We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 299
US$ 276
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 310
US$ 271
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 262
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 422
US$ 372
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 581
US$ 295
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 326/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 113
US$ 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 626
US$ 344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 536
US$ 137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 622
US$ 608
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
US$ 615
US$ 599
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
518
63
13
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
63
13
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmayan restaurantdiamond conciergepool conciergedavid rubioluna loungeitalian restaurantdel marlobby barawe spachef's dinnervacation plannersmo mo no hanapalace memberschef rubenpaddle board yogaaqua barresort credit
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Still fantastic! Re painted and reappointed but not a lot of change - which is ok. Hard to improve on perfection. This is our first visit back since rehab.

The staff is the best. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant staff and the membership representative were friendly, attentive, and professional.

Absolutely no concern about safety. Made numerous shopping trips down 5th Ave. Signs of security occasionally which is what you would hope.

Special recognition to Ignacio the lifeguard who always made sure we had an umbrella, Dionicio, Sotero, and Israel at breakfast, and Perla at the pool and beach. Always there and always friendly.

The highest praise I reserve for Carmen, the assistant manager who always goes WAY out of her way to accommodate us. In this case, our entire family - all 11 of us! Fabulous rooms and one of the biggest reasons we return.

Also for Abigail, our membership rep that puts up with all our requests for trips, spa visits, and the rest. She is absolutely a cherished friend in addition to being the consummate professional. I don’t understand how she can always be so happy!

Thanks Playacar Palace for providing our family with such a fabulous vacation. We’ll be back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Walter F,

We are sincerely pleased to read that your experience with us was fantastic and that we certainly provided a vacation to remember.

Thank you for highlighting the grandness of our Staff. Nothing is more rewarding for us than knowing your visit was wonderful and that our team made the best of your visit in exceeding your expectations. Thank you so much for providing the names of these fantastic persons, they are the true asset to the company!

It is wonderful to know you will be coming back for more incredible experiences.

We look forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We are Palace members and so we knew we would have a great week. However this was different and we left feeling like we were leaving our family. We can't wait to go back.

Our diamond concierge was wonderful - Paola - everything was right on schedule. Even before our trip. She checked on us routinely as did her colleague Constanza. They were terrific. We have never had such personalized service.

Our drivers to the hotel were professional and helpful, one of which was Fernando.

Spa was terrific and everyone so nice - Yasmin, Lucelli (twice), Isidra, Virginia. All took care of me.

Pool bar - we never felt like we were forgotten - Perla, Josefina, Sylvia, Reyna all terrific. Ubel our pool concierge always kept us in the shade and had our towels ready on the chairs. Thanks so much!

The servers in main restaurant also great - dionicio (who made special lattes for our kids), porfirio, Erick, Jesenia. Thanks for the great service.

Our lobby bar servers: Paulina and Yvonne. Always taking care of us in the show and luna lounge.

The entertainment staff: Matija, Fania, Cain. You guys are so full of energy and thanks for keeping us occupied!!

Laura was a great person to do our tequila tasting, very knowledgeable and friendly.

Carlos is a great sommelier and did a great wine tasting for us.

Baltazar and Rafael were great servers in Bocelli restaurant.

Carmen served us for our special dinner, just us, by the pool, despite the wind!

And finally our luggage handlers: manuel, carlin, marco and leo; wendy with security.

And there are so many more unnamed that made our week terrific - thank you all and keep up the good work!

We miss you all already!!

Room Tip: ocean view preferable
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rupakitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear rupakitchens,

It is heart melting to receive this kind of words from you, as a loyal guest who has trusted in the quality of Palace Resorts throughout the years it is a big reward to learn that your experience was amazing, all the staff works hard in order to provide you with the best possible service.

Thank you for your kind words and for mentioning the names of the staff who has exceed your expectations with an impressive customers service, and above all, thank you for have become part of the Palace Family.

We all look forward to your next visit to your home away from home.

Cordially,
D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I spent a week at Playacar Palace with my friend in February and had a wonderful time! Though this was only my second trip to Playacar it was a delightful surprise to find that several staff members remembered me! Among them was the friendly and funny Paola (Diamond Concierge) who tells the best stories, and the ever-smiling face of Francis (a Food and Beverage manage, I think), who greeted and talked with us every time we visited Café del Mar. Our Concierge, Constanza, did an awesome job of helping us organize our week! She set up two delightful wine pairing dinners for us (Thanks to the Sommelier, Carlos!) and a Tequila tasting with Laura (She’s great and that was a very cool experience!) and made sure our entire trip went smoothly! The Chef’s Dinner was my favorite of all the ones I’ve been to at Palace’s resorts. The staff at Playacar really make you feel welcome and are a big part of what keep me going back!

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank PomMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear PomMom4,

Thank you for sharing how wonderful has been your holiday and for letting us know that the Staff was the highlight of your vacation where you were truly impressed by the service provided that exceeded your expectations, especially the Food and Beverage department. Your comments have been shared with our staff and this will motivate them on continue providing amazing holidays for our valuable guests such as you are.

We look forward to your next visit!

Cordially,

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We are leaving tomorrow after a 7 night stay and have been very pleased (even bought into a membership). Staff is very friendly and the service is excellent. Only complaint is having to claim seats by the pool early by putting towels down and many seats aren't really occupied much of the day. All the staff was great, but we had particularly great interactions with Silvia (pool waitress), Francisco at the swim up bar (remembered my name from day one), Jessica who helped arrange our hotel credits, Antonio at the Italian restaurant (great filet and ribeye there), and Xiomara and Fernanda in the kids club who engaged with our kids in the pool and the kids club itself. And Natalie who helped us before we arrived and checking in. And Benito at the snack bar has a great sense of humor. Really everyone has been great and we can't wait to return. This resort is relatively small and a good pace for us. If you want a relaxed family vacation, pick this resort. The spa was great and very accommodating as well!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Erik F,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, It is an honor to be worthy of many kind descriptions and for joining the Palace Resorts family. Thank you for your preference and for describing the fantastic amenities and services, including the Italian restaurant, the newly enhanced Spa at the Kids Club for your little ones, the staff at the pool and also the luxurious and comfortable accommodations.

Thank you as well for recommending us! We cannot wait for your next visit!

Cordially,

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

This Resort is TOP NOTCH in every way. The service was wonderful at all times. The FOOD delicious . Perla and Daniela on the beach serving us, they were both wonderful. So friendly and kind and helpful. The resort is not big, but we like that. ALL of the restaurants were awesome and the drinks too. Do not miss the spa. \it is fantastic.

Room Tip: Get a room right on the beach!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siacono09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_RivieraZone, Gerente at Playacar Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear siacono09,

Thank you so much for making us part of your holidays! It is an honor for us to be selected as the ideal place for enjoying an amazing vacation experience. We sincerely hope this is not the last time we have the honor of welcoming you and, as we always say, it is a pleasure to exceed your expectations!

Cordially,

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews