We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Winter Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
.
Exotic, modern classic
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
.
Exotic, modern classic
Walking up to the Martinique suite
Elegant wooden staircase leads up to your suite through mature palm trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Judi B
Bedford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Winter Getaway”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We were fortunate to stay in the Martinique Suite at the Plantation House , Playa del Carmen in January/February, 2015.
The one bedroom suite was great. it was roomy, airy with sea breezes coming through the multiple windows on each side of the condo.
We loved sitting on our balcony overlooking the palm treed courtyard. When you came through the main door of the House from the bustling streets of Playa you were in a calming oasis.
Thank you to the owners, Joe and Francoise for providing us with a perfect winter getaway. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Finding a winter home that we really liked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: spotty internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. We generally leave one set of keys for our guests but a second set is readily available at your request. Unfortunately the intercom that is installed there had some technical issues ( it didn't work) and it was at the shop being looked at during your visit. Normally, you would be able to receive calls and buzz the door open from your apartment.
Look forward to receiving you again ,in the Martinique suite or one of the upper penthouses!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hartmanpe...
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Outstanding & Unforgettable!”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014
6
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Plantation House for 14 days back in September. We had an incredible vacation!

Having travelled down south many times over the past few years, we found ourselves bored with traditional resorts. I had no idea what it would be like to stay in a vacation condo, away from regular meals, regular activities and a fairly regular schedule. The freedom and comfort the Plantation House provided was an unexpected surprise.

The room was luxurious, better than the best rooms at the 5-star resorts we've stayed at. Spacious and quiet, it was like being at home. Full kitchen, wifi, spare towels, bedding, closets, every utensil, pots and pans remote-controlled fan and lights, AC, giant jugs of water and dispenser, washer and dryer, dinner table, everything you need to feel perfectly at home. The decor was comforting, with personal touches like paintings and handmade wooden furniture not purchased in stores. It really makes the room feel like a real home.

What a great location! Perfect distance from the beach and the bustling downtown hot spots. With just a few steps, you're either right on the beach, or right near the 5th avenue nightlife including great restaurants and party venues.

Tip: Eat at the breakfast restaurant right across from the Plantation House. Having tried almost all the breakfast spots around, it is one of the best. If you've been out partying the night before, and you're tired or hungover, there's nothing better than taking two steps out your door and eating at a high-class spot with friendly staff, complimentary pastries basket and fresh orange juice.

Tip: Go to a restaurant on 5th avenue called 100% Natural. Buy cheap, giant smoothies to go and keep them in the fridge. Delicious way to wake up.

The owner, Joe Daponte, is super friendly and helpful. You won't feel uncomfortable with him. He knows what he's doing. Every request was well received and well taken care of. Joe is the best. He speaks English and Spanish well.

There's one maid that comes by every couple of days or so. She didn't speak a word of English, but was very polite and thorough. She does the dishes, and sometimes forgets to take her tip. Honestly! I had to remind her a few times to take it! How cool is that? Didn't notice any mold or mildew. Fresh sheets, blankets and pillows.


Cons? Wifi dropped out intermittently and sometimes didn't work for a couple of hours. Beach is not as nice as other places we've been, but that doesn't take away from the great room. Coco beach is nice and a very short hop away.

Electrical outlets were standard (we're from Canada). Big screen TV, but we didn't really bother, except to listen to music videos. There's a line to hang your clothes if you don't want to use the dryer. Tons of windows with mesh screens. There's a coffee machine (ours didn't need filters, I'm told.) Dumbwaiter elevator so you don't have to lug your luggage up the stairs. Couldn't hear neighbours. There are two comfy, foldable lounge chairs that you can take down to the beach. It's great if you don't want to pay to use the chairs the bars and restos provide (if you're eating or drinking at the bars and restos, chairs are free.)

What else can I say except, we want to be there right now! I can't believe we stayed at resorts all these years. We were missing out!

Should you stay at the Plantation House? Yes. Yes. Yes. (This coming from a guy who really doesn't like or need vacations.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large, quiet room that felt like home.
Liked least: Nothing... Intermittent Wifi?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneAnnie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Percfect location, wonderful hosts and a great property”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Absolutely loved our stay in the Martinique suite over Christmas. The apartment had all the amenities we needed and Joe was so helpful with suggestions for getting the most out of our stay in the area. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert442...
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We originally requested the Martinique suite, but as it was already booked, Joe suggested instead the Barbados suite. We accepted and were not disappointed. It was all the photos showed and so much more! The location was perfect, just a block from the beach and another block to 5th Avenue. We had complete privacy and an amazing time. The suite was very well equipped, and we sometimes ate in as we cooked our meals in the very well appointed kitchen. The rooftop veranda was perfect for winding down after a day at the beach and before going out to the many live music bars, restaurants and other attractions nearby within walking distance.
We will definitely be back, and with our daughters this time, as the two floor suite had two single beds on the mezzanine in addition the the master bedroom.
Many thanks to Joe and Françoise. This was our first vacation rental, and we are never going back to hotels after such an amazing experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2014
Each of our 6 suites have something different to offer. We are very happy to know that we have succeeded in providing a great accommodation to enhance your first experience in renting a vacation home over a hotel resort. It was wonderful to see you coming down the stairs with your easy smiles and carefree spirit, ready for another day in Playa. Certainly making our work here worth the effort We look forward to you next visit and meeting your daughters.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;