We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$ 369
View deal
Barcelo.com
US$ 369
View deal
Trip.com
US$ 380
US$ 351
View deal
SAVE US$ 29
Booking.comUS$ 360
Hotels.comUS$ 369
StayForLongUS$ 380
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,009)
Filter reviews
7,009 results
Traveller rating
5,076
1,188
432
191
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,076
1,188
432
191
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews las ventanas the grill dinner reservations allegria bar spices restaurant villa concierge club royale dinner theater infinity pool chef's table walk in closet other resorts our honeymoon quiet resort all inclusive resort top shelf dress code
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 7,009 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2021

We love Royal Hideaway! The staff is fantastic and the experience is always exceptional - even when struggling during the pandemic. My wife and I will be lifelong clients! Carlos, Manuel and the rest of the team always make us feel welcome! The beach is the best and the view from the pool is outstanding. Can’t wait to go back! Thank you Royal Hideaway!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Q3006LObobp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

Dear guests,

We want to thank you for the great review! we are happy to read you have enjoyed all the fun activities that our sports and entertainment team have to offer. Rest assured our staff will be informed of their great work.

We cannot wait to have you back again! Warm regards from sunny Mexico.

Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

I am one never to write reviews of hotels, restaurants or resorts. But this time, prior to our trip I read a lot of them for our upcoming trip, so I felt others could benefit from our review.
We just returned yesterday from the Royal Hideaway. We stayed there 4 nights. We were in building 30. This was our 5th trip to the Royal Hideaway. Our first visit here was in 2004. So here is my review:
As I mentioned, Our first trip was in 2004. It does not help anyone for me to mention how incredible our experience was in 2004, So, will only focus on our most recent visit.
We arrived Saturday, March 27, (If you arrive on a Saturday and coming from Cancun airport, traffic bc of a cenote below the highway added so much backed up traffic that it added an additional 45 minutes).
Checkin was great, we were greeted and offered a drink while we checked in.
The most impressive aspect of the Royal Hideaway is the beautiful grounds(ABSOLUTELY STUNNING) Our room was ok, bathroom is dated. could use some updating. Resort was probably at 25% occupancy. For our first couple days, did not see concierge at all. Finally saw on there on day 3 and 4, He was extremely helpful when i needed anything. Beach was great, pools were awesome, Pool /beach service was as great as normal. Only 2 restaurants open per night. Service and food were great. Breakfast was great. Make sure you have a mask to wear when you check into any of the restaurants, when they check your temperatures. Never wore a mask any other time while on the resort.As for entertainment, do not expect much. However on Saturday and Monday evening, entertainment was great at Bar Allegria You probably know, this is not the place to go if you want to be loud and party late, This is for totally chilling by the beach or pool. Both were great.
As for the COVID test, We had our appointment in building 28 2 days prior to our departure, that was quick and painless. We were there for 3 minutes, Then were back at the pool.
Our return trip back to the airport was quick and no traffic problems at all
Shout out to the hardworking bar and restaurant staff,(especially to Rico) they truly are there to help you enjoy your vacation.

Room tip: Request building 31 if you want to be close to the pool
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

Dear Mr. Joe,

Thank you for all your comments of our beautiful hotel, we are happy to know you have enjoyed all the facilities and services that Royal Hideaway Playacar has to offer.

We are very proud of the hard-working staff that makes sure all our guests stay happy during their experience of our resort. Rest assured our staff will be informed of the great work.

We hope to see you again. Warm regards!

Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

We love it here! I was so torn whether to pick a different resort or not but we ended up just returning to this one because if it ain’t broke don’t fix it! Our biggest complaint is that the many hot tubs they have around the property are not actually hot. One of them is a little warm and the rest of them are just as cold as the pools. But the staff is amazing, the beach is incredible, you can walk to downtown Playa for fun in the evenings or to catch a ferry over to Cozumel for the day. The food is mostly very very good. Our favorite is Spices which served Mexican/Carribean. I wish they served more Mexican! The tacos and enchiladas are amazing. The pro dive shop on the property is great to work with if you want to dive or snorkel. This is mostly a laid back quiet atmosphere. If you want something hopping with activities all the time this is not the place for you. We like the quiet. Although the beach sales people get tiresome.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Trail36186989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us.

Royal Hideaway Playacar is a hidden jewel with short distance to the main city and keeping our chill and relax atmosphere and we are glad to know you have enjoyed it. Regarding the comments we will work with our maintenance department regarding the incidents during your holidays.

We hope to see you back again very soon!

Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for the third time. Beautiful grounds, excellent staff. Entertainment team is great (Carlos & Mercedes), beach sports team is great. Unfortunately because of COVID no buffet and restaurants are struggling, hopefully this will be fixed soon.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sergey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

Dear Mr. Sergey,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent experience at Royal Hideaway Playacar.

We regret to know that certain aspects of your vacations were not up to your expectations and for that we apologize. We will work with the corresponding departments to enhance our guests experience.

We hope to see you back very soon! Warm regards!

Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

We spent our honeymoon at Royal Hideaway and it was absolutely amazing. The beach, pools, dining and entertainment kept made it a very enjoyable experience.

All the restaurant and pool staff was wonderful. They made sure we were taken care of and went above and beyond to fulfill our requests.

We had so much fun dancing to Carribean music and participating in the silent disco.

We would like to specially thank Mercedes for decorating one of the cabanas for us and setting up a special candle-night dinner. She was wonderful and kept checking in with us throughout our stay.

The front desk staff was also wonderful and very helpful setting up our covid test so we could relax and enjoy your stay. Will definitely be back!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 705reinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manager, Propietario at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2021

Dear Ms. Reina,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your experience at our resort. We are truly happy to know you have enjoyed such a special moment in your life and decided to spend it at Royal Hideaway Playacar.

Out entire team works very hard to make sure all our guests have the best experience possible while enjoying our food, facilities, and culinary experience. Rest assured that our staff will be informed of your review.

We hope to have you again soon. Warm regards!

Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews