We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little haven in Playa!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #51 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Ire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice little haven in Playa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lovely & very helpful staff. Receptionist went out of her way to sort out an alternative hire car for us after the company we had booked with literally disappeared! Pool area is bliss. Nice separate jacuzzi in the centre. There is a little spa area by the pool also. Staff make sure that the pool loungers have towels already laid out. Really enjoyed breakfast also. We were staying on a B&B rate so the menu shows you what is included in this package but should you wish you can order anything else for a little extra. I didn't need to avail of this option though. The most gorgeous juices! The hotel is located on a perpendicular street to the main thoroghfare of Playa Del Carmen "5th Avenue" so its a short stroll to alll activities & beaches! The hotel also gives guests a small discount for sun-loungers at certain beach venues which is great. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the central pool area. Room was nice, neat and clean. A little small but then you aren't staying here during the day so that shouldn't be an issue. There is air-con and also a little balcony too. The only slight issue was some noice from the nearby CocoBongo nightclub....but nothing a good pair of earplugs didn't sort and even with that I would stay here again and would recommend it. Location, staff & service: A plus!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreMuse_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    605
    139
    56
    27
See reviews for
138
1,490
91
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Totally enjoyed the room with the private rooftop jacuzzi. Worth the extra money. Very friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojoleal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Hello Jojoleal,
On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and we hope to have the opportunity in the near future and welcome you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa.

Johanna Reside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Based on previous tripadvisor recommendations we decided to stay at this charming boutique style hotel a stones throw from 5th Avenue. We were so glad we did - we loved it. The wonderfully attentive staff to name Yani and Carlos amongst many others - went out of their way to ensure we had a lovely stay.

We booked a swim up room which was very special, enabling us to step straight into the lush courtyard pool. We required many dips in the pool and jacuzzi to keep cool so that was just perfect. Rooms were roomy with large bathrooms and a safe plus a very welcome fridge.

So close to 5th Ave and all the hustle and bustle in the centre of Playa, La Tortuga was a cool and calming oasis away from the heat. Within close proximity to many lovely restaurants and bars it was a hard choice choosing were to spend the evening and the hotel itself had a lovely restaurant of its own - again with lovely staff.

Ww wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Tortuga and would definitely return if we could.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room - and it was lovely. The swim up location made it very special and romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baytreewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaTortugaHotelandSpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Hello West Sussex!!
Thank you so much for your very kind words. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time here with us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa.
I have shared you comments with our staff and they are thrilled to bits that all their hard work is much appreciated. If you have a facebook account, you can become a fan of La Tortuga Hotel Spa and receive all updates about special events, promotions and keep in touch with your favorite staff here.
Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
Johanna Reside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

A large group of us spent 9 wonderful nights at La Tortuga.
There was an initial room mix-up which did cause some frustration for a few within the group, but alternative arrangements were eventually made which resulted in room upgrades that no-one could complain about!
Huge thanks to Carlos & Laura who were always full of assistance & advice.
Also A big thank you for making a dear friends birthday so wonderful...

If given the opportunity I would definitely stay there again.

Ps. Almost across the road is OhLaLa restaurant. It's a tiny establishment where the cooking seems to be done from the bar - no back kitchen, and besides a few bar stools all seating outside. I still dream about the seared tuna on butter soy mashed potatoes. It really is heaven on a plate!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Hello Petrovsky group ¡!
Glad to hear you all got back to Australia safe and sound. Thank you so much for taking time out and writing such kind words about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa.
I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and both Carlos and Laura are really grateful you mentioned them in your comments. We had a great time with you all, and on behalf of all staff and management we thank you for your preference.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa in the soon. Take Care and please send our love on to all the group.

Johanna Reside
la Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

La Tortuga is our favorite hotel in Playa del Carmen.
Located 10 blocks from Mamita´s beach club, or 3 blocks from Playa’s central beaches. Staying at La Tortuga you can have a palapa and sunbeds for free at Playa’s best beach club.
The rooms are excellent, the inner garden and pool are beautiful. The pool bar is great. Attention is very kind. Breakfast is also excellent. Served at El Bistro restaurant.
The thing this year, were the little details.
They gave everybody a discount at the hotel’s Restaurant El Bistró. Surprisingly the restaurant closed its doors the night we where to eat there. They told us that they were going to do some maintenance. The Hotel recommended us another fancy restaurant round the corner, very expensive, pretentious. Very different than El Bistró.
We asked if the next day they were going to serve breakfast there and the answer was Yes! End of story, the problem was not maintenance, but business trouble between partners. El Bistró opened a few days later for dinner again. We missed it since we were leaving. We never could use the discount.

Some employees were complaining about layoffs, etc. First time it happens in 4 times we stayed there since 2005
If you want to maintain the reputation never lower your defense.
All in all is a great place to go. You won’t feel disappointed

Room Tip: Deluxe pool rooms are worth the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationeer999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear valued client,
Thank you so much for taking time and writing about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. I am extremely happy to hear that you are recommending our Boutique Hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us, and I would like to take this opportunity and reassure you that El Bistro Restaurant was closed for a few nights and the reason for this was due to urgent Maintenance.
I am sorry to hear that you didn’t get the chance to take advantage of our 25% discount in the restaurant which is given to all of our clients upon arrival to the hotel. This discount is to use against your first evening meal in el Bistro and I would like to offer you on your next visit to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa an extra 25% discount card so you can enjoy twice over our executive chef’s new gourmet cuisine.
As being one of our repeat clients, you will agree with me when I say that we are always looking to improve and better our service to exceed all expectations of our guests.
Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.4 km away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.4 km away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Property: La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,022 - ₹ 13,353
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium, meeting facilities,ice machine, water treadmill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing