We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing but lively resort,”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing but lively resort,”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A questionnaire presented on our departure asked whether any particular member of staff's care exceeded our expectations and my sister and I were able to answer honestly that they all did!
Nothing was too much trouble for these courteous and superbly trained employees and I am proud to count some of them as personal friends. We had the most pleasurable experience enjoying all the hotel's facilities, the food was first class, the rooms and bathrooms were beautiful and well-kept, the barstaff, including Miguel, Averill, Hugo and Pablo, waiting, were efficient, professional and very generous. Waiter service was available wherever you were including to your beach cabana.
We were most impressed by the entertainment team, Ivan, Cynthia, Mr B and Chicken who had a huge following poolside throughout the day, organising aquarobics, beach volleyball as well as water polo. They were careful not to pressurize guests but certainly more than 50% were happy to join in, making this the most fun holiday we've ever enjoyed as 50 year old children! There were plenty of available activities including SCUBA diving and snorkelling lessons, kayaking, jetskis etc.
We have no reservations in recommending this hotel and look forward to booking again for next year. Thanks Gran Porto. Jane & Judy (The English Ladies).

Room Tip: We chose a junior suite and benefitted from more space and higher ceilings. It was clean, had effici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,405
    2,083
    655
    378
    264
See reviews for
3,317
2,946
140
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,734)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just returned from a week at Gran Porto and it was an awesome experience. Can't say enough nice things about the wonderful, hard working, and kind staff. Isaura from albatross was always so pleasant. Huber in the pool bar always served with a smile. Christion in housekeeping did a great job cleaning our room. David in the sushi bar was great! Angel from albatrosss, along with the manager and chef prepared a special dinner for us on our last night and treated us like royalty. We truly appreciated it! We had an Ocean Front family suite with our two teenagers and there was plenty of room. There was a very large balcony with a hammock that the kids enjoyed. Marias and Albatross had great food! We were disappointed with Il Pescatore. The hotel has a great location which was confirmed by our taxi driver who knows the area very well. Ivan, Cynthia, and chicken worked hard at activities and did a good job. Even though the cost of the hotel says it includes tips, we realized how hard the staff work and found out how much these people make ( a few dollars a day) so we tipped as much as possible as often as possible.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Gracie99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vleuten, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

In May 2012 we visited Playa del Carmen. Upon arrival at the Gran Porto Real hotel we were immediately struck by the warm-heartedness and friendliness of the personnel. Every single staff member at the Gran Porto Real does his best to please you most and they succeeded very well.

Compliments to the waiters (Fernanda, Huber) at the swimming pool that bring you your favorite cocktail time after time (and yes they do know what your favorite cocktail is after one day) and definitely to our favorite hostess (Isaura) at one of the three restaurants. Every single time when you enter the restaurant, she makes you feel welcome and accompanies you to your favorite table. There you are perfectly served by one of the great waiters, among which our favorite Daniel, who is a young, always smiling lovely Mexican boy. We couldn't resist to be photographed with him.

One of the great entertainers from this hotel is only known by his nickname 'Chicken', indicating his small size and dancing moves of a chicken. Crazy as he is; he dances like MJ did. Miguel is the driving force behind all "Mexican dance nights", activities and plays. Many compliments to him too.

The diversity of the buffet in the main restaurant is great. The quality is on par with most of the other hotels and definitely good. Keep in mind though not to expect a very fine and delicate choice of excellent and first-rate ingredients.

Regular rooms aren't the greatest with regards to size and out-of-room view. Just go for the upgrade with spectacular front sea view, hammock and superb room size. You can negotiate a lot and it's definitely worth the few quid more per night.

The cleaning lady comes every single day and cleans your room meticulously in approx 40 minutes. Not only do they replace your laundry and bed sheets, they also clean windows, cabinets, walls(!) and floors. Next to that, they make great animal figures with towels. Lovely to see.

The location of the hotel is great. The beach is right in front of the pool. 5th ave with all restaurants, bars and loads of shops is a 3 minutes walk.

In short; definitely and highly recommended. A rating on all fronts. Cannot come up with any particular reason not to chose for this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the very left and very right sides. They only have sea view when you bend o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ewout J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Good place for the family, all inclusive, including room service. People were very kind and with a servant heart. My five year daughter had a blast a place she will never forget. The kids play was fantastic!! the girls there Lali, Gina, Melissa and Andrea showed their love towards our little ones and we felt secured in leaving our kids there. The people the restaurant were also great I which I remembered all their names but here are a few Daniel (waiter), May (waiter), Espinosa (Waiter) he served us in our Romantic Dinner, awesome by the way!! Isaura the host and Aurelio de Cook, Mary the cleaning lady at the restaurant, El Chicken, Valmir and Ivan from Entertainment.
We are definitely be back on the summer. Everything was awesome! Also Eduardo the captain from the restaurant Captain.

Room Tip: we had a Junior Suite with Ocean and pool Views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cesar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Great restaurant with great service. Portions are small but to us here in the states anything is small because our portions are so big. Presentation of the food is beautiful. They do encourage you to eat 3 to 4 courses so you get to enjoy a variety. We had my birthday dinner there and they sang to me, brought me cake and a birthday shot. So much fun! Rodgriuez and his helper on (6/15) were great and just very attentive!

Helpful?
Thank MelanieL273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,690 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,757 reviews
4.2 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,356 reviews
7.8 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,835 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,037 - ₹ 34,696
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing