We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$ 189
Official SiteUS$ 190
PricelineUS$ 190
Hotels.comUS$ 189
FindHotelUS$ 188
TravelocityUS$ 189
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,549)
Filter reviews
1,550 results
Traveller rating
1,098
249
101
49
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,098
249
101
49
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool sister properties asian restaurant techno music all inclusive option free shuttle room service master suite boutique hotel hotel is beautiful lobby bar the entire staff guest services time share the wait staff all inclusive resort spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,550 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

I would definitely be coming back. This is such a great location. Literally a block away from the shops on 5th Ave. WalMart is 10 minutes away. The beach is about to blocks down. Rooftop pool and jacuzzi with a beautiful view of the ocean. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rafael and Carlos have been so awesome with us.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank johanna87r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The Reef 28 to spend your vacations and for sharing your review about your stay.

It is great reading that you had an amazing time in our hotel and that you appreciated the attention provided by our staff.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021

Excellent service, waiters give you the best services in specific Rafael, they are very pleasant, cordials, friendly and professionals. Overall, the staff in the hotel are very professional. I will recommend, all inclusive and the best service.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 649dayanir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing The Reef 28 to spend your vacations and for sharing your review.

We are delighted to know you had an excellent time, especially at the rooftop.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021

I’ve attended two yoga classes with Naicel and will definitely continue to do so! Such a beautiful flow in the morning on the rooftop. Her soothing voice will take you elsewhere as well. I recommend it 100%, plus the hydrotherapy bonus option after the class on Wednesdays is really nice.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Fafy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2021


Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to hsare your experience at The Reef 28.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed the yoga class and we appreciate you highly recommend it.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

We spent 5 nights at the Reef 28 in May 2021 and loved it. The hotel is very clean and the staff and service was excellent.

We stayed on the third floor which is fairly close to the rooftop bar that has a dj during the day and live band at night so you can hear the sounds in the bathroom area, but with the fan or air conditioning it drowned out the noise and was a non factor. However, if you are a very light sleeper, you may want to request a lower level room. The room is spacious and the king size bed was super comfortable. We slept very well.

We did the all inclusive option and I am glad we chose it. It is so nice to be able to eat and drink whatever you want. The food was good and we had no complaints. I particularly liked the breakfast, the shrimp tacos in the Mexican restaurant and the fish tacos from the rooftop bar.

One great thing about staying at this hotel and doing the all inclusive is that you get access to their other hotels located on the beach. Therefore, you have more options. And, you still get the all inclusive benefits at the other hotels.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It is right in the heart of the action. It is one street away from Avenida quinta where all the shops and restaurants are and one block from the beach. You can't ask for a better spot in my opinion.

The pool has amazon views. It is not the biggest and space is limited, so try and get there earlier rather than later. The water was nice and warm and the dj during the day was great and played chilled out electronic music. I didn't care for the live band at night, but I am not into live music so that might appeal more to others. I would have preferred a more chilled out vibe at night than the live music.

Overall, I highly recommend the hotel for anyone wanting to stay in Playa del Carmen. For the price and what you get, I found it to be well worth it.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuraVida714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The Reef 28 as your vacation destination and for the time you have invested in sharing your review.

We are delighted to know you had an amazing time enjoying all our facilities, the location and the food offerings.

We appreciate you highly recommending us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

For f sake.i arrive at 5 something and room isn't ready. I literally oauf for my room to be ready at 4pm. They make us wait in the lobby for half an hour until our room is ready at 540 ish. Absolutely ridiculous. We get to our room and remote for living room tv is missing
Phone doesn't work. Safe doesn't work. They literally have to replace the safe so we can't leave out hotel room until they fix the issue. We are hungry and we to damn eat but we can't eat because we have the maintenance guys walking through our room so we decide to carry out luggage with us so we can eat.

They eventually replace our safe. Ridiculous. Tonight we want to eat at the asian restaurant and we are at an adults only hotel and there are 3 young kids running around the asian adult only restaurant with chopsticks in their noses and being jerks. I got to the desk and I am told only the hotel rooms are adults only. F u. I paid for adults only. Not kids running around . This is compete horse crap

Never did get a remote control to watch tv in the front room..

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank livingaboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef 28, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Reef 28 as your vacation destination and for sharing your review.

We deeply regret to know that your stay was not up to your expectations and we offer you a heartfelt apology for the inconveniences you experienced in you room.

We work tirelessly to ensure our guests’ satisfaction; therefore, we appreciate your feedback regarding some areas of opportunity. You can rest assured that we will give the utmost consideration to your observations in order to keep providing memorable stays to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your time and despite the complications that have arisen in your stay, we hope that we remain an option for your next vacation and that we have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews