We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,408)
Filter reviews
3,408 results
Traveller rating
2,289
759
196
91
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,289
759
196
91
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shangri la caribe half board palapa style fuego restaurant las olas garden view breakfast and dinner las palapas palapa roof ocean front ping pong fifth avenue the penthouse infinity pool yogurt palm trees the wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,039 - 2,044 of 3,408 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great location - walk easily down to La Quinta....great beach, great pools, great bar. Kids loved the pottery/painting in the main bar every afternoon and the ping pong tables and swings at night.

Great staff, except for 1 individual at the front desk (his name escapes me, unfortunately). He was confrontational and behaved as though serving the guests was the furthest thing from his mind.

The wait staff were unbelievable - my daughters loved Alberto especially.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and i were spending a week in Mahekal for babymoon.
We were flying to Cancun with West jet and staying 6 night 7 days in Mahekal Beach Resort.
Staying from March 31, 2012 to April 6, 2012.

Room: Garden view publito which is the cheapest available :)
Quiet and clean, 2 bottle of water provided daily.

Food: Breakfast is included and choice of lunch or dinner (drink not included)
Overall experience for food is average, have a lot of room to improve.
We found the lunch is much better than dinner.

Location: really close and walking distance to everywhere since Mahekal located in center of famous 5th ave in playa.

Beach: the beach is not private but share with public. We don't have any problem for finding hut and chair. Not to worry to much though about being public, Mahekal have security guard working around the beach area, so it is very safe. During our vacation, the beach is very wavy not good for swim.

Overall:
The best thing about this hotel is the service, special thanks to Manuel and Miguel for their service during our stay. Rafael from front desk also very accommodating with our request.
But this is not your typical all inclusive type resort, but very quiet.
Still prefer all inclusive hotel with all kind of facilities such as bigger pool and more choices of food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

On April 14,2012 My son had his wedding at Mahekal Beach Resort. The Wedding planner at the hotel, Dulce Pazos, was so helpful and guided them through each detail. The ceremony took place at the hotel's private beach, which was sooo romantic, with a beautiful canopy with tropical flowers, and Rose petels in the sand. Music played in the background. The cocktail hour, after the ceremony, was poolside with great appitizers, and Mariachi music!!! The reception dinner was steak & lobster, it was delicious!!! The Wedding cake was very pretty, but it also tasted delicious!!! Everthing Dulce promised me, was taken care of, and beyond my expectations!!
I rate the hotel & Dulce a 10+++++ It made "OUR SPECIAL WEDDING" a day we will cherish forever!! All the guest's were equally impressed!!

Room Tip: The Bride & Groom had a private oceanfront beach house selected by Dulce, that was the perfect way to end the evening!!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindyk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Cindyk_11,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Mahékal on Tripadvisor. It is wonderful to hear that we made your sons wedding a magical and memorable experience! We will share your comments and praise with Dulce who delights in pleasing all of our wedding and group guests. She understands as does all of our staff that when you select us for such a special ocassion we want it to be a lifelong memory. A wedding is a unique moment in all of our live's and Mahékal is known for creating and delivering Magical Moments!

We now look forward to celebrating your sons first anniversary or an earlier visit if possible.Come back with your friends and enjoy again!

Best regards,

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales & Marketing
Mahékal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our third stay at Mahekal in four years. Once again it was truley "Magical" as the name states. My wife and I like typically like to go to different locations in the Caribbean. However, since we went to Mahekal 4 years ago, we have struggled to steer away from it to try something new. Mahekal feels so much like a second home during the long cold winters of Wisconsin, we can hardly imagine wanting to go anywhere else. The only other time we've ever stayed at a resort more than once is Sandals in Antigua.

Accommodations are very simple, which is just the way we want it. No TV, no radio, no clock. It may be low on frills but that is what makes it so quiet and relaxing. The rooms do have air conditioning, which is totally unnecessary because there was always a perfect breeze. Although we typically stay in an ocean view room and I can see how rooms farther from the beach, where the breeze may be blocked, may need to use the A/C. Otherwise the A/C only drowns out the rhythm of the waves at night, and the songs of the birds in the morning as the sun rises. I can’t understand why you would ever want to do that.

The location is really what you pay for at Mahekal. You will not find a better stretch of beach with rooms in such close proximity to the ocean for a better price. It is on the best stretch of beach in Playa Del Carmen, and is literally a 10 minute walk to the heart of 5th Ave shopping and eating.

The staff was very professional and friendly as always. By the third day the wait staff recognizes you and knows what you like. They were always more than eager to make you happy.

Meals there are delicious, especially breakfast. We typically like to go out to town for dinner to people watch. In our past stays the dinners left a lot to be desired. However during this most recent stay the dinners were much improved - so much so that we stayed at the resort for dinner more nights than we typically do.

The landscaping is meticulous. The pair of hammocks on your balcony are a perfect touch, making a late afternoon nap before happy hour almost ritual. My only complaint is that happy hour could be extended from one hour to two.

This is not an all-inclusive mega resort, so you will not have to get up before dawn to reserve a chair by the pool or ocean. You will never feel pressure to get up and dance to some cheesy 90's one hit wonder blasting at the pool, and there are no time share salesmen or beach vendors hounding or harassing you.

This resort has such a quaint and peaceful vibe that you can't help but succumb to it charm. It has a very private and intimate ambience. As your vacation comes to an end you will feel totally rested and rejuvenated; and probably a little depressed because you’re not all that ready to leave.

Jason and Jen Hagen - Barron, WI

Room Tip: Definately pay for at least ocean view room category.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our family's 5th visit to Mahekal. It continues to be our favorite vacation place during February's school break. The location is wonderful. Contrary to some reviews, I LOVE being awakened by the birds so that I can go to the beach to watch the sunrise and look for coral pieces. Each time we manage to get great photos of the nature around us - beautiful flowers and coatis roaming around the palapas. The breakfast buffet is great (there is plenty of variety and absolutely no reason to have more food than what's being offered!) and the option to exchange dinner for lunch is a great convenience. Overall, Playa del Carmen is overly commercialized but Mahekal offers a quiet and peaceful respite from it all! Can't wait for visit #6

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElenaF963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews