We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 327
US$ 285
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 288
US$ 281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 689
US$ 669
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 656
US$ 506
BlueBay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 631
US$ 463
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 225
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 865
US$ 463
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 1,076
US$ 1,004
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 1,245
US$ 1,099
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 1,033
US$ 551
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,472)
Filter reviews
2,472 results
Traveller rating
1,577
653
154
57
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,577
653
154
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up roomrooftop jacuzzicomo comobeach clubincluded breakfast isattached restaurantboutique hotelcoco bongostandard roomsun deckpool areajunior suitehot tubevery morningshort walk to the beachour honeymoonfifth avenue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
834 - 839 of 2,472 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our Best Vacation ever!
We have been vacating in Mexico for the past 25 years. Last year, while going to the airport we picked up a La Tortuga hotel & Spa and they raved about their trip. We thought we would give it a try. The vacation was a advertised. Everything first class- the staff made us feel welcome and went that extra mile to make sure the experience would not be soon forgotten. We are looking forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards

Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This little hotel is in the best location 1block off of 5th ave. If you are wanting to stay right in playa del carmen this is the hotel. close to the restarants,shops and party, but far enough away to rest and relax when you want to. We have stayed at the royal in playa and it is very nice and on the beach however i would rank this hotel right up there with that 5star resort. each room has its own private belcony. The beds are super comfortable, the pool in kept amazingly clean, staff are unbelievably helpful if you ask for anything. free awesome breakfast (lots of choices) will keep you full for most of the day. I am very glad we found this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We read all the Trip A. Reviews and had high expectations but the hotel and Playa exceeded all.
Playa is cleaner, more vibrant and has the best restaurants and beaches we have seen in all of Mexico, we have been coming for over 30 years. We stayed 4 nights in the Junior Suite with the jacuzzi in the room, very quiet, our room had a humidifier which created very pleasant white noise, never heard music from Bongo.
BRECKFAST--- was very good with lots of variety, I sampled everything but my wife ate the Maya breakfast and after one try she had it every day, loved it.
POOL---- was great, quiet and cool, not as cold as other reviews mentioned, had some wine and relaxed.
INTERIOR AND GROUNDS---- of the hotel is quiet and relaxing, staff is always working cleaning the grounds, one man was getting leaves out of the pool all the time we were there.
LOCATION---- is the best, one block off 5 th avenue and 3 block from the beach.
BEACH----was clean and had lots of walk up bars, Indio was a little stuffy and had a European flair.
We liked Zensi, food was great as was the people watching.
We loved walking thru the hundreds of curio stores, OXXO is on the same block as the hotel and we went for sodas and beer, its like a 7-11, very convenient.
HAWKERS----have a irritating gimmick of saying 'Hi good to see you again', like they have talked to you before or on other trips, its just a gimmick to get you talking, most are after Condo Tours which should be avoided at all costs.
AIRPORT SERVICE----we used the hotel service, they were on time, van was clean and the trip took about 45-50 minutes door to door, which is much better than we thought. Cost was 95$US total for round-trip for two people, not a bad price at all.
STAFF----during the day was helpful but did not seem to know what was going on after dark nor did they give us any decent restaurant recommendations, night guys were much better.
SECURITY---always a rent a cop at the front door, 24 hours, not shady characters ever wandered on the property. The streets after dark had lots of local cops but they seemed to be more professional and better equipped than in other parts of Mexico, seemed very safe.

Well after all that we came home and made reservations for next year, we have a handicapped Daughter and only get one trip a year and for us to return the same place is a very high complement to Playa and La Tortuga.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richardandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at La Tortuga. The hotel was very stylish and clean and the staff was pretty helpful. We booked the suite with the jacuzzi on the roof top, had a view of the pool and spent a few evenings reading on our balcony which overlooked the pool and restaurant. The food at the hotel was great, we had to force ourselves to leave the property so we could try different restaurants, but preferred to eat at the hotel (crab highly recommended).
The hotel is a block or 2 away from the best beach and steps away from great bars and restaurants. We loved our stay and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBella27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards
Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We had our honeymoon at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa and everything was awesome! From the front desk to the maid, everybody is pleased to have you there. Food was awesome at the restaurant and breakfast was just delicious! The spa services are just to die for!! Now we are looking to return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Ask for suite with jaccuzzi!!!! Awesome
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 628lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hello Lizzie,
On behalf of all staff and management at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and that we helped to make your Honeymoon such a memorable one.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Johanna Reside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews