We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent destination wedding location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #63 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Thompson MB
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“excellent destination wedding location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I was at Sandos Playacar April 13-21 2012 for my desitination wedding with 43 friends and family. We had two kids (6m and 3 yr) and then 3 teenagers (13, 14, 17) and then the rest adults ranging from 18-76.

Everyone enjoyed Sandos. The food was great (especially our wedding reception at the Mediterranean!) and there was always something for everyone. Here is my detailed review, tailored to those considering a destination wedding as Sandos.

CUSTOMER SERVICE - excellent. there were hiccups with room assignments and so I had to be patient and work with the hotel staff to resolve some issues throughout the week. Bottom line - they will not refun anything but they will work with you to re assign rooms. Room service was slow (about 40 min) but its a big hotel. Also, the golf cart service was not as long of a wait as some said, there was always a vehicle within 10 min.

LOCATION - great! It was a short 15 min. walk to a market and starbucks if you wanted trinkets etc, or a 70 peso (7$usd) cab ride to 5th avenue in playa del carmen. Beach was good, hotel has everything you need and tours pick you up from the meeting point.

FOOD- Great. typical fair for all inclusive but my favs were the meditteranean for our reception (we had cream of asparagus soup as one option and people ordered seconds!) and the filet steak was AMAZING. best steak I have had in mexico (this was my 7th trip to mexico and I usually find steak mediocre) Other favs. was italian buffet for custom pasta (but there is always a line up there), steak house was good as well, you can custom your side options and sauce for the steaks). Breakfast we ate at the adults only option being the steak house.

Rooms - We were in a Rivieria Suite in the Adult section. Definitely nicer than the beach side rooms or the hacienda jr. suites. Reason is riviera rooms (8000 or 9000 blocks) are newer, twice the size, flatscreen tv jaccussi tubs, walk in showers, couches, beds on real bed frames (vs. concrete blocks) and just nicer overall. We went into hacienda units and beach units visiting some people and there were still nice just not as nice.

WEDDING PLANNER -lupita was excellent. She made everything seemless. we got married on the beach with simple linens and had the sandos symbolic wedding package (free with 5 rooms booked 7 nights or more). I had to pay for the wedding comissioner (350) the fee to get married on the beach (125 i believe) and then 4 boquets of flowers (211). Total was 681 for my wedding.

PHOTOGRAPHER - I used the photograher on site (lillo from hotel shops) and got the most expensive package (1700usd) which I dont regret. Photos were amazing, he knew his stuff and made the process easy for everyone involved. it also included 4 photo albums with photos (professional ones done by computer) which we got the day after we selected which images we wanted in them, and 110 photos. Also we got a disc of all our pictures.

ENTERTAINMENT - there is a disco on site and tons of nightly things for people to do and see. Most spent time at one of the bars (there are quite a few) at night to chat and hang out. The mini bars in the rooms were aso stocked daily. No complaints with being bored. I didnt have a private reception or cocktail reception nor disco. Our party went to coco bongo after dinner at 10pm for dancing and the bouqet toss! Super awesome night!

Any questions feel free to message me!

Room Tip: beds are hard, but better in the riviera sections (as not on a concrete block) and also try to get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crukat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

12,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,083
    3,957
    1,287
    480
    322
See reviews for
4,705
4,519
151
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,794)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a great time at Sandos. Good hotel and great beach. Hotel room was exceptionally clean. Food was good and very friendly staff. Newer rooms a bit far from the beach but the walk is nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Klaudiusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked our own trip on Orbitz and were very satisfied! The resort was nice, Playacar is a gated village and very safe. The Sandos is at the end of a line of resorts and there is a long stretch of beach (a mile or so) to one side--a beautiful place to walk. We found lots of good sized shells. The transfers were through Mayaland or GrayLine and were very good. The Select Club area had a nice pool area (no kids) and jacuzzi. It was a good place to go at the end of the afternoon. The walk from our building to the beach was 6-7min. and a nice walk. You can take transportation from the lobby if you don't want to walk. The restaurants were good. We enjoyed the small one that was just off the lobby for breakfast-close to our building area. We went to 4 a-la-carte restaurant dinners-the Brazilian, the El Gaucho Steakhouse, and twice to the Mexican. That one was fun--brightly colored tables with Mexican pottery and glassware; good waitstaff that made it a fun experience complete with sombreros etc. The theater had good shows every night from 8:30-9:30 followed by more entertainment in the Plaza at 9:30. There was a roving Mariachi Band in the main buffet most nights. One day there was a beach party at the adult pool from 1-3 with a live band playing American rock and roll on the island in the pool! FUN! We saw several weddings; there were wedding gazebos but most took their vows on the beach. The Italian restaurant was nice-a little fancier than the others-and 2 nights wedding receptions were taking place there in the side room. One suggestion is that they could use some music in the lobby maybe in the late afternoon or early evenings. Other than that, we had a great time and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the adults only jr. suites section Select club area in the 9000 building 2nd floor. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocky_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great place to stay. Lots to do, lots of pools, close to town. Great spa and very clean rooms!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just got back from a wonderful trip to Playa del Carmen and the Sandos Playacar resort. My girlfriend and I spent 5 wonderful nights at this all inclusive resort. Overall our experience was great but there are a few cons. First and foremost was the room. We upgraded to a better room to have a balcony but ended up on the first floor of a 10 room Hacienda. It turned out ok and was semi-private with our own small pool.

The biggest issue we had was the bed. It was just a mattress on a cement slab, which made it very hard. The pillows were like bricks, too. We asked for softer pillows at the desk but just got four more of the same hard pillows. We had friends that traveled with us that were in a different section of the resort who said their bed and pillow were the same.

We do have to give credit to the staff. Everyone was very friendly and did their best to be helpful. Manuel at the pool bar was always cheerful and smiling. The only exception was the bike rental guy. Bikes were included but when we decided to ride into town we were told there were no bikes avaiable and that you couldn't reserve them although there were two bikes sitting right there. When we asked, the guy seemed to not understand what we were saying. He told us to come back in about a half hour, which we did only to find the two bikes that were there gone and no more bikes had come back. At that point we decided to just take the cab. It was much quicker and only cost $7.00.

The food was great and there was always plenty of it. I am sure I gained weight on this trip. The drinks, however, were obviously a little watered down. The strawbberry margaritas tasted like they were made with cool-aid. Even the wine and beer seemed "light.". We quickly learned that a few dollars in tips got you better drinks and the mudslides were pretty good after that.

For the price we paid it was a great trip. The beach is beautiful, the staff does a great job in keeping people entertained and there is plenty to see and do. But if you have back or neck issues, i wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definately ask for an upgrade. Our friends went with the standard rooms and ended up very far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis1189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
8.1 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
8.8 km away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#76 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,176 reviews
1.9 km away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,330 reviews
1.4 km away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#94 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,362 reviews
3.9 km away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,227 - ₹ 26,647
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing