We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst vacation of my life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maya Turquesa
Ranked #197 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 13 August 2016

I booked this hotel as part of a business trip, hoping to use the weekend to relax. From the moment we arrived, the staff was horrible to us. They didn't provide any information about the location, attractions, basic directions, etc. They didn't even offer to carry our bags to our room.

They inflated their prices and used every excuse to overcharge me. Appartently they would charge people paying with cash 800 pesos for a night but if you book online they charge 1650! They harassed my partner while I was away at a meeting.

They were rude, unhelpful and refused to serve the breakfasts I had already paid for. They were more interested in making my stay miserable than helping it be better. I tried to cancel my booking and move to a different hotel but they have a no reinbursement or changes policy so I had to stay here.

The rooms are not like they're shown in their webpage. The pictures are totally deceiving and the place is quite run down.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elsamonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2016

The location was awesome. One block from 5th Ave, which made the shopping experience better. Great AC. However, the room is way smaller than normal junior suites; looked bigger in the pictures and it had a bug spray odor. There are no walls separating the "bedroom" from the "living room" so you can touch the beds from the futon. My sister hated the futon or "extra bed" and the sheets/comforter had stains. The wifi went out and it took 30 minutes to convince the on staff attendant to do something. Low water pressure. Pool is really small; sisters dubbed it a "lobby tub." Parking for hotel guest only in front is not enforced, so we had to drive around and park blocks away, even though we were given a free parking pass...staff originally tried to charge $100 cash.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor is you don't want to make a few trips up stairs; no elevator and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yaahta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

I have stayed in PDC many times, since I live in Mexico part of the year. I am always looking for a reasonable priced place. This visit, I was picking up 2 more family members from the US and needed to find a room to fit 5 people. I found this place and decided to try it. I was super surprised. It was great. Not far from the bus station, we were able to pick up our guests and still park our vehicle right in front of the hotel on the street. The place was quiet, large, clean, free filtered water in the lobby. Great A/C. Our Gringo family members were happy with this. There was a breaksfast is the morning but unfortunately we had to leave earlier so we missed out. The lobby has a nice pool and looks like a bar if you want a drink. Our room was exceptional. Two levels. Two beds upstairs and one down. TV upstairs but of course, no time to watch. You dont come to Mexico to watch TV. I would definitely stay here again. Very friendly staff. There are lots of stairs to climb so just make sure you can handle that with your suitcases.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acmeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

I stayed here for 4 nights then moved would have moved back but could not get out of the next reservation . this hotel I 2 blocks of 5th ave it is quite and the staff re great and speak English it has a frig and TV but in Mexico there are few English speaking channels rooms are very clean and fairly big. how ever there is no phone or alarm clock or room safe but I had no problem and will stay there again and will recommend it to everyone and it has a pool and breakfast included for 7 dollars canadian

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank babsjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Terrible value with tiny room, no elevator and difficult stairs, and staff drinking alcohol while working and unable to take care of our needs. Even at low season prices this is a rip-off, but to charge what they did Christmas week was completely ridiculous!

Room Tip: No good rooms that I know off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MarkusNoGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 km away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#193 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
118 reviews
1 km away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#115 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
120 reviews
0.6 km away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#129 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Maya del Mar
Maya del Mar
#175 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
176 reviews
0.4 km away
Adventure Experience Hotel
Adventure Experience Hotel
#157 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
52 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Bambu Suites
Hotel Bambu Suites
#133 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Turquesa

Address: Calle 8 Norte Entre 10 y 15 Avenida 876 | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 2,371 - ₹ 10,831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Maya Turquesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya Turquesa, has beautiful rooms a few steps from the sea in a privileged central area of the Playa del Carmen, with a family atmosphere, excellent service and personalized attention.Located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, approximately 60 kilometers south of Cancún.Blessed by its turquoise blue sea, white sands of the Mexican Caribbean and that typical atmosphere of a small Mexican town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maya Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Turquesa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing