We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bedbugs!!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed for two nights from 20-20 February 2012, but my first night in a sticky 8 bed dormitory (room 4) without any windows was interrupted by bedbugs feeding on my hand and body in the middle of night. Despite changing to a free bed at the opposite corner of the room, they were climbing up on the wall as visible beetles when I switched the light on after being biten again.

I changed the room, and I was refunded the first night, but the hostel "3B Chic & Cheap" did not manage to let wash my clothes, which I was wearing during the night, within 24 hours of departure.

Not a chic "pet" hostel at all!!!

Room Tip: Avoid sticky, windowless bedbugs room 4 (eight human victims dormitory)!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0nald313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    101
    40
    11
    17
See reviews for
3
41
196
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hostel 3B is da bomb! This place is spotless. The beds are super comfy and laid out in a way that you feel as if you have some privacy. There are single and double bunk beds available & if you book the double you receive two HUGE lockers - so for long term travellers who may be carrying around extra luggage, this is perfect. The kitchen is equipped to make your own meals, or you can order a home made breakfast. You can stay here safe & comfortable for one night or one month. I can't say enough about the service. Fernando, the manager, went out of his way to be so kind and courteous. I was actually sad to leave this place! Very posh, affordable, sweet location and eco-friendly features make this place top notch. There is zero doubt that when I visit Playa again i will be staying at Hostel 3B. The place is simply awesome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuthenCHIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I have backpacked for three months through Mexico, this has been my least favourite place.

Pro: very clean, has a decent kitchen, good bed, large locker.

Cons: no real common area, just a few benches off the kitchen. WiFi only works here, not upstairs in rooms. I read somewhere (maybe hostelbookers) they had an "amphitheatre" like tv/lounge room-there is nothing at all, presumably they lent the space to the dentist since there is one in the middle of a hostel :s. Dorm gets VERY hot overnight for some reason, wake up in a sweat unable to sleep. Kitchen is tiny, only big enough for two. No atmosphere. To use shower you have to lock the door to the toilets since shower lock doesn't work- simple fix so why not??? Charge for breakfast, 25 for toast and jam, 35 for eggs or cereal. I left early for 50% refund.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

As advertised, the hostel is very clean and modern in its decor. It is rather spartan, however, in terms of its facilities...there isn't even a clock anywhere on the wall. A congested common area consists of five small slide-in tables and benches. The only other places to sit include a second floor sofa, and two chairs in the reception area. The cooking area is so narrow and tiny that only 1-2 people can work without banging into each other. There is a small TV in the common area. Despite the fact that I was the only person in the room at the moment, when I asked to watch a sporting event I was told I would have to do without audio since the hostel's policy is to play music non-stop. The desk clerk couldn't get the TV to turn on so it didn't matter. There are good policies in place but they're not enforced. People were smoking, drinking and playing music in our dorm at 3 AM. I spoke to the manager who talked to the culprits but the smoking and drinking carried on the next day. The beds were comfortable and each one did have a night light. The hostel boasts air conditioning in each room but it's rarely turned on. I spent nine nights in total and despite repeated requests by both me and my roomies, had AC once. The second room I stayed in had no windows or other ventilation except a few fans. It felt like a bunker. The attached bathroom was nice but when in use the shower sounded like a jackhammer and without ventilation the room became a sauna. I was booked for another week but was getting so little sleep that I packed up and went to a better hostel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I think that this new hostel will soon find its way to the top of guide book recommendations
Pros:. It's major draw is that it is clean and well organized! It has comfortable beds, with small individual reading lights. Each dorm has its own bathroom. Full kitchen for guest use, cont. breakfast available for purchase, board games, wifi. The reception staff were very pleasant, and the hostel had touches like fresh flowers on tables. Also, there are double beds available!

Cons: Each dorm room has a full bathroom. But if someone is showering you don't have access to a toilet. Some rooms have very few/limited power outlets. It is close to 5th Ave, but it is at one end.

Final verdict: Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gxqpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
841 reviews
0.6 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
399 reviews
1.4 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,431 reviews
0.7 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,222 reviews
0.7 km away
The Yak
The Yak
#6 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap

Property: Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Address: Av. 10 Esquina Con Calle 1sur, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,416 - ₹ 2,768
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and innovative hostel meant to gather all world party travelers. It is located in Playa del Carmen, one block from the beach. With 24-hour reception, private rooms and shared rooms with individual lockers. All rooms feature Ac. We also have Wifi in the common area and the rooftop bar. Stay with us ALL INCLUSIVE! Breakfast, dinner, 5 hours of open bar and your bed. $ 550Mx Hostel 3B has a kitchen with all utensils, microwave and a TV room with sofas, board games and cards. Breakfast is served from 08:00 to 11:00. The SOS lounge is located on the rooftop and has an outdoor pool, lounge area,Live DJs, Xbox One, beer pong, bbq and sushi nights. The hostel is half a block from the fifth Avenue, the main thoroughfare of shops and nightlife in Playa del Carmen. Don't forget is only 40 minutes drive from Cancun airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing