We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic condo's, not one single complaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #27 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic condo's, not one single complaint”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My party of 8 stayed in condo's 417 (2 bed, 2 bath penthouse) and 413 (3 bed, 3 bath penthouse) for 10 days in May 2012. From the minute I made the initial enquiry on the website, every single member of staff I encountered was helpful, informative and quick to respond to any of our needs.

I personally stayed in 417 and the condo is decorated tastefully with touches of Mayan furniture and a clean, fresh look. The bedrooms and beds are a great size with plenty of cupboard space. Ipod docks throughout are a great addition and the kitchen is exceptionally well equipped. Unlimited free purified water which can be hot or cold and a huge fridge. The rooftop is excellent in this condo, large enough to host barbeques for a party of 8 (and probably a lot more!) The view is spectacular and you are not really overlooked as you are one of the highest condo's. Plenty of towels and a choice of types of maid service is great- you can choose from just towel replenishment through to a full clean. Some of our party are used to staying in 5 star resorts so this was a first for them and they loved it.

413 is a much bigger condo spread over 3 floors so plenty of indoor space. The rooftop there has all the same features (jacuzzi, barbeque etc but it is much smaller than 417 and does only have a partial sea view but is more than adequate).

There are no lifts in these condo's so if you choose a penthouse you will have to walk up the few flights of stairs. Staff are quick to carry your bags up and we never found the steps to be a problem at all although we are all adults so if you had babies and small children you might want to choose a lower floor.

The complex of the Maya Villa is stunning and the gecko pool isn't the kind of pool for swimming lengths but fab for a refreshing dip after a day at the beach! True, the pool area is mostly shaded but it provides a lovely retreat from the scorching sun and if your idea of a holiday is laying by a bog standard square pool which could be anywhere in the world then you probably would think its not adequate. But with the beautiful beach about a 40 second walk from the Maya Villa why would you want to lie by a pool anyway!?

Some previous reviewers have commented on the beach and the boats in front of the Indigo Beach being a problem but in our opinion, it added to the style, look and culture of the country and we found it to be picturesque and interesting. If you walk about a minute either way of the beach club you can go in the sea minus boats, no problem. The sand is pure white and yes, there is some seaweed around the boats and at some points along the beach but at 8am every morning we saw people out on the beach, collecting it and making it perfect for the day. Indigo Beach Club is amazing, the beds are comfy and the staff exceptionally attentive and really friendly. They constantly make sure you are ok and help you with umbrella's, drinks and food. The food itself we all found to be excellent, moderately priced and tasty (we often had breakfast and lunch there). Big thanks to Roberto who looked after us every day and made us laugh : )

The condo's are about a 2 minute walk to 5th Avenue where there are lots and lots of shops, bars and restaurants. You can't hear any noise from these condo's at all and we found the atmosphere of the 5th Avenue "strip" to be fun, interesting and part of our visit. Yes, it can get annoying that the staff of the shops and restaurants try and shout to you to come in their shops but you have to remember that tourism is the reason they survive so of course they'll try and sell to you. We found a polite shake of the head or a "no thanks" was enough. Failing that just keep walking! They aren't pushy and wont harass you down the street.

Finally, to put this review in perspective, we are a group of 8 from London ranging in age from 21 to 53. Between us we have holidayed in the Caribbean, Hawaii, Florida and various European countries staying in anything from 2* b&b's to 5* luxury hotels. We all found Maya Villa to be exactly as described, a safe, clean, spacious place within immediate walking distance to everything you could need. If you are looking to stay at a fully luxurious complex where you don't need to walk past the hotel reception for food, drinks and a massive pool then this isn't for you. But if you love the feel of a boutique style villa complex with personable staff, excellently equipped condo's, your own personal outdoor space and a location that cannot be beaten then you need to book this place. I cannot recommend it highly enough for a brilliant holiday and already I'd love to return!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JewelEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear JewelEngland,



If I had to write a review for Maya Villa, I probably could not have described it better as you have just done, so I want to sincerely thank you for taking your time to review Maya Villa with such detail and enthusiasm.



Reviews like yours make us realize that our dream to build a luxurious home-away-from-home for our guests that is surrounded by a tropical sanctuary, has actually proven to be reality. The charming atmosphere that is created by the combinaton of the heated gecko pool, outdoor waterfalls and Jacuzzi, surrounded by tropical greenery, has been our vision while building the multi-bedroom spacious condos and decorating them with Mayan art - and the biggest sense of satisfaction we can receive is the appreciation of our efforts and vision.



Next time you visit us, please try some of our amenities if you haven't yet, such as the brand new gourmet Imprevist restaurant, located at Maya Villa and our world-class Gym.



We are excited about your return - please come back soon!



Cordially,

Jack Perlman, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    67
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
179
123
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE US
Level Contributor
565 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The location cannot be beat- one block from the beach and one block from 5th ave where most of the restaurants are. This is a review of unit 406. It’s nice to see each unit on the website so you can make an informed decision about which unit to select. The unit was a god size with plenty of storage for longer visits. Some of the furnishings are starting to get a bit rundown, but overall still nice. We did have issue with one of the remotes not working and the master bedroom ceiling fan being stuck on high with the light on making it useless. They tried to fix stuff right away but failed. No big deal, but they got an A for effort. Ipod docking stations were nice to have. The wireless worked pretty well, even on the root top deck. The roof top deck is great; a real bonus. I’m not sure why anyone would want to sit in a hot tub when it is so hot out, but it is there for those who want it. Curiously there was only 1 lounge chair on the roof, but a nice couch area left plenty of room for sitting. Finally, although there were 2 of them the bathrooms were quite small for a luxury rental. All told nice space at a good price in May.
There were a few negatives. We never got additional soap or shampoo over the five days. We had enough between the 2 bedrooms, but I don’t like when hotels make you beg for simple things. One day someone opened the door without knocking completely ignoring the “Do Not Disturb” sign. She was not apologetic at all, and quite irritating. Otherwise the staff was nice.
The owner responded to our negative issues when we mentioned them and promised to look into them. We will stay here again when we next go to Playa del Carmen.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I just returned from my second vacation at Maya Villa, condo #407. First, the condo is immaculate, 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, wonderfully decorated, full kitchen and a deck. The people that work at Maya Villa are sooooo friendly and helpful, and polite, really make you feel at home. The beach is so beautiful, about a block away and treated like royalty by all the handsome young men that work there. Playa is a wonderful town with many great shops and restaurants. I highly recommend Maya Villa #407 as a great place to stay with your family, friends or an intimate getaway with your partner. Stressfree, relaxing, warm and sunny, a very happy place to be.

Room Tip: #407, the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condohotels, Managing Partner at Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Cris M,



Thank you so much for your kind review!



We are very happy to hear about the positive energy our guests experience while staying at Maya Villa, because we strongly believe that happy vacation is created by great interactions and helpful staff, not only top-notch amenities and decorations, of which we are also proud.



Please come back soon!


Cordially,

Jack Perlman, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amenia, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

After doing much research to find a place for a vacation, my boyfriend and I decided on Maya Villa in Playa Del Carmen. What a BEAUTIFUL place to stay! Playa Del Carmen is great, so much to do and experience. This was definitely the best vacation I've been on. Maya Villa was perfect. It was located within walking distance of everything and the service was very helpful and kind. We were treated like royalty. The room was clean and room service proved to be trustworthy. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed in unit 415 and are hoping to return next year. Great food, beautiful beaches, awesome shopping and night life. I highly recommend Maya Villa.

Room Tip: Room 415 at Maya Villa was perfect. Comfortable bed, and great service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAMarie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed in 417 on a recommendation from friends and we weren't disappointed! It is a penthouse with two bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. But the best part was the private deck on top of the unit accessed by a spiral staircase. The roof has a grill, mini refrigerator & sink, a hot tub, some lounge chairs for laying out, a bar, and possible the best view of the ocean in Maya Villa. It is indescribable! We enjoyed cooking some of our own meals in the full kitchen inside. Also included is access to the gym and to Indigo Beach which is only a block away. Maya Villa is also walking distance to many restaurants, bars, and shopping areas with only a one block walk to 5th Avenue, the popular pedestrian street. We'll be back again!

Room Tip: Room 417 has the best ocean view from the rooftop deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust-itis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
614 reviews
0.1 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,339 reviews
0.1 km away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
694 reviews
0.4 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,399 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,886 - ₹ 23,777
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing