We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No wedding blues here.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“No wedding blues here.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

For the 5th time I was back at the Gran Porto Real (GPR) but this time for something much more important than a holiday, this time it was for my daughter’s wedding! As father of the bride I helped the “happy couple” in choosing the hotel, but after 4 previous, fabulous, visits, there really was never any doubt that the GPR would be chosen as the venue and we were not disappointed.

From General Manager to Housekeeping the service was excellent. Over 50 guests at the wedding came from 10 different countries and there wasn’t one complaint as people were amazed at the level and friendliness of the service. It was no mean feat for the staff to keep a group like that happy, but they did it.

Special mention must go to Lynn the General Manager for her all-round supervising of the event, her ability to make things happen and her care and compassion (one of the guests picked up a bug and the Doctor had to be called, but who personally made sure everything was ok and called the Doctor herself, Lynn!).

Also, Carlos Melgar the Front Desk Manager who attended to all our room requests (and re-requests!) with the utmost efficiency (not easy with a group of 50 all with different expectations!) deserves special mention.

The waiters in the Albatross restaurant, particularly at breakfast and lunch were great, moving tables to accommodate larger groups then smaller groups and they also showed great patience and understanding in dealing with the many kids present. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Teresa at the Lobby Bar, Pablo and Jesus on the beach and Jose at the pool I have now known for many years and they NEVER disappoint with their level of service and always seem happy to see me!!

Lynn, her management team and her staff, are a great credit to the Grand Porto Real in particular and the Real Resorts Group in general and without doubt a big part of why so many people return year after year to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkcaldy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

9,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,207
    2,031
    642
    365
    258
See reviews for
3,176
2,877
136
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,694)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We have just returned from our Sons wedding at this Hotel. From start to finish, the whole experience was amazing. The Hotel was beautiful, spotless clean and the food was fantastic, something to suit everyone. Our favorite was the Mexican but all the restaurants were fantastic and the staff were the best i have ever met in a Hotel. I want to say a great big thankyou to Dave, Teresa and Adrianna and filllipe in the lobby bar. Verlain in the 24 hr bar was the best waiter i have ever met, he looked after us all holiday and nothing was too much trouble. He deserves a medal for all his hard work. Also the animation team were the best we have ever come across in a hotel, Ivan, Enzo, Rodrigo and most of all CHICKEN, i have come back off holiday as fit as a fiddle because of my water aerobics in the pool everyday. All the staff were fantastic but i just cant remember everyones names. The wedding was beautiful, the wedding co ordinator did a fab job, she was always on hand to sort anything out with my Son and his now Wife. Would i return to this hotel? in a flash! We have all agreed that we are all going to start saving straight away to go back asap. This is by far one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in and most certainley the best staff. Finally, i want to say a great big thankyou to the omelette man who made one for me every morning, the best iv ever had but im so sorry i didnt ask him his name. We also met some wonderful people from all over the world, if any of you read this and realise who we are, then thanks for making our holiday and wedding the best ever. My daughter and her friend had a std room and it was lovely

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy_anne_parr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Our 2nd time here, loved it more this time, the nightly live band was awesome, service all around amazing, couldnt say enough,we had lobster dinner and the staff went al out to make it a beautiful experience, flowers on the table, champagne, wine, special dessert the waiters went above and beyond!! great didnt have to book ala carte, no line ups. Italian ala carte was great!
so close to 5th ave great shopping.lots of loungers on beach, didnt need to save one.. I had to call the DR. was at the room in no time treated me, recovered soon after. all the staff were wonderful Theresa, Juan, Jose, Madelaine,Adriana, Zes. all so great us!!

Room Tip: spa is amazing , they have a hottub in spa along with a cold tub so refreshing, an incredible experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine499148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My son and bride planned a beach wedding at this all inclusive resort. This was my first time outside the USA. I just want to say I felt like I was experiencing a "Lifestyle of the Rich & Famous" at this resort. The wedding coordinator was cordial and very helpful. It surely was a first class desination wedding. The hotel is beautiful, and quaint (Mexican style). I was in an oceanview room. The staff and service was excellent. Even though the linen and towels had a few stains, they were clean. There were plenty of activities, and a variety of restaurants. I'm still in awe.
I would highly recommend this resort, and plan to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less a/c unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here for my 8th trip to Mexico. What a great location if you love 5th Avenue and Playa del Carmen. The food was the best I've had in Mexico and we loved that you didn't have to make reservations. A large, beautiful room with a huge walk in shower and spacious bathroom. The balcony was very spacious too. Pablo provided the best beach service ever!! He definitely tops my list of best service hands down of all the places I've stayed.

The beach left a lot to be desired. It was very rocky and tough on your feet to maneuver in the water. Although the resort was relentless in cleaning up the seaweed, they are continuously fighting a losing battle.

Overall this was a great resort and I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beyondsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,538 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
4.2 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,308 - ₹ 29,514
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing