We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome, wonderful, amazing....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #18 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome, wonderful, amazing....”
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Staff and service was unbelievable! Asian and Italian restaurants were upscale and felt like I was in another world....

Beach front was wonderful and waters were amazing. Room and bed was so comfy and always room around the pool and the beach.

So close to Playa del Carmen...Which was great!

I would definitely come back!

My only regret was that we did not transfer here earlier from the Moon Palace!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickZ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,167
    791
    213
    66
    39
See reviews for
1,496
1,831
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,085)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was my second visit to this resort this year. Everything was great with the exception of housekeeping! There were 4 in the room and everyday we had to ask for towels,etc. for the supplies were for only 2 guest. The location is fabulous and close to the ferry to Cozumel.
Food in all the restaurants was very good and the service was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This place was AWESOME. I will definitely return.
Travelled ithe a family of 4. (2 kids age 6 and 8.)

Positives:
1) Service = 100%
2) Food = 100%
3) Room, bed was comfortable, jacuzzi in the room, clean and renovated.
4) not too noisy, just the right mix of fun activities and relaxation around the pool.
5) Beach; white sand, clear blue calm ocean.
6) Beach chairs and umbrellas for everyone.
7) If you want to have lunch on the beach waiters will cater.
8) 1 minute walk from Playa del Carmen 5th avenue ( restaurant shops clubs nightlife )

Negatives:

Couldn't really find any that are worth mentioning. this place was fabulous.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for an Ocean view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I got married at Playacar Palace June 26, and it was an awesome experience. We stayed at the resort June 21st-June 30th. There was a total of 15 of us and everyone loved it and would totally go back. We booked our vacation through Melissa at beach bum Vacations (melissa@beachbumvacations.com) and she really took care of us, she visited a ton of resorts in Mexico and this was the one she recommended to get married at. We had so many questions especially since we were getting married there, and had never been to Playa del Carmen. Melissa was a joy to work with and easy to get a hold of. We must of emailed her a 100 questions and she was always quick to reply back and always had answers and suggestions. She made the whole trip easy, we will definately be booking through her in the future.

The resort was absolutely beautiful! It's a smaller resort so it was so much more intimate. Since there was a group of us, it made it much easier to coordinate things, and it was easy to find people. We had a honeymoon suite on the ground floor right on the beach looking out at the ocean. We had a huge private deck with table and chairs and a double sun bed. It was so nice to go out and have coffee in the morning and just take it all in. All the rooms are stocked with liquor and beer and were always stocked daily. The resort has 24-hour room service wich was nice, so we took advantage of that quite often. The air conditioner in the room worked really well which was much needed since it's so warm and humid this time of year. Our room was always cleaned and looked like new whenever we'd return from being out and about. The overall cleanliness at the resort is amazing. They have so many staff and they're always going out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.

I had read reviews saying that since it's an all-inclusive resort, the food isn't as good. Well I totally disagree. There are only 3 restaruants, and they were all really good. The buffet restaruant was actually my favorite, they do a good job of changing up the food. The Italian restaraunt was really good also, it always felt good to get dressed up and meet there for dinner. The Asian restaraunt was 3rd on my list, I really liked their pad thai and ordered it a few times. They also have a grill area outside by the pool that you can order from which was nice and quick. The pool is where we spent most of our time, we thought because they only have 1 large pool that it would be really crowded, but it never was. The pool was beautiful and super clean. The service at the pool was great, the staff would always remember what my favorite drinks were. It was always fun bellying up to the pool bar and sitting on the bar stools which are in the water. The drinks were plenty strong and they had a lot of top-shelf liquors. They would have planned activities at the pool and on the beach which I thought would be annoying, but they totally weren't. A lot of people would actually participate and it was quite interesting and entertaining to watch. Another nice thing about it being a small resort is that you can pretty much get to anywhere in the resort within a couple minutes. The buffet restaraunt is right by the pool which was really conveniant. The biggest perk of the resort is its LOCATION. The resort is located right by the ferry, which will take you to Cozumel, about a 30-40 minute trip. One of my favorite days was when we took the ferry to Cozumel and went to the sister resort Cozumel Palace, which was also breathtaking. It was so nice to be able to walk right into the resort with no questions asked. The food there was just as good. This resort doesn't have a beach but the pool sits just up over the oceans edge and over looks it. They have a large area that you can snorkle in which we did, and it was a blast. You can get equipment right there at the pool. This trip is a must! The other awesome benefit of its location is that you're less than a 5 minute walk to 5th avenue. We went there 3 different days to walk the town, shopping, and drinks/food. You just have to get used to all the street vendors and shop employees trying to get you to buy their stuff. It was really annoying at first but then you just get used to it and learn to ignore them. It's just easiest to not even reply or make eye contact. My wife and I went into town 1 night by ourselves and felt safe, there were tons of poeple and tourists out until really late. I would definately not go by yourself at night though, it's just not a chance I'd take. We got married on a tuesday at 6pm, and it was a dream come true. We were first planning on getting married on the beach, but we decided to get married on the terrace which looks out over the resort and ocean. The terrace is a private setting which we liked better over the beach wedding. The wedding totally went as planned and couldn't have been better, thanks to the wedding coordinator (Yazmin). They have a lot of weddings at this resort but Yazmin made us feel like ours was the one and only. After the wedding the photographer took us around the resort, and onto the beach for pictures. We only had an hour with the photographer so we had to act quick, but that was just fine. The photos turned out great and they gave us the album before we left. This place got great wedding reviews and now I know why. I read lots of reviews of getting hit up by timeshare people but My wife and I never did. There was a couple people from our group that did but it was only once. The whole resort credit thing was difficult and seemed confusing. The biggest problem was how long it took to book something. You go sit down to book something and it seemed to take 30-45 minutes everytime, and they were always busy. It's hard to use all the credits because you can only use a set amount for certain things. My wife used as many as possible at the spa, which is about a 7 minute shuttle ride from the resort. We thought this would be a pain at first but it wasn't bad at all. A shuttle leaves like every 15 minutes.

All in all, I totally recommend this resort and I'd definately go back. We are so happy our travel agent recommended it and couldn't of been happier!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank trailblazerfan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.com, we truly appreciate the effort.

Dear trailblazerfan74

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay. Nothing is more important to us than you having a good and relaxing time here with us as we believe you should be treated like family.

I have shared your kind words with the rest of the Family who thank you very much.

We look forward to having the chance of welcoming you back at Playacar Palace

Hasta Pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our first all-inclusive resort and first trip outside US. We have nothing to complain about as far as our stay at Playacar. The layover and customs process are another story. We stayed 8 days and 7 nights and rewarded the $1500 credits. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite. It included a separate living room area, jacuzzi, covered patio, and deck. That room was amazing, nothing has compared to that room from our other trips. During our stay we did a couple things. We were able to go to the beautiful Tulum ruins, which you can not climb anymore. While on that excursion your able to go to the beach, so bring your trunks or bathing suits. The scenery, water, and sand are picture perfect. Another excursion was Xcaret, the hotel offers some type of discount. That place was awesome, but an all day type of thing. We swam the underground river...never done anything like that. Again bring your swimming gear. The last excursion we did was swim w/ dolphins (can't remember the name of place) and that is really cool. A must do, but the picture prices are ridiculous. All the details (pickup, payments, questions) for these excursions can be organized w/ the hotel staff. As far as the hotel, well its amazing. The food (restaurants and room service) was great with a little bit of exotic, local, and traditional. The drinks were cold and wet just the way we like them. This time of year the waves were calm and temperature was 70 - 80s. It rained once for like 20 minutes, but then cleared up for a prefect day. I like the fact that the large pool was a pool and not a volleyball court. You could swim up to the bar and relax. They had great entertainment every night. BEWARE they will pick you out of the crowd, but hey your on VACAY so be dangerous.We also did the romantic dinner w/ lobster tail and steak...very romantic ;-) Another cool thing about Palace Resorts is that you can go to other Palace Resorts and get the all-inclusive there. We went to Aventura Spa Palace to get a discount on an excursion and was suckered into a long presentation, but after that we got the discount and enjoyed another beautiful resort for the day. They have a cove that you can swim w/ little fish. Another Palace we visited was Cozumel Palace which is a ferry ride away. The ferry from Playacar was real short walk on the beach. At Cozumel Palace you can snorkel in the ocean, its included. The ferry is also located next to the market. It's safe and crazy (as in good). There are all these vendors, deals, food, Corona, street entertainers, Cohiba cigars, and Senor Frogs. You should check out the market one night. Overall, we loved it. A tip: bring some dollars because your already great service will improve. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GL210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.com; everyone of the Playacar family truly appreciates it as it conveys a real message to those that have not been here yet and consider staying with us.

Happy you njoy your trips to Tulum, Xcaret and Swimm with Dolphins.

Thank you for acknowledging the little details that make the difference it really makes us proud.

Thank you again.

Hasta Pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
8.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,908 reviews
3.8 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,594 reviews
30.0 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
8,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,724 reviews
19.6 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,529 reviews
30.7 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 27,924 - ₹ 50,794
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing