We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, great location, good food, OK room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #53 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I felt very welcome at La Tortuga, and very much liked that it was close to everything - Avenida 5 and the beach - without being in the middle of the noise. Breakfast and WiFi Internet access were included in the price. Parking in the nearby garage was $10. (General advice: don't even *think* about staying in a hotel on Avenida 5 unless you want 24/7 action and noise).

My room was just OK, considering the room rate. I would have liked to have a chair. There's a lot on the plus side, though. The room was clean, the air conditioning worked, there was enough hot water, and the bathroom amenities were good. The bed was too soft for my liking, but that's a matter of personal taste.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluevoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,375)
There are newer reviews for La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 825 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at the La Tortuga Hotel. It is very convenient to 5th Avenue where all the bars and shopping occurs. Its 1/2 block walk to 5th Ave. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant had specials each day. The staff remembers the guests names. The bartenders are very friendly and willing to help you in any way possible. Booked several tours with their front desk. The tours were exactly as they described.

The housekeeping dept. had a surprise for us each day: the towels were always arranged in a different way each day on the bed. They were a variety of animals or other creative displays. It was a lot of fun walking into the room each day.

Room Tip: On 5th Avenue, be sure to stop at the bar with swings outside. Explore around as each bar has a dif...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manusod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at La Tortuga. We stayed in a junior suite with a king size bed, small balcony, and in-bathroom jacuzzi. The hotel is located 1 block from 5th avenue, which makes it nice and quiet but still puts you next to all the restaurants and shopping with a short walk to the beach. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant is included and is good. The courtyard/pool area is very nicely landscaped and maintained. The pool is completely shaded, which was good for us (we used it when we wanted to escape the sun at the beach), but this may not appeal to all guests. The hotel does not have its own beach but you can use Mamita's beach club for free (we were told, but did not try because it looked crowded) or Ziggy Beach club, where 200 pesos per person gets you beach loungers for the day, and this fee counts towards any drinks or food ordered from the club. We also spent a day at the beach at La Tortuga's sister hotel in Tulum, Cabanas, Tulum, where we were warmly welcomed "home" with complimentary welcome drinks and excellent service. The staff was great and our room was cleaned thoroughly every day. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in Playa Del Carmen We loved the location and didn't have a problem with too much notice we had a swim up room which was very relaxing. Alfredo was the person who got us settled into our room and was always available with a big smile he even gave us a recommendation to eat at El Fogon as we wanted some local food The breakfast was amazing and Jose was on top of things all in all a great stay and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankenewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear valued Guest,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking a minute to write about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you are recommending our boutique hotel, and that you and your family had such a delightful and memorable stay.
We take great pride in the fact that our customer service and high standards has become our trademark and has gathered us at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa a standout choice when compared to other hotels in the area.
We welcome and value our customer comments as they are what help us to keep making changes within the hotel to grow, obtain and achieve our high quality standards and customer care.
I have shared your comments with our staff and they are grateful for your kind positive words. Once again, thank you and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Overall our stay was very pleasant, however we came with a somewhat higher expectation based on the numerous times where La Tortuga was ranked number one on TripAdvisor, and were a little disappointed based on that expectation.

High Points – Front Desk staff and their responsiveness. Breakfasts. Tranquil atmosphere. Proximity to best restaurants, shopping, and beach. Lounging areas. Lush landscaping. Staff is always cleaning, especailly the pool. Value for the price compared with the all-inclusives and other boutiques in the area (when you book ahead).

Low Points – Smallish Jr. Suite and storage so you live out of your suitcase. Small bathroom. Musty air conditioning smell (needed to burn incense). Murky hot tub water. Some older, frayed, towels. Problems getting wash cloths every day. Little to no sun by the pool. Could use some sprucing up externally – paint, a few holes in thatched roofs over balconies and walkways.

Would I stay there again or recommend to a friend? Yes, but I might also try some place else first.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLuCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cris M, Director of Sales at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear guests, we would like to thank you for your feedback. We share every single comment with all our staff and we love to see that staff and attitude is always something to be noted. Our customers' comments have helped us in the main decisions of our hotel. At present we are implementing a detailed service to all our a/a units, checking towels and renewing all the palapa roofs - we have to do this one at a time, since we need to access rooms and we cannot do it if we have guests inhouse. Yes, we have many trees in the pool area - we made the decision to save the original trees because they are beautiful and provide good shade for the upcoming hot months. The solarium just a few steps up from the pool receives sun all day.

. Please keep the high expectations on service, we will do our best to fulfill them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,481 reviews
0.3 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,508 reviews
0.3 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#86 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
847 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
852 reviews
1.7 km away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#37 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Address: 10th Avenue between 12th and 14th Street North, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 3,870 - ₹ 15,416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing