We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Want to Go Back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I Want to Go Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

There is so much to love about Mahekal! It was absolutely the perfect place for my husband and I to unwind on our honeymoon. Here are a few things:

- location of the hotel is perfect because it's right on the beach we had a an oceanfront room (no. 27) which meant our balcony was 30 ft away from the ocean. It was off to the side so we still enjoyed the privacy

- the resort itself is also within the city of Playa Del Carmen which meant we got to walk into the city and enjoy the tourist strip or actually explore what the rest of the city was like. A lot of all inclusive resorts are located in artificial "resort" area (basically gated communities) so you miss out on a lot of authentic Mexican city living and people.

- the food was extraordinary. the dinners were 1/3 buffet (always with different food), and then 2/3 of the time you could choose one of 5 options off of a menu with a started buffet. We were there for 2 weeks and we never had the same menu twice!

the breakfasts were also incredible. I ATE SO MUCH!

- The staff was really great, smiling, friendly, always accommodating. Excellent service.

- we liked that there was no internet, TV or phones in our room. This may not be for everyone, but we really got to get away from everything because of this.

GO HERE! We want to go back!

Room Tip: we loved 27Playa oceanfront but also private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank missmariek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,561
    615
    155
    71
    51
See reviews for
676
1,221
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We loved our stay at Mahekal. Staff was very friendly, rooms were nice, food was delicious (we preferred lunch to dinner). Beach is fantastic - rooms are steps from the beach. Ignacio (concierge) did a great job recommending excursions and booking them for us. Our A/C didn't work and I had to ask a few times before the problem was recognized and we moved rooms, but that wasn't a big issue.
Great location - you can walk into Playa to try different bars and restaurants. Great happy hour and fantastic waitstaff in the restaurant!
This is a laid back resort, no phones or TV's but a huge Mac in the lobby that is available to use. Unplug and enjoy!
We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmzpittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear dmzpittsburgh,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We have shared your praises with Boli (Ignacio) our Concierge, who prides himself in assisting every guest creating memorable experiences for each one.

We have made sure that the A/C you reported in your room has been checked and taken care of for our next visitors.

Unplug and enjoy is definitely our motto! We all look forward to your next visit!

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales & Marketing
Mahékal Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Linda, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

It was truly a magical experience! We loved the quality of the rooms as well as the cleanliness of all the grounds and beach. The staff went out of their way to make it a wonderful vacation for us. I would highly recommend this place for those that want a relaxing, quiet, place. The food plan was great and on the days we spent just relaxing on the beach or in our hammocks, we would just order a lunch brought out to us on the beach! We felt totally spoiled. We also loved the fact that we were not locked in to that resort only. The resort is located right on the beach and within half a block from the tourist area they call 5th avenue, which is a street about 2 miles long full of shops and restaurants. We took a day trip once and went and saw the Mayan ruins. We also took a ferry about 1 and half miles away that took us to Cozumel for the day. We rented a scooter there and rode around the island and stopped and did some snorkeling. It was great fun and not too expensive. We loved the Mahekal Beach Resort and would not change a thing!!!! It was all we expected and more!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

from the moment we arrived we only had the most luxurious , best and fastest service
Boli Goma ( concierge) is a super helpful and delightful man to deal w and the snorklin trip he organized made us super happy - dont hesitate to ask him !
we stayed in a room w a partial ocean view, located close to the bar area - all very nice except... in the last 2 days the bar got busier and we started waking up w/ some cold cigarette smell coming from thru the bathroom back window ...otherwise , PERFECTION
...the short walk to the beach, the beauty of the surrounding lush and manicured tropical gardens, the 2 pools were super clean , the superb buffets and breakfasts - a meal plan w/ 2 meals inclusive - ITS A MUST and SUPER SAVER - all amazing quality and variety - maybe the coffee quality could be better and stronger ( we are hard core about having strong coffee , what is not true from everyone) + we dined almost everyday outside , next to the beach , and ate a delich ceviche at lunch - the web site lists a fitness center , we did not see it ...
WE WILL BE BACK SOON ! and SUPER kid friendly ( next time we will bring his 5 year old )

Room Tip: next time we will ask for a room away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patbessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have this unique feeling every penny was well worth. Nothing was missing. Certainly, We was at the best place we could be while visiting Playa del Carmen.

The pictures you see in the internet get short compared with the stunning beauty of the place. The rooms are are gorgeous palapas independent one from another. They are cute, colorful, clean and very comfortable.

The place is quiet and relaxing. The employees became friends since they are aloud to interact with the guests and they do it in a respectful and very kind way. Their care and kindness are very honest.

The food is excellent. The variety and quality of the menu is fantastic. The spa is very good. We had excellent massages on the beach.

There is a place where you can paint your own souvenirs. It was fun.

Boli the concierge was very helpful to find the best tours and actives. The location is very convenient. The main restaurants, clubs and commerce are walking distance. However, there is not noise to disturb the relaxing environment you will find in the hotel.

One could think this is a romantic place for a romantic getaway. However, my teenager daughter felt same as I did: very pleased, entertained and happy for choosing Mahekal to spend our 10 days vacation. There are not Tv in the rooms! I loved it! It forces you really to embrace the nature and to enjoy personal interaction.

We bragged about our hotel to other tourists and couple of them switched their hotels for Mahekal.

Room Tip: Ocean front: better view, however... the overall experience is excellent staying at any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#31 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
7.1 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.0 km away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.8 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,149 - ₹ 30,001
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing