We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Playacar Palace was AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #17 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Playacar Palace was AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have stayed at many all-inclusive resorts throughout Mexico, DR and Caribbean and this by FAR was a one of the TOP all-inclusive; I've been too!
We traveled with a large group for a wedding; within our group we had families with young kids, just couples, and singles- we also had a wide range of ages within group-
The Resort was amazing we got everything and more- There is free long distance to US and Canada, FREE Wi-Fi, 24 Hour Room service, a perfect size resort and LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION
The resort was right off of 5th ave; where there is tons of shopping and nightlife- The Cozumel ferry and Senior Frogs are right next to hotel; you can use the sister hotel when you go over to Cozumel- Safety was not an issue there! We were all a little worried with all we’ve heard in the news over the past year, however We all stayed smart, travelled at least with 2 people or more. We went out nightly to 5th ave to bar/night club; also we went out shopping throughout the week vacation, each time walking back and forth no need for taxi service.
The room credits worked for us, we were able to go swimming with dolphins, take family photos, upgrade wine, spa services, and gift shop purchases- Please note there is a 11% service fee when using credits on some services;
The only negative I found at this resort was the front desk; our entire group found them to be very disorganized, it seems like they don’t note or communicate with each other about rooms/guests; on the plus side ALL other staff were over and beyond great, they made vacation feel like a true paradise!
Food was good, buffet always had option plus a grill station, omelette station, and pasta station- The a la cart restaurants were good, the menus changed throughout week and you didn’t have to book reservations; the staff were always pleasant.
The Bar is great you have so many options of liquors; the staff was educated about some many different types of drinks and always had suggestions to try! Our favourite was Mexican flag shot-
The entertainment staff was great during the day but nightly entertainment I have seen better, but bonus is that 5th ave is right outside the resort gates and always had great nightly entertainment
The room we had was #215, nice view of beach and pool; very clean and modern, the bonus was that each room has its own private bar, a Jacuzzi, personal care products were salon worthy and the staff was very respectful of our things; plus always had the room clean and did turn down service daily
Overall had an awesome time- would defiantly stay at resort or sister resorts in the future-

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VannyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of your stay here at Playacar Palace. I and the entire family appreciate quite a lot as you pointed out all the efforts that we pleasantly make day in and day out to make sure our guests are treated like we would treat our own families stay with us.

Everyday we work to be better and try to avoid circumstances that affect our guest. Our new system is focus in that way.

Again thank you for all the comments, and we hope to see you back soon

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,987
    754
    207
    60
    39
See reviews for
1,403
1,733
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed at Playacar Palace for the first time, and had a wonderful vacation. We couldn't have been more happy. The only problem was that we had booked a Governor's Suite, and when we arrived they took us to room 443 which they claimed was a Governor's Suite. This room was a single room with a bed and two chairs. We asked to be moved, but they did not have a suite ready for two days so we had to stay in room 443 until that time. When they moved us we were very happy with the new room which was a suite with separate living room and bedroom (room 314). We enjoyed the buffet most days, but also ate in the Asian and Italian restaurants. We liked the Italian the best. The entertainment staff (Tania, Catalina and Ramon) did an excellent job of providing lots of fun activities to do during the day and evening. Very pleasant and uplifting people. All of our needs were met with the people serving food and drinks. They did a fantastic job of taking care of the guests. We noticed that the maintenance people also worked very hard to set up tables, etc. for all the different events. The proximity to town and the ferry to Cozumel were a plus. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Please don't make this hotel a Hard Rock--it is great the way it is. Very relaxing atmosphere and someplace we would definitely return to as long as it stays the way it is.

Room Tip: Choose a higher level floor so that you can see over the palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaGirl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Thank you for your time and your review. Tania, Catalina, Ramon and all the family Playacar appreciate your comments about our service.

At Playacar Palace we have 12 different governor Suites in different places of the property, however all our rooms are very luxurious and airy rooms, and I am pleased your enjoy yours during your stay.

We really hope to see you back in a near future, and I can assure you we won[t change brand.

Please, feel free to contact me next time you came...

Hasta pronto!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have been to many all inclusive resorts in Mexico over the years and by far this was the best we have ever had! The food was really good and the size of the resort was perfect. The only drawbacks were the construction of the new spa that was going on, but that should be done by next year when we return. The other drawback was the "sales pitch" for the vacation club. We were told it would take about 1 1/2 hours and it ended up taking closer to 3. At the end of the "presentation" we were told it was $110,000 to join!!!!! No thank you. All in all though a BEAUTIFUL experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uffdah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.com, we truly appreciate the effort.

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and we will managed to overcome the issues that you had; nothing is more important to us than you having a good and relaxing time here with us as we believe you should be treated like family.

I have shared your kind words with the rest of the Family who thank you very much.

We look forward to having the chance of welcoming you back at Playacar Palace!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I cannot say enough about the Playacar Palace. Myself and 60 family/friends headed to the resort at the beginning of the June 2012 for my wedding. I had an absolutely amazing time and could not have asked for a more perfect wedding day. The resort from day one to day seven blew myself and my guest away with their smiles, helpfulness and concern with each guests’ happiness. There is a reason the reviews on this resort often mention a number of the employees by name. When we left, we felt as if we were leaving new friends. (Angel- Italian Resturant / Blanca –Pool / Juanita- Lobby bar / Gerardo, Marco, Juan- Pool bar / Gabriel, Marisol (sorry if your name is spelled wrong) – Entertainment / Manuel, Ana, Sandra – Spa&Salon, AND THE BEST OF ALL: JOSEPH – buffet & my wedding reception!!!! Sorry if I missed anyone, you were all GREAT!) The Italian restaurant was great – try the Mayan coffee. We were hesitant to try the Asian restaurant because of a few of the reviews pre-trip. I have to say the sushi and appetizers are wonderful! I wish I had gone to the Asian restaurant more than once. My husband and I are already planning another trip to the Playacar Palace next year and a “renewal” of vows during our 5 year wedding anniversary.
If anyone is planning a wedding at the Playacar Palace, feel free to contact me with questions, concerns and/or advise. I had contacted a lady thru her posting on trip advisor about a year before my wedding and I have to say she was so helpful and eased my nerves – THANK YOU RANDI!
Tip: the resort credits are great but what they don’t tell you is you will have to pay the tax on the service you choose to use them on. Not a big deal. A massage for about $13 is still a great deal. It is just nice to know what to expect prior to your trip down.

** I have been to Cabo, Puerto Varrarta, Cancun, Cozumel, and Riviera Maya and I have to say the Playacar Palace was my absolute favorate resort!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Governor's Suite! Stay on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dublin10382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a nice review on TripAdvisor. I am really happy that you enjoyed your time here with us and that we could be part of this very special moment of your lives.

I and the entire family appreciate quite a lot as you pointed out all the efforts that we pleasantly make day in and day out to make sure our guests are treated like we would treat our own families stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your first aniversary!!

Hasta pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is a functional hotel that caters to middle-class Americans.

It is quite expensive for what you get (unless you are going to drink your weight in alcohol). The rooms are clean, but not luxurious, and the food is plentiful, but bland.

As for peace and quite--the pool has an animator who never lets things get too quiet, and the beach is right next to the cruise ship dock. However, if you like constant action, techno music, drinking and American-style buffet food, this would probably be a good option for you.

The best part are the employees-- very nice and helpful (hence the 3 stars).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phulana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayacarPalaceGM, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We really appreciate your comments about our service, and is what we need to improve the services and our quality to the highest level.

In a few months we will be opening one of the most exclusive SPA in the area, and a lot of changes to came that allow all the guest of playacar enjoy a remarkable holidays.

We reaaly hope you tu came in a near future and be part of those changes too.

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
8.2 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,768 reviews
3.8 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#30 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,337 reviews
2.6 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,617 reviews
19.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,410 reviews
19.7 km away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 32,063 - ₹ 53,059
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing