We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your bills.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Check your bills.”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Love Mahekal, we returned for our second visit, It was going to be our Vacation Destination.
The staff overall Wonderful, Manuel, Alberto, Happy hour crew. We just had the best and most relaxing trip.

We checked out ,had a cab waiting didn't check our bill at checkout. Got home and looked and found to have charged for 4 lunches.(1048.00 pecos). We had told girl at checkin we would
being having lunch the rest of the week. We didn't have dinner any of those evening. Contacted
Front end manager 0n 2/19 let him know and requested credit. Senor Oswaldo Jiminez has yet to confirm credit 2/24. He should take notes from his great staff on Customer Service

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view, its incrediable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,712
    647
    167
    74
    53
See reviews for
753
1,309
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a wonderful week here recently. The staff were all so friendly and kept a high standard. We did not want "all the extras " that some hotels provide and found the location , near the main shopping street, excellent. Would go back again.

Room Tip: You pay more for sea view and ther are a few roms right on the beach security seems good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, ND
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I discovered Mahekal when it was named, "Shangri-La Caribe" and no matter the name, this resort is fantastic and one-of-a-kind! We have stayed at this resort several times with just the two of us, with our boys and with other couples. Every time seems to be better than the last, if that's possible.

Our last visit was in early December with friends and we had one of the beach view bungalows. Ours was the second row from the front and right on the pathway leading to the bar. We were upgraded to this one and it had a few extra amenities and upgraded decor pieces. Outside the patio we had two large planters and in addition to the normal hammock hanging on the patio, we had some pretty little lanterns, that staff would light at night, giving a real romantic and beach vibe to our little home.

Inside the room we had two double beds, small desk and chair, two large closets, and sweet, stylish bathroom. A wooden, sliding door was the entrance to the bathroom and inside was a funky, metal mirror and wooden pegs to hang towels and clothing. It was updated and just really simple and cool.

Keep in mind, if you are a regular at a "W" hotel or "The Ritz" then this may not be for you. The bathroom is small and simple, and yes, you will have a few tiny, teeny ants once-in-awhile around the sink. It's the beach. Little guys get in and no, you will not die.

I love the chunky, wooden blinds that open up to let the fresh ocean air in and sounds of the birds. This resort has all the amenities you NEED. Nothing extra. No tvs, no radios, no clocks, no telephones...it's Heaven.

The Beach. Let's get down to business. The Beach. I think the section of beach in front of Mahekal is some of the best in Playa del Carmen. Yes, it changes. In December there were sections of the beach that were just completely gone; right up to the porches of the beach bungalows. But I bet it's already changed again. The beach is just amazing. It's the best place to relax on the chairs under a palapa and people watch. Complete relaxation. And no beach vendors to ask you to purchase something. It's awesome. You can drink, eat, sleep, read, laugh, talk, play in the ocean, love your partner, hate your partner, play frisbee or just be on this beach.

Breakfast and Dinner. I LOVE Breakfast at this resort. I've said it before, and I'll say it again,"It's my happy place." I love walking down the beach to the pool area and huge palapa breakfast room or walking down the gorgeous, tiled pathway. Either way you get to take in all the beauty of the ocean and beautiful flora and fauna of the resort. The landscaping is amazing and so gorgeous. They obviously take a tremendous amount of pride in keeping up the appearance of the grounds and it shows.

We love sitting poolside and enjoying breakfast outside. You can either order off the menu, Heuvos Motulenos is soooo good! Or you can go inside and select a nice hearty breakfast from the items they have to offer buffet style. Dry cereals, breads, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, meats, cheeses and fresh fruit juices. I think it is really good and a nice way to start the day.

The staff are all sweet, friendly and will do anything for you! I cannot say enough about all of them. They make a simple cup of coffee a real treat. I was really wistful when I enjoyed my last breakfast there, knowing that the next morning I wouldn't have the luxury of walking down the beach to have these wonderful people make my day brighter.

The Sunday night Fiesta is really good. Although we spend most of our time experiencing all that Fifth Avenue has to offer, the Sunday night is something that you should do. The array of dishes that are served are all delicious and give you a real taste of some traditional Mexican food.

Again the same wait staff are eager to make your Fiesta fun and they love to offer you a "tequila slammer" before being seated. It's cute how they watch for your reaction. We love to cheese it up and ask for another! lol

The best part of the evening is the Marache band that comes around to the tables and plays. The musicians are extremely talented and have a great sense of humor. When you get into it, they love it and get into it and it's so much fun!

Mahekal is truly a place to relax and enjoy yourself and your family. The staff are warm, welcoming and work so hard to make your vacation memorable. I am so excited that I am returning in April. Mahekal, here I come!

Room Tip: We have stayed in pretty much each type of room and they all have their pluses. I think it really i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear ChellinND

We thank you so much for taking the time to share your marvelous experience at our Mahekal Beach Resort, indeed re- named Mahekal for its magical effect on our guests. It is wonderful to know we were able to make your vacation a memorable event again. All of us here are proud to represent such a jewel as Mahékal where our goal is to please our guests. I am delighted that you enjoyed our facilities, meals, music, and beach and that we will soon see you again. Our friendly staff will be here to welcome you. I will share with them your kind words.

Thank you again for your comments and for sharing your photos. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed at many, many hotels from rock bottom to ultra spiffy. Mahekal is not spiffy by any means but it is charming, lovely and has many plusses. First, the staff are wonderful. Everyone is friendly and they were very responsive to our requests. The setting is great. We had an upstairs ocean view room which was private and the view was beautiful. The rooms are simple but adequate and the beds (or at least our bed) are very comfortable. The grounds are well maintained and very clean. I did not miss having a tv or phone at all because my idea of vacation is really getting away from the world. The beach is great and is right there. Our only quibble here is that Wifi throughout the complex, as opposed to the bar and the lobby, would be great. The location is good ... far enough away from 5th Avenue to get away from the crowds but close enough to be able to walk there easily. Breakfast and lunch are good. Unfortunately, the two times we had dinner, the food was abysmal. The entrees included in the "free" meal are very limited. You have to pay extra for premium choices. Don't waste your money! The food at dinner was not worth it. However, lunches were fresh and delicious. My husband and I both had massages which were wonderful. The bar was a lot of fun. The bar staff was very friendly and efficient. As nice as it was, I would definitely not stay here during the rainy season. The palapa roofs are not waterproof!

I was disappointed with the town, especially 5th Avenue which is one long, often tacky, tourist strip. The restaurants on the Avenue are mediocre and way overpriced. Do not bother buying any basics, such as wine, beer, tequila, etc. there as they probably cost half at the grocery store or Wallmart. There are some places to note however. The restaurant directly across the street (Origines) is very good and they had great live music at dinner. The monkey joint up the street is also very good and nicely funky. And there is a nice place at the corner of 38th and 5th to get coffee.

If you are looking for upscale luxury, glitz and lots of action, don't waste your time at Mahekal. If you want a laid back and relaxing experience, give it a try. I would definitely come back to the resort. Playa del Carmen I am not so sure about as I prefer to have authentic experiences.

Room Tip: Stay away from beach front units unless you like half the world strolling 5 feet in front of your pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nolaChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I hadn't been away without kids for 10 years. Mahekal was the perfect choice for us. We had breakfast and lunch at the hotel and we were able to explore the great dining options in Playa at night. The restaurant directly across the street, Origenes, was superb! One of the highlights of our trip. The snorkeling excursions from the hotel were very good. If your walk down the beach right past where the boats are and swim out to where the last one is, there is a fantastic reef right there. We've snorkeled in a lot of places and this was right up there with the best of them.

Breakfast was good, with limited options. Same with lunch. We ate dinner there one night and were unimpressed. Anything that we liked on the menu was "extra.".

Can't say enough about the people who work there. EVERYONE was nice. We had an ocean view room and we were glad we chose that instead of ocean front. The ocean front rooms were literally ON the beach, which is cool, but there are people laying out and walking past all day. Not much privacy. The rooms are simple, but comfortable. Would recommend this resort for adults more than kids.

Room Tip: 16a had an ocean view and was steps to the sand. 16b on the top would have stunning views and offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy929x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
7.0 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,745 reviews
0.9 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,339 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,405 reviews
1.0 km away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
695 reviews
4.9 km away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,722 - ₹ 25,901
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing