We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach, Average Food”
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Maya
Ranked #85 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, Average Food”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel February 2012, this is our fifth Mexian resort, but the second in the Playa del Carmen area, so we are well versed with the "buffet" atmosphere for meals, however, the food was very disappointing. We did partake in the a la cartes, which were better, but the best kept secret is the "Viva Cafe" a la carte. The presentation and quality of the food was amazing! Try to get into this one - you will not be disappointed! The service on the resort was great. Everyone was very courteous and helpful. Do not look for much in the fridge. We received on courtesy water for the week! There are vending machines with water but other than that you are on your own - not like a stocked fridge that most all inclusives offer. The best part of this hotel was the beach - absolutley wonderful! Also, it is within about a 30 minute beach walk of Playa del Carmen. The rooms were average, the beds were not very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MBVacationer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya.



We regret not have been able to fulfill your expectations during your stay at our property. We will seriously consider your observations with the purpose to ameliorate our services.



We remain at your entire disposal.



Kind regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,139
    2,793
    1,031
    347
    212
See reviews for
2,137
2,514
139
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

There were 15 of us staying at this hotel. On the positive side the resort was able to accommodate us all in the same building. This was by the relax pool and quite a distance from the beach and main pool with the swim up bar. You also had to get your towels at the main pool area.

Although the beach was lovely, it was extremely crowded and there was the usual issue of people saving loungers and then not showing up until the afternoon. The main pool area was loud and there were a lot of children. We are a 50 and over group and would have preferred an adult hotel. At the relax pool there was a pool bar but absolutely no music; however, our group managed to make the most of it.

The food at the a la carte restaurants was better than what I expected after reading some of the reviews. The buffet food was average and predictable but there was always something to satisfy the hunger.

It was difficult to get tables in the lobby/courtyard area for pre-dinner cocktails as you would get there and all the couches would be saved by one person sitting there for quite some time by themselves.

The rooms were spacious but had this constant musty smell and as there are no elevators, only the first floors were acceptable for mobility challenged people.

The location is great; it is only a 20 minute walk to 5th Avenue.

Overall I would say the resort is good value for the money paid but I would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnaMasKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Maya as destination for your vacation.



We appreciate the time dedicated to write your opinion about your stay at our Resort. We assure you that your feedback will be considered in order to ameliorate our services.



Please do not forget that Viva Wyndham Maya will be pleased to welcome you back.



Best regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel in July 2011 with my husband, son, mother and father.

This is a fantastic property with great food, drinks and activities. Cocktails are amazing. Hotel is fantastic right on the beach with free non-motorised watersports - catamaran and boogie boards.

The only down side to this hotel is the fact that there is no air conditioning in the main restaurant.

Already booked to return in 2012.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Maya to spend your recent vacations. We appreciate your good comments about our services and we are glad to now that you and your family had a pleasant stay.



We will be pleased to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.



Kind regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We did 6 cruises and this was our 1st all inclusive resort vacation. Everything was nice except the food, that was a big dissapointment. We could only make 3 dinner reservations at the resort restaurants. The rest of the time it was buffet which was very ordinary. When I ask at the front desk if we could go to the sister resort Azteca the answer was no. Location of this resort was fantastic - 1/2hr of beautiful and very safe walk to the center of Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ida60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Maya.



It is very important to our continued success that we hear from our guests and your comments will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations and service.



We hope that on despite of this situation you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at Viva Wyndham Maya.



Best regards,


General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Have stayed at hundreds of resorts all over Mexico, Caribbean, Europe..and this is not a favorite of mine. Compared to other resorts...(Melia in Cabo, Great Bay Beach Resort, St. Maarten, Best Western Bay Harbor, Tampa, FL) even priced less...this resort barely rated a 4. Upon arrival we noticed the hotel personnel were not in an hurry to help you.

I will break down my comments..

Room: We booked through their Rewards By Request program and our room..Rm 1310... was really nice. Near beach..just a little noisy during shows at nite but closed the door and was fine.

Beach and Chairs: People were putting towels on chairs by 6:15 am. Since we had silver (grey) bracelets this entitled us to the VIP beach area with great padded chairs and covered umbrella huts. Beach reminded me of Jersey Shore - chairs lined up so close--- or a Bahamas resort. Beach had lots of seaweed on shoreline.

Pool: VERY BASIC looking. Did not see a swim up bar. Adult pool was too crowded to stay at.

Bar: 2 bartenders that took forever to even acknowledge you were standing in front of them. I always tip at all inclusives and when I did they just took the tip and never even said thank you. Had to ask for extra liquor in drink or dont think they even put any in. Asked for Kahlua and they said they dont have. This is Mexico..isnt that where Kahlua comes from? At times there were lines 15 people deep trying to get drink at pool bar. If you requested something different bartenders acted like it was a bother.

Food: AS SOON AS YOU CHECK IN MAKE RESERVATIONS FOR YOUR ENTIRE STAY AT THE RESTAURANTS. No one told us and as at other resorts you did not make reservations for a restaurant THAT day...nothing was left. We ate at Mexican one day and it was good. Got stuck at buffets the rest of the stay. UGLK. It was at best cafeteria/truck stop food. We are not picky eaters at all but it was SAME food at each buffet..very bland.

Be very careful walking...all floors are very slippery. Saw many people slipping and falling...even with rubber flip flops on.

OK...You probably think I am hard to please...I am not at all. Basic is good for me but this resort was below basic. Very impersonal..hotel personnel didnt even look at you walking by..I usually am very friendly to all hotel personnel,

We went strickly for relaxation and to lay on the beach. Weather was great...but I will definitely not be going back here.

Room Tip: Room 1310 was superior with ocean view. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NonrevTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations.


Please accept a sincere apology for not have been able to fulfill your expectations during your wedding anniversary at our property.


We remain at your entire disposal.



Kind regards,
General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.9 km away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#58 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.5 km away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#71 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,650 reviews
0.4 km away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#88 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
20.6 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,424 reviews
1.5 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Property: Viva Wyndham Maya
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#74 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,157 - ₹ 30,472
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing