We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ready to go back!”
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Playacar Palace
Ranked #19 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
bham,alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ready to go back!”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at Playacar Palace last summer and went back June 30 through July 8 this year. Of all the Palace Resorts we have visited, this one is our favorite. The staff is AWESOME! Alejandro Valencia in the Oriental Restaurant is the best. He took care of our every need even asking the chef to make something for us that was no longer on the menu that we enjoyed last year. The service around the pool and beach is the excellent! Juana was our favorite and she even tought us a new word in Spanish every time she brought us a drink. Perla, Nora and Ana were also great. We are Palace Premier Members and we have stayed at 7 different Palace Resorts and all of them have something special to offer the guests. Several things make the Playacar Palace special like the beautiful beach, convenience to the city and ferry to Cozumel but the one thing that sets the Playacar Palace apart from the other resorts has got to be the excellent service from all the the staff.

Room Tip: The 4th floor and higher have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcannonma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Magoocat

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a praising review on TripAdvisor.com.

I have shared it with the team, which thanks you very much. We do hope to see you again soon for our new Spa and our new rooms coming really soon!

D, Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,231
    803
    214
    67
    41
See reviews for
1,538
1,859
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mercerville, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Recently returned from a week long stay at the Playacar Palace. It is the first resort I have stayed at that I would go back to. The staff was amazing. Particularly Ana, our beach server who worked so hard to make sure we had anything we wanted and Dinisay (Tonya) who kept us entertained and laughing all week. Although I can't remember everyones name, there wasn't a single staff member who wasn't helpful and smiling constantly. The beach is great with blue water and great sand. There were always plenty of chairs. There was never a wait at the restaurants and the food was excellent. The fitness center was always cool with water and towels readily available. The nightly entertainment was fun and engaging. The town of Playa del Carmen was a two minute walk away with lots of shops. The ferry to Cozumel was 5 minutes away. Swimming with the dolphins was a fun experience and very reasonably priced. My friends both got a massage while they were there and raved about it. The rooms were very nice and the ac worked great. Even though we were close to the construction, it was never an issue or an inconvenience. There is absolutely nothing about this place that I would change.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and the ac worked great. We didn't have an ocean view but we wanted pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the last two weeks in June. On arrival we were greeted with towels and a drink and a warm welcome. Unfortunately we were allocated a room with one king size bed. Tricky as we had our 13 year old daughter with us! Staff brought in a camp bed which was damp as it had been raining and it may have got wet then. It also cramped the room badly and was extremely uncomfortable. I did explain the next day this was unacceptable really and we were eventually after two days allocated a room with a great view and a proper bed for our daughter. We stayed at the Cancun palace previously and this room type was allocated immediately. Also I was told I could not use my resort credits to upgrade. Our Virgin rep was also excellent and I have no doubt he would have sorted the issue out if we hadn't done it ourselves.
The service from the beach bar, resturants and front of hotel staff was truly exceptional and makes this hotel. Special mentions must go to Gerrado, Jesus, Israel, Perla and the always smiling Leoardo in the inside bar.
Their customer service is spot on, nothing is too much trouble. Drinks were always served with a smile and efficient and speedy service.
The resturant food was good, particularly the buffet. However after two weeks it became boring. The Cancun Palace had better quality of food and the Resturants there are actually better, particulary the Italian and Asian.
If you really enjoy wine then you will be very disappointed. Just a word of warning. Even using your credit resorts to upgrade your wine choices you will be pushed to taste a decent and well kept drop. Also they haven't a bottle of champagne in the place! It's cava and a sweet one at that. So for us Europeans who know the difference between a good and bad wine I just wouldn't bother to order. I'm not fussy but I can't drink vinegar and cheap cava. Stick to the gin & tonics or pins colarda's.
Regarding the trips using resort credits, avoid Tulum at all costs! The tour guide didn't stop talking quite literally for hours but was mainly concerned with flogging the idea of the additional stop at the Mayan Gift shop. What a nightmare and many of the items you can buy in Playacar. Tulum itself is beautiful and worth a look, just not with the gift shop stop.
The great thing aswell as the staff is the location of the hotel. It is perfect and we always felt very safe. It's right next to shops and easy walking distance. The beach is also fantastic.
We had a great holiday. So thanks to all who helped make it one.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20lisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a nice review on TripAdvisor.com, we really appreciate the effort.

It was a true pleasure to have you with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food. It is always an utmost priority for all of us, The Playacar family, to ensure our guests are looked after as members of our family and friends.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We just finished an amazing week at Playacar Palace. We have been vacationing in Cancun, Playa Del Carmen and Cozumel for over 9 years at many great facilities, none of which have been part of the Palace resorts. We have to say that the people, the rooms, the service, the food, the pool, the drinks... the everything was way beyond what we could have hoped for. For service, the theme we continued to hear from every staff member (maids, to cleaning staff, to bartenders, to restaurants, to front desk... everyone) was "It is our pleasure". Everytime we turned around they were trying to find things to do for us and always when thanked they would all say "it is our pleasure". While so many deserve praise, in the buffet restaurant Alfredo, Luis Miguel and our favorite chef Surinder stand out. We felt like VIPs the entire trip. We will recommend Playacar Palace to everyone and are already trying to figure out how to trade in more weeks through RCI so we can return. Another amazing moment was when our rental car ended up with a dead battery. The general manager, David, brought his own car so he and his team could get our car jump started and then he took the time himself to check our battery water just to be sure we wouldn't get stuck somewhere while we were out investigating the Tulum area. Again, we cannot say enough about this place. They made our vacation the most memorable yet and that's saying alot since we truly love that part of Mexico.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there's a bad room in the place, but certainly 3rd floor or higher has the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

just returned from a week there in july. friendly people, great service in pool areas, lounges, golf course, and spa. not a single thing i could have asked for to be better all week. they have the wedding plans down pat. 4 occurred while we were there. room had a great choice for english channels and music. rooms had a very large living room, and a separate bedroom with jacuzzi tub. nice air conditioned, and great attentive maids. town is right next store, bustling with a wide variety of stores to choose from. senor frogs is right next door, but is a little pricey. this was our 3rd time to stay, and won't be the last.

Room Tip: corner suites have a larger balcony with chairs and a big daybed. fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeser08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on TripAdvisor.

Your words actually describe quite well our resort, thank you.

See you soon again,

D.Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
8.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
3.8 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,726 reviews
30.0 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
19.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,793 reviews
19.6 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Property: Playacar Palace
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,568 - ₹ 55,204
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our all-inclusive, luxury resort features 201 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of "Playa" at night. Playacar Palace is perfect for families, couples, and group getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing