We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,367)
Filter reviews
3,367 results
Traveller rating
2,250
758
195
91
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,250
758
195
91
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshangri la caribehalf boardpalapa stylefuego restaurantlas olasgarden viewbreakfast and dinnerlas palapaspalapa roofocean frontping pongfifth avenuethe penthouseinfinity poolyogurtpalm treesthe wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,010 - 2,015 of 3,367 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon in November 2011.
This was a great quiet hotel far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the 5th Avenue night clubs and bars but close enough to walk there (10 minutes).
On the beach, two pools (one right by the beach), friendly staff. (Hi Jose!!).
A must would be the beach front bungalows!
Only downside was that they only had wifi within 3 meters of the bar in the middle of the resort (not near the beach or your rooms), and the bar closes at 11pm...on the dot!! so not much to do at the hotel after this if you are one for a late night drink.
Would definitely stay here next time!

Room Tip: Beach Front bungalow. There were some rooms that are "deluxe" which had been renovated, and others had not. Definitely go the renovated rooms. All rooms seemed fine though (we stayed in an older room first 2 nights which was fine)
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarahK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This resort is beautiful, with great service and a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. However I must admit that when we saw our room the first impression was one of disappointment. We stayed in one of the garden view Caribe casitas that were closest to the pool/bar. These rooms could use an update, and furthermore the location right next to the bar meant a lot of noise and people walking by all the time. A really noisy A/C also reduced the quality of sleep somewhat.

However, as soon as we walked out of room and took a walk around the resort and on the beach our initial disappointment faded - the situation and landscaping of the resort is truly wonderful, and the unfailingly friendly attitude and service mindedness of the staff helps create a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.

The location of the resort is good - far enough from the tourist circus, but close enough to walk if one wants to - shame about the proximity to Mamita's beach club though. The blasting music was a nuisance,especially late evenings. Despite this drawback it's very likely I would choose Mahekal again if I were to return to PDC.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Caribe section, try to get an upper-level room away from the Casa Club bar and pool, for increased privacy and less noice.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Mahekal is a very special place and If you are looking for an all Americanized vacation with over crowded facilties and a party atmosphere ...do not go here as you will be dissappointed.
Mahekal is a very beautiful, low-key, personalized resort that caters to the traveler wanting an auethentic and memorable Mexican vacation. There are no crowds and you are free to do what you want, when you want. Exactly what a vacation should be.

The service is top notch! The entire staff is friendly, professional and extremely hard-working. Special Thanks go out to all staff for making our trip memorable and comfortable.

Meals are incredibly prepared and VERY delicious. Every night was of a different theme and was promoted very well. The onsite dining facilities are comfortable and magical, especially the evening dinners. Again, the waitstaff is top notch and treat the clientele like royality! Breakfasts are plentiful with a wide range of buffet items (The fresh fruit was so plentiful and delecious) and prepared to order dishes (try the egg burritos). During the afternoon, they have snack items at the Aventura pool. We fell in love with the nachos and were exactly what we needed with a few margaritas after spending some time in the sun. Chances are that you will develop a freindship with the waitstaff and will look for them at mealtime. Rogelio went out of his way for us and for that, A special Thank You to him!

The resort facilites are beautiful.The grounds, gardens, pools and common areas are all meticulously kept clean and are tropically landsaped. The abundance of palm trees on the property give it that special tropical and secluded feeling that cannot compare with the concrete all-inclusive resorts down the beach.

The rooms are your very own beach cabana. The beds were very comfortable in our opinion, unlike the many other reviews stated, and actually quite comfortable. Air conditioning and celing fans keep the room cool and comfortable even when the temperature was 90 F. Tiled showers with the rainshower heads are wonderful and we never had any problem with water pressure or water temperature. The bath amenities are fantastic, especially the cocoa soap. Bath towels are refreshed daily, if requested, and we always had enough towels and washcloths. Each day found new towel art on our bed. We opted for a refrigerator (extra charge) to keep our water and cervezas cold and also opted for a fruit basket which made it easy for a snack in between meals. Housekeeping was very thourough in the daily cleaning of our room and left it "smelling" clean.

The Beach is by far the best stretch of sand and blue water in Playa. Many locals also use this area which also gave it a special flavor as many families came and shared time together, especially during the weekend. Nice to see local parents engage in family activities with their children on the beach. Beach loungers and Palapas are plentiful as are beach towels. Resort Security does a nice job patroling the beach as well as the Lifegaurds.

Mahekal is truly a magical place and I hope it never loses it's charm, because they truly have retained something the other resorts lost a long time ago. Our vacation was a very special and memorable one which stemmed from making the choice of staying at Mahekal.....We will be back! I highly recommend Mahekal Beach Resort!

Viva Mahekal and Viva Mexico!

Room Tip: There are many different room types to choose from. We had an oceanview room on the Playa side and we enjoyed it immensely.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparkyspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I had been here before and took four other couples this time. We all stayed in the Cabanas on the beach which I would highly recommend. Resort is close enough to town to walk. This is not a 5star type resort but you won't care because it is beautiful, laid back, and an experience you will remember the rest of your life. I will be going back for my third visit at some point.

Room Tip: Any beach cabana.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathanbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Nathanbs,

We thank you for your preference and for posting your experience on Tripadvisor. We are really happy to know that you and your wife have been visiting us repeatedly and that you brought more friends to join you and share the pleasures of Mahékal. This is what we are all about, delighting in the company of your spouse, family and friends with warm and friendly service from our staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards from sunny Playa del Carmen!

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales & Marketing
Mahékal Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Mahekal it’s a great place to stay when you want to give your brain and body a break from the electronic world. If you can’t stay away from your computer, TV or alarm clock then this is not the place for you.
The location of this place is excellent as it’s at the end of a busy strip where vendors could really get annoying after a week.
The hotel itself is nice in a rustic way. It is located on the sand and the best part is the hammocks right outside the room overlooking the ocean….just beautiful!
I won’t recommend the restaurant for dinner because, neither the food or the wine was good. Your best bet would be a margarita. The breakfast on the other hand was great. Fantastic huevos rancheros and fresh fruit. A step from our hotel was a great place to eat called la Cueva de Chango -- amazing food, great prices and ambiance!!! There is also a Pizza Piola across the street. If you have time get a massage at the palapas, it’s just absolutely amazing when you can hear the ocean at the same time you are being treated.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4theluvoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear 4theluvoflife,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you certainly understood and enjoyed what Mahékal is all about, disconnecting from everyday routines to enjoy the beauty of nature and relaxing with family and old and new friends in a warm and friendly environment.

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations in terms of our meals, which are designed to meet all different tastes. Hopefully for your next visit you will find something to your liking.

We all look forward to seeing you again!

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales and Marketing
Mahékal Beach REsort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews