We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,400)
Filter reviews
3,400 results
Traveller rating
2,282
759
196
90
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,282
759
196
90
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shangri la caribe half board palapa style fuego restaurant las olas garden view breakfast and dinner las palapas palapa roof ocean front ping pong fifth avenue the penthouse infinity pool yogurt palm trees the wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,550 - 2,555 of 3,400 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2005

We spent a week at Shangri-La Caribe and loved every second. It was incredibly relaxing and the staff was very friendly. The beach was immaculately kept and not crowded at all compared to surrounding hotels. It was a nice 10 minute walk down the beach and into town. The food was good, the atmosphere was great. Daily happy hour, snorkeling gear, ping-pong. We are thinking about going back and taking the kids because it is the kind of place you could turn them loose to have fun and not worry about them.

21  Thank Explore19813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2005

Booked this hotel b/c it promised to be a nice, quiet getaway. No phones (except in lobby), no tvs (exept in game room)...just laid back relaxation. Food very good, especially hot breakfasts. Thatch roof huts on the beach are very simple, but clean and very relaxing and comfortable. We had a beach front with 2 hammocks on the porch. Can you say PARADISE?
We had a very good experience here UNTIL Hurricane Wilma hit...then we realized how AWESOME the staff is at this place!!!! They evacuated us to safer hotels, fed us daily even DURING the never ending hurricane (even brought us bottles of tequilla on the 2nd night of this ferocious storm!!!)...then fed us 3 hot meals a day after the hurricane passed but we all waited for the cancun airport to reopen. I simply cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff at the hotel. The waiters were the friendliest ever, and the reception staff was so empathetic with our plight. I love this place and cannot wait to go back. Selfishly, I don't want everyone to find out about this place, but b/c the staff is so wonderful, I feel the world must be told of their explerary service.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank bev0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2005

We loved this place. It was just what we were looking for. Cabanas are very nice with great porches, some with views of the ocean. Step out your door and you are on a beautiful beach! Romantic atmosphere with a family friendly flair. Plus...you are very close to town (a short walk on the beach) without having to be right in it. Very nice staff. Clean pool area with shade. I could go on and on about how great this place was especialy if you are not an AI kind of person but one thing you must know, there is so much construction going on around the hotel right now (new condos going up right behind the Playa section) that after one night, we hated to... but we checked out. The caribe section seemed better because it was far enough away but we could not deal with the noise. Not our idea of a relaxing vacation. Oswaldo at the front desk was very understanding and worked with us to find another quiet hotel in Tulum, Las Ranitas. We had a great time there and would recomend it and the Shangri-la to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gypsymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2005

We stayed at the shangri-la from Sept 27th for a week in a beachfront cabana. It was right by the pool and on the beach at 33 playa. I think it was the best place to stay in the whole place. I don't think I'd want to stay inside the resort in the garden views, if you can aford it, stay in the beachfront. Literally, 15 steps and it is the pool, 20 steps is the restaurant/bar, and 1 step off the porch is the beach.

The rooms are very large and simple. Many windows and screens can be opened to let the fresh air in, or turn on the air conditioning if you want, too. The rooms are quite large. Having hammocks on the porch were cool, too.

The beach is very wide and long, we walked the entire playa stretch and it is the biggest, less traveled, and almost all sand and no rocks. You can walk out to over my head deep in water without rocks.

Tropical storm came through half way through the trip and the rain was going sideways, but the waves were really big and we had fun anyways. Employees were VERY helpful, especially Ivan in the restaurant. With a tip, they gave us whatever we wanted, or went out to find it for us.

The resort is owned by a German family that lives in the Yucatan. There are very expensive condos being built behind the playa section ($280,000 +) and I think they may use the public portion of the beach... (remember, no beach in Mexico is actually private, the actual part with the water touching the beach is public, no matter where you go). We rented bikes and didn't like them, they were new but the seats broke constantly and everyone up town wanted to steal them.

Happy hour is good, 2 x 1 drinks. Breakfast is a combo of a buffet with fresh fruits, breads, baked goods, cerals, etc. You can also order hot items special like scrambled eggs, omlets, french toast, etc. Breakfast was the best. We tried supper a couple of nights, was OK but need more selections.

Service is TOP NOTCH. You won't find better, more honest service anywhere. These people like where they work and it shows. Please tip them. You will receive conserige-type service if you do. Saw a lot of europeans didn't tip. Probably about 20% americans and the rest from Europe.

Definately would go back. They made it very memorable, even through a couple days of a tropical storm.

Don't hesitate. Don't AI. But do enjoy yourselves.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank gritz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2005

Absolutely loved this place. It is our favorite Mexican destination. We even wanted to get married there, unfortunately it was unavailable during high season, so we spent our honeymoon there instead. The inclusive breakfast and dinner are good - don't forget to order the huevos rancheros, with extra crispy tortillas, from our favorite waiter Miguel. Also don't miss the Fiesta Americana on Sunday nights.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Getaway34689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews