We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sandos Riviera Playacar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #58 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sandos Riviera Playacar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a great time at Sandos. Good hotel and great beach. Hotel room was exceptionally clean. Food was good and very friendly staff. Newer rooms a bit far from the beach but the walk is nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Klaudiusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

11,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,646
    3,689
    1,208
    448
    297
See reviews for
4,290
4,225
133
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,677)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked our own trip on Orbitz and were very satisfied! The resort was nice, Playacar is a gated village and very safe. The Sandos is at the end of a line of resorts and there is a long stretch of beach (a mile or so) to one side--a beautiful place to walk. We found lots of good sized shells. The transfers were through Mayaland or GrayLine and were very good. The Select Club area had a nice pool area (no kids) and jacuzzi. It was a good place to go at the end of the afternoon. The walk from our building to the beach was 6-7min. and a nice walk. You can take transportation from the lobby if you don't want to walk. The restaurants were good. We enjoyed the small one that was just off the lobby for breakfast-close to our building area. We went to 4 a-la-carte restaurant dinners-the Brazilian, the El Gaucho Steakhouse, and twice to the Mexican. That one was fun--brightly colored tables with Mexican pottery and glassware; good waitstaff that made it a fun experience complete with sombreros etc. The theater had good shows every night from 8:30-9:30 followed by more entertainment in the Plaza at 9:30. There was a roving Mariachi Band in the main buffet most nights. One day there was a beach party at the adult pool from 1-3 with a live band playing American rock and roll on the island in the pool! FUN! We saw several weddings; there were wedding gazebos but most took their vows on the beach. The Italian restaurant was nice-a little fancier than the others-and 2 nights wedding receptions were taking place there in the side room. One suggestion is that they could use some music in the lobby maybe in the late afternoon or early evenings. Other than that, we had a great time and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the adults only jr. suites section Select club area in the 9000 building 2nd floor. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocky_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great place to stay. Lots to do, lots of pools, close to town. Great spa and very clean rooms!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just got back from a wonderful trip to Playa del Carmen and the Sandos Playacar resort. My girlfriend and I spent 5 wonderful nights at this all inclusive resort. Overall our experience was great but there are a few cons. First and foremost was the room. We upgraded to a better room to have a balcony but ended up on the first floor of a 10 room Hacienda. It turned out ok and was semi-private with our own small pool.

The biggest issue we had was the bed. It was just a mattress on a cement slab, which made it very hard. The pillows were like bricks, too. We asked for softer pillows at the desk but just got four more of the same hard pillows. We had friends that traveled with us that were in a different section of the resort who said their bed and pillow were the same.

We do have to give credit to the staff. Everyone was very friendly and did their best to be helpful. Manuel at the pool bar was always cheerful and smiling. The only exception was the bike rental guy. Bikes were included but when we decided to ride into town we were told there were no bikes avaiable and that you couldn't reserve them although there were two bikes sitting right there. When we asked, the guy seemed to not understand what we were saying. He told us to come back in about a half hour, which we did only to find the two bikes that were there gone and no more bikes had come back. At that point we decided to just take the cab. It was much quicker and only cost $7.00.

The food was great and there was always plenty of it. I am sure I gained weight on this trip. The drinks, however, were obviously a little watered down. The strawbberry margaritas tasted like they were made with cool-aid. Even the wine and beer seemed "light.". We quickly learned that a few dollars in tips got you better drinks and the mudslides were pretty good after that.

For the price we paid it was a great trip. The beach is beautiful, the staff does a great job in keeping people entertained and there is plenty to see and do. But if you have back or neck issues, i wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definately ask for an upgrade. Our friends went with the standard rooms and ended up very far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dennis1189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Checked out a couple days ago. Friend had laptop and cash stolen from her room. Security checked the key card data on her door to see if anyone besides her or the maid had access to the room. Management discovered someone had been able to get a copy of a key to her room. Whether this was done by staff or another guest, the fact that they had easy access to a key for a room that didn't belong to them was MESSED UP (fyi everyone that has a master key to rooms like housekeeping and maintenance has their name pop up whenever it is swiped. A printout of every swipe that day showed the normal ins and outs by staff who had legitimate reason to be there except for that key that had just been made as replacement for a "lost" key).
Thankfully it was just stuff missing, but what if this person was disturbed or violent and physically attacked them? They had access to their room the whole time we were there and could have come back at any time.
Hotel protocol was to search their room and mine- I understand they have to cover their own butts. But, once they had evidence that someone had gone down to the lobby or meeting point and got a copy of their key, they said they would interview staff and try to figure out what had happened.
Dude that was helping us was friendly and I think genuinely concerned and stressed because he knows this makes them look really bad. He was honest with us letting us know that it is a process and could take awhile to investigate which we understood because their staff is massive. But, damage is done. No one should feel like their safety should be compromised- especially in paradise. Hopefully whoever this individual is gets caught and gets what's coming to them.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
11 Thank yumi876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
8.8 km away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#68 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,412 reviews
0.2 km away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
0.1 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#43 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#87 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,876 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
3.1 km away
Barcelo Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Barcelo Occidental at Xcaret De...
#69 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,978 - ₹ 36,249
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing