We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Well Equipped Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I think that this new hostel will soon find its way to the top of guide book recommendations
Pros:. It's major draw is that it is clean and well organized! It has comfortable beds, with small individual reading lights. Each dorm has its own bathroom. Full kitchen for guest use, cont. breakfast available for purchase, board games, wifi. The reception staff were very pleasant, and the hostel had touches like fresh flowers on tables. Also, there are double beds available!

Cons: Each dorm room has a full bathroom. But if someone is showering you don't have access to a toilet. Some rooms have very few/limited power outlets. It is close to 5th Ave, but it is at one end.

Final verdict: Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gxqpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 233 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

Hostel 3B is one of the nicest and cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in, not to mention one of the most stylish ones. Beds are big, sturdy (so no earth quake impression when someone climbs to the upper one in the middle of the night) and really confortably with very good quality pillows and mattresses, kitchen is well equipped (with massive fridge to store your own food), rooms are cleaned daily and have their own bathrooms, the lockers are big enough for a rucksand and dayback (!), location is great (only 2min from beach), and most importantly the staff is super nice and friendly and very patient when you try to practice your poor Spanish.

If I ever come back to Playa I will definitely stay here again and would happoly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Comparing the different hostels all over Yucatan Hostel 3B is one of the best. Its really really really clean and special due to its design. The beds are comfortable and organized as dorms. Big lockers that even fit a huge backpack are provided. The bathrooms are hotel style and also really clean (during our stay the cold water wasn't running, but I prefer warm over cold water). Stuff is always friendly and helpful. I also recommend the breakfast - the cereal with fresh fruit was the best mix I got on this travel.

The only negative point is that you are not allowed to consume alcohol in the hostel, due to law restrictions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StudentenkussHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This cute, chic, and cheap hostel is truly tres b. It lives up to its name in every aspect. The front desk staff are beyond helpful. Fredo knows the best places for everything from where to eat the best food, to where the best party is, or where to buy exactly what you are looking for. They have guided tours that are a ton of fun and because they are run through the hostel are not astronomically priced. This hostel offers a variety of different dorm options (for example they have double beds on some of the bottom bunks), and security was great. They had wi-fi, board games, a tv room and tons of things available in case you wanted some quiet time in. The kitchen was very well equipped, and anything/everything you needed was close at hand, they even had a water bottle refill station which if you are a tourist in Mexico you know how important that is! (and it only cost 5 pesos). if you ever had an issue(which is very rare here) one the very friendly staff was always there within a minute to look after it for you. The atmosphere was the most pleasant i've ever been in at a hostel, and this is a hostel i will be returning to. 3B is by far the best hostel i have ever stayed in, and i have stayed in my share of hostels. For great conversation, amazing people, and one beautiful hostel in a beautiful town come to 3b. So once again THANK YOU 3b for the wonderful time i had, and i look forward to seeing you all again on my next trip to Playa !

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmhallax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I stayed here for seven nights in total during our travels around Mexico. It was undoubtedly one of the cleanest and nicest hostels we've ever stayed in, with comfy beds and hotel style bathrooms. The lockers are massive (big enough for large backpacks) and each bed has a fan and bed light which is a nice touch. Most of the staff (with the exception of the lady who works nights, it wouldn't hurt her to smile sometimes) are incredibly friendly and helpful and advised us a lot on local attractions etc. The kitchen is also fantastic - marble surfaces and everything very clean.
However, we did have a few problems that got on our nerves - no hot water in the shower, one day there was no water at all, they have air con in the rooms but it is turned on very low so its not that useful, the downstairs lobby area is very stuffy and no air con, and the TV room was useless as the tv was out of action the entire time we were there. And even though there is no bar in the hotel, you are still not allowed to bring drinks in, so you are forced to go out every night to expensive bars and restaurants just to get a few beers. This also meant that this hostel lacks the usual friendly hostel atmosphere and its much harder to get to know other people unless they are actually in your dorm.

Like I said, overall I was very impressed with this hostel, but there are a number of minor issues that need sorting out before I would think about staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xbackpackerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#8 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
436 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
852 reviews
1.4 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,507 reviews
0.7 km away
The Yak
The Yak
#6 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
567 reviews
0.5 km away
Hostel Che
Hostel Che
#14 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap

Address: Av. 10 Esquina Con Calle 1sur, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 1,417 - ₹ 2,962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and innovative hostel meant to gather all world party travelers. It is located in Playa del Carmen, one block from the beach. With 24-hour reception, private rooms and shared rooms with individual lockers. All rooms feature Ac. We also have Wifi in the common area and the rooftop bar. Stay with us ALL INCLUSIVE! Breakfast, dinner, 5 hours of open bar and your bed. $ 550Mx Hostel 3B has a kitchen with all utensils, microwave and a TV room with sofas, board games and cards. Breakfast is served from 08:00 to 11:00. The SOS lounge is located on the rooftop and has an outdoor pool, lounge area,Live DJs, Xbox One, beer pong, bbq and sushi nights. The hostel is half a block from the fifth Avenue, the main thoroughfare of shops and nightlife in Playa del Carmen. Don't forget is only 40 minutes drive from Cancun airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing