We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5th visit there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #30 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our family's 5th visit to Mahekal. It continues to be our favorite vacation place during February's school break. The location is wonderful. Contrary to some reviews, I LOVE being awakened by the birds so that I can go to the beach to watch the sunrise and look for coral pieces. Each time we manage to get great photos of the nature around us - beautiful flowers and coatis roaming around the palapas. The breakfast buffet is great (there is plenty of variety and absolutely no reason to have more food than what's being offered!) and the option to exchange dinner for lunch is a great convenience. Overall, Playa del Carmen is overly commercialized but Mahekal offers a quiet and peaceful respite from it all! Can't wait for visit #6

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElenaF963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,650 of 2,881 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon in November 2011.
This was a great quiet hotel far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the 5th Avenue night clubs and bars but close enough to walk there (10 minutes).
On the beach, two pools (one right by the beach), friendly staff. (Hi Jose!!).
A must would be the beach front bungalows!
Only downside was that they only had wifi within 3 meters of the bar in the middle of the resort (not near the beach or your rooms), and the bar closes at 11pm...on the dot!! so not much to do at the hotel after this if you are one for a late night drink.
Would definitely stay here next time!

Room Tip: Beach Front bungalow. There were some rooms that are "deluxe" which had been renovated, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarahK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This resort is beautiful, with great service and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. However I must admit that when we saw our room the first impression was one of disappointment. We stayed in one of the garden view Caribe casitas that were closest to the pool/bar. These rooms could use an update, and furthermore the location right next to the bar meant a lot of noise and people walking by all the time. A really noisy A/C also reduced the quality of sleep somewhat.

However, as soon as we walked out of room and took a walk around the resort and on the beach our initial disappointment faded - the situation and landscaping of the resort is truly wonderful, and the unfailingly friendly attitude and service mindedness of the staff helps create a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.

The location of the resort is good - far enough from the tourist circus, but close enough to walk if one wants to - shame about the proximity to Mamita's beach club though. The blasting music was a nuisance,especially late evenings. Despite this drawback it's very likely I would choose Mahekal again if I were to return to PDC.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Caribe section, try to get an upper-level room away from the Casa Club bar and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Mahekal is a very special place and If you are looking for an all Americanized vacation with over crowded facilties and a party atmosphere ...do not go here as you will be dissappointed.
Mahekal is a very beautiful, low-key, personalized resort that caters to the traveler wanting an auethentic and memorable Mexican vacation. There are no crowds and you are free to do what you want, when you want. Exactly what a vacation should be.

The service is top notch! The entire staff is friendly, professional and extremely hard-working. Special Thanks go out to all staff for making our trip memorable and comfortable.

Meals are incredibly prepared and VERY delicious. Every night was of a different theme and was promoted very well. The onsite dining facilities are comfortable and magical, especially the evening dinners. Again, the waitstaff is top notch and treat the clientele like royality! Breakfasts are plentiful with a wide range of buffet items (The fresh fruit was so plentiful and delecious) and prepared to order dishes (try the egg burritos). During the afternoon, they have snack items at the Aventura pool. We fell in love with the nachos and were exactly what we needed with a few margaritas after spending some time in the sun. Chances are that you will develop a freindship with the waitstaff and will look for them at mealtime. Rogelio went out of his way for us and for that, A special Thank You to him!

The resort facilites are beautiful.The grounds, gardens, pools and common areas are all meticulously kept clean and are tropically landsaped. The abundance of palm trees on the property give it that special tropical and secluded feeling that cannot compare with the concrete all-inclusive resorts down the beach.

The rooms are your very own beach cabana. The beds were very comfortable in our opinion, unlike the many other reviews stated, and actually quite comfortable. Air conditioning and celing fans keep the room cool and comfortable even when the temperature was 90 F. Tiled showers with the rainshower heads are wonderful and we never had any problem with water pressure or water temperature. The bath amenities are fantastic, especially the cocoa soap. Bath towels are refreshed daily, if requested, and we always had enough towels and washcloths. Each day found new towel art on our bed. We opted for a refrigerator (extra charge) to keep our water and cervezas cold and also opted for a fruit basket which made it easy for a snack in between meals. Housekeeping was very thourough in the daily cleaning of our room and left it "smelling" clean.

The Beach is by far the best stretch of sand and blue water in Playa. Many locals also use this area which also gave it a special flavor as many families came and shared time together, especially during the weekend. Nice to see local parents engage in family activities with their children on the beach. Beach loungers and Palapas are plentiful as are beach towels. Resort Security does a nice job patroling the beach as well as the Lifegaurds.

Mahekal is truly a magical place and I hope it never loses it's charm, because they truly have retained something the other resorts lost a long time ago. Our vacation was a very special and memorable one which stemmed from making the choice of staying at Mahekal.....We will be back! I highly recommend Mahekal Beach Resort!

Viva Mahekal and Viva Mexico!

Room Tip: There are many different room types to choose from. We had an oceanview room on the Playa side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparkyspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I had been here before and took four other couples this time. We all stayed in the Cabanas on the beach which I would highly recommend. Resort is close enough to town to walk. This is not a 5star type resort but you won't care because it is beautiful, laid back, and an experience you will remember the rest of your life. I will be going back for my third visit at some point.

Room Tip: Any beach cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathanbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Nathanbs,

We thank you for your preference and for posting your experience on Tripadvisor. We are really happy to know that you and your wife have been visiting us repeatedly and that you brought more friends to join you and share the pleasures of Mahékal. This is what we are all about, delighting in the company of your spouse, family and friends with warm and friendly service from our staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards from sunny Playa del Carmen!

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales & Marketing
Mahékal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,633 reviews
7 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,278 reviews
0.9 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,051 reviews
0.6 km away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
624 reviews
0.8 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 13,685 - ₹ 31,567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing