sent my pasta back - it was gross to me and the waiter recommended I try the lamb chops which were cooked perfectly. Not the greatest sauce of veggies that went with it but I love me some lamb chops... My husband got the pork medallians or something like that and they came out luke warm and it was just so so. The thing that was okay was the appetizer buffet... which had a few nice cheeses on it.. I had a nice slice of brie and a nice slice of goat cheese so I was happy with that - could of used more of a green salad too but it wasn't really set up like that... the other items on this were just mediocre. I would skip this restaurant if we went back.. We did enjoy being in AC for both of these restaurants and really did choose the italian over the steak place because of this. The pool was fun to jump into after the ocean but still pretty warm so we preferred cooling off in the ocean... The pool is very large and we didn't feel too crowded - there was always a place to hang out. Never made it to the pool bar - it does look kind of gross to me too. The beach is wavy but nothing you can really body surf but we still liked cooling off in the water... on busy days the jet ski's go crazy and we weren't crazy about this since we enjoy just hearing the ocean waves on the shore. One of the other reasons for coming over to the Playa side was my husband never saw Tulum so we rented a car from the hotel (which I normally don't do since its pricier than getting one in town but didn't want to mess with the logistics of doing that so it was worth the higher price IMO) good service and off we go to Tulum- We loved seeing it and then I wanted to explore some of the beach clubs of Tulum. I had heard south Tulum had better beaches and we went to check out the beach in front of the OM resort and it was just okay and we didn't even stay which I thought we may stay at 2 locations (it was pretty but so was the beach at the Tucan and at the Tucan we have beach service for free... next we went to North Tulum area and found a great beach at El Paraiso - its a beach club and its on a gorgeous stretch of beach- we went swimming (no rocks in July) and took some photos and had a beer for an hour. I had really thought maybe Tulum would be my next favorite spot but I think I'll stick to Cozumel beaches from here on out. Back to the hotel for more ocean time. We did like the beer on tap at the hotel - we think Dos Equis (xx) but we didn't really care for their mixed drinks from the beach bar- even when adding a double I think they may water down...They use syrups for their mixed drinks so it may have been just too sugary or not that fresh fruit that I like ..they did use fresh banana's in their banana daquari's or dirty monkeys which were okay for one. We like just having a beer and a shot of tequila or mezcal every once in a while. The mojito's and capriahana's where not bad either. The lobby bar was nice and we enjoyed the classical guitar player too and seemed to have better drinks up there as well. All in all it was a nice get away and if the deal came around again at The Tucan i wouldn't hesitate staying there again- but maybe budget for a few nights in PDC for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jujubeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews