We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corto Maltes 101” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Corto Maltes 101”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

6 friends and I stayed in unit 101 of the Corto Maltes condo's, which are right beside Encanto. The condo was absolutely gorgeous. It was exactly like the pictures except even bigger than we expected. Check-in was at 2pm but we arrived an hour early. We thought the condo would have already been cleaned since it was only one hour before our expected arrival time, but this was not the case. We were supposed to get maid service every other day but the maid skipped one day so we had to clean ourselves. This was the only disappointment of the trip. The building and beach area were very clean, as well as the pool area at the Encanto. The bar downstairs was lively every night, and beautifuly deocrated and lighten with candles. waiters walk around the condo beach area serving drinks and food. The drinks are delicious, not the cheap stuff you would find at an all inclusive. Our experience with the food was equally pleasant. The location on the condo was the best part! We literally stepped outside of the condo and had everything at our disposal; bars, restaurants, shops, etc. Walmart Superstore was a 10 minute walk, which was where we bought small grocery's. Unless you are really set on eating in all the time DO NOT buy too many groceries because they will goto waste. We went out for dinner every night even though we said we wouldn't. We were there during a festival so there was music playing at all times of the day and night. If you want peace and quiet then do not travel to the downtown playa area in the beginning of January because you will be very disappointed. During this time of the year it's VERY lively on the streets, bars, and clubs, and if you aren't the type to join this type of environment then it may bother you. Overall, we had a fantastic time and couldn't really ask for anything more. I definitely recommend staying in unit 101 if you are travelign wit ha group of 5-7 people.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paulinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    21
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
31
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stay in Corto Maltes last december.The place is really nice but unfortunatly we were so disappointed about the service. For exemple, we leave so many mail or post card to the reception to send them and they've lost all of them. Indeed, they are not really serious. Nevertheless, our stay in playa was very pleasant. Kiki

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I've stayed at both Encanto locations and have to say that although El Faro is nicer than Corto, Corto isn't too bad. The pros: it's on the beach, it's a condo, ours had two restrooms, two bedrooms, and a sofa bed. You get to use the pool at El Faro and we had two complimentary American breakfasts daily. What I didn't like about it is that the water pressure really needs some work done. The water came and went in the showers and it made strange noises when you first turned it on. Then all of a sudden water would come spitting out full force! Also for some odd reason, the tub in one of the rooms was so tall it isn't easy to step into. It's about 2.5 feet tall! The TV's are also really tiny compared to El Faro, and it's much louder than El Faro at night as there's a club downstairs. What I didn't like about it was the housekeeping. At El Faro, I had housekeeping service daily. At Corto, there's only housekeeping service every other day. And we had to throw out the trash ourselves. Not sure why we had the lousy service with housekeeping this time but I still had a wonderful time! Overall: if you have a choice between both hotels go to el Faro. However, if el faro is booked, you will enjoy the amenities of Corto enough to oversee the imperfections. And at least, Corto has doors for both restrooms! So you don't have to watch your loved ones use the facilities as you might have to endure at El Faro!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sm27357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This was our third trip to Playa this year and we have been traveling to Playa with regularity for the past 10 years. I rarely review our accommodations unless I am truly overwhelmed and Corto Maltes exceeded our expectations.

LOCATION: This condo is on the beach and a rather busy 10th street which is central in location and within walking distance to everything. Unless you plan on excursions there is absolutely no need for a rental car. Because it is centrally located, the fishing excursions leave from here about 6:30 AM and the divers leave around 7:30 AM. Also, located on the ground level are a couple of popular beachfront restaurants and beach clubs adding to the activity of this location. It is not busy like Miami Beach but there is enough activity to afford entertainment and people watching. If you are looking for the postcard image with an isolated beach, two beach chairs and the ocean, this is not the place. On the other hand, if you like a little activity with restaurants, beach service and people watching, this place is ideal.

ACCOMMODATIONS: Each condo is decorated, furnished and supplied by its owner so variations exist among units. We stayed in #303 and it was well appointed, tastefully decorated and the kitchen had every appliance and utensil needed for a wonderful, multi-course meal. The balcony was phenomenal with barbeque grill, seating and a beautiful unobstructed ocean view. We could even get internet on the corner of the balcony. This unit also had it own rooftop area complete with bathroom, jacuzzi, lounge chairs and yes, amazing ocean views.

SERVICE: Check-in was a breeze; however, a visual inspection must be scheduled for check-out which I found a little offensive. We had a water pressure issue, more a lack of water issue for our entire stay. It was strange: water for 2 minutes, no water for 2 minutes, water for 2 minutes etc... The pressure was fine for 2 minute intervals. I reported this problem to Sylvia at the front desk after the second day and she assured me it would be fixed tomorrow. Needless to say, tomorrow never arrived. This did not mar our trip as we learned how to soap up, wait 2 minutes, rinse, shampoo, wait 2 minutes, rinse. There were no long luxurious showers on this trip. Sylvia was extremely nice and provided a sweet smile with unfaltering lip service but no solution to our water issue.

NEGATIVES: I mention the water problem to be honest and complete; however, this was not a huge issue for us as we quickly learned how to work with an intermittent water supply. The only other potential negative is high pitched clinging of the oxygen tanks used for diving which were unloaded by the dive masters at 7:30 AM in front of the condo complex. Fortunately, we awaken early each morning for our morning run so this was not a problem for us. Without these two potential negatives, this would be the Perfect Beachfront Condo.

Room Tip: Only 4 or 6 rooms are truly beachfront. Sorry, I do not know the numbers. We stayed in Room 303 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Regs911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed in Unit 302 this past weekend. My sister and I loved it! Sylvia and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to provide anything we wanted. They were all so sweet. Our unit was beautiful and clean! I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#123 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 km away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#79 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#124 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#139 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#170 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 km away
Residences El Faro
Residences El Faro
#15 of 196 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos

Property: Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos
Address: Calle 10 y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Encanto Corto Maltes)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 196 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,214 - ₹ 26,443
Hotel Class:4 star — Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corto Maltes is a luxury, privately owned condominium complex directly on the beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Each unit is individually decorated by the owner and no two are alike. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs. The Homeowners Association provides a business center with a computer, printer, internet and Vonage phone service. Typical services and amenities are provided by companies that manage the individual units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing