We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Nearby Hotels
The Reef Coco Beach(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 715
US$ 303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 326
US$ 258
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 395
US$ 287
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aventura Mexicana(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
US$ 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 806
US$ 702
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 245
US$ 179
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 1,434
US$ 940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 556
US$ 399
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$ 916
US$ 539
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,338)
Filter reviews
2,338 results
Traveller rating
1,987
229
82
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,987
229
82
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolrainforest experienceoutdoor bathtubeco toursaffron restaurantsands restaurantin villa diningla coparesort hostreflections poolsanctuary pool villabreakfast buffetvilla bbqbuggy driversbuggy servicegolf cartbeach club
Filter
Updating list...
1,490 - 1,495 of 2,338 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
11
Reviewed 31 July 2012

the Mayakopa was a wonderful surprise, the place itself is incredible, the wait staff so extremely friendly and the food excellent; spa services folks, buggy drivers, boat drivers-all were wonderful, can't say enough good about the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

On behalf of the Banyan Tree Mayakoba I want to express our appreciation for your complimentary notes regarding your recent stay at our hotel.


Making our guests feel pampered and forgetting their everyday worries, are our main goals, and I feel glad that our staff, services and installations have achieved that


Looking forward to welcome you soon,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The location is perfect, you are in your own private oasis. The staff was excellent, the service was excellent. The nicest place I have ever stayed hands down. I would recomment staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: Everyone room is private villa, cant pick a bad room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Chris S

Your notes are very much appreciated, thank you for sharing them with us. It is important for all of us to know you had such a good experience at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Do not hesitate is contacting us when if you decide to come for some more pamper.

With best Regards

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

If you are looking to get away from it all, and we all need to do that from time to time, I highly recommend Banyan Tree's unique's experience. Stay in a Villa w/pool and jacuzzi...you never have to leave and have space...you have private sitting room with huge sofa, dining table, TV, room bar.....and then a walk to your bedroom and bathroom...huge bathroom with walk in closet. Be sure to bath in the outdoor tub!!
Food delicious...comparable prices to fine dinner. Buffet breakfast over the top...they missed no choices.......

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank MarthaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear MarthaAtlanta

First of all I want to thank you for coming to Banyan Tree Mayakoba. We are truly glad to read that our aim has been achieved during your stay with us: making you feel relaxed and away from the activities of the daily life.
Let me express my gratitude for writing your impressions in this website and to share them with other guests.

I wish I was given the opportunity to welcome you back again soon,

Kindest regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the Banyan Tree for 6 nights after 3 weeks in Peru. The service at this hotel was amazing. We were greated with a refreshing drink at checkin and quickly taken to our villa and were shown the features of the villa. We ate at all the restaurants, the Tamarind and Saffron were both good although quite expensive. We also ate the Fairmont as we wanted to eat Mexican food.

Cristiano at the pool was fantastic. He remembered our names and set up our loungers to our preference. He got an extra umbrella so we both had shade and cleaned our sunglasses. When i was swimming in the pool he offered a floatation device so I could relax in the cool waters.

The buffet breakfast was very good. There is a daily sparkling wine cocktail which is quite good. The staff remember what we like to drink and of course our names. It was a joy to go to breakfast each morning.

In room dining was also very good, we ate in one evening and we had excellent service. Our food was set up outside near our pool and our waiter asked when he should come back and collect the plates. We said 1 hr, exactly 1hr later he came and cleared everything.

The turndown service was also nice, each evening there was a small gift left along with informatino regarding resort activities.There is a bath menu you can select, I can recommend the milk bath. I ordered this to assist with sunburn one evening, when it was ready there were rose petals floating on the bath and also scattered througout the villa.

We also attended a wine buffet, another activity I can recommend. We were the only people at the buffet which had 15 wines from around the world you could sample. We had excellent service and got to try some interesting Mexican wines.

Overall a fantastic resort, we stayed at the St Regis Bali and thought no resort could surpass their service although the Banyan Tree has done just that!

Room Tip: Villa 101 was close to main facilities.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear aussietraveller74

It is of our great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed yourselves during your 6-day stay at this Sanctuary of the Senses.

The whole Banyan tree family is grateful that you have taken the time to describe your experience. We appreciate that you have highlighted the name of the employee who have impressed you. Your recap has been shared with all the staff.

We sincerely hope to have the honor to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas
13
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I were in Mexico for 9 days on our Honeymoon. We stayed at a Westin for the first 5 days and at the Banyan Tree for the last 4. The Banyan Tree resort and staff blew us away from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. They went out of their way to ensure we had a memorable experience. The staff is incredible and the facilities/rooms are far and away the best I have ever had the leasure of experiencing. The natural beauty at the resort is amazing and the resort is impeciably designed to blend in with the surroundings and put you at ease. We left so relaxed when we left. They took care of us like we were family the entire time we were there. It's not cheap but worth every penny in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

It is great that you have chosen BanyanTree Mayakoba to spend the second part of your honeymoon. We are happy to read your kind notes on Trip Advisor about your stay with us, we are delighted to know that our facilities and services have left a memorable experience.

Hoping to be able to welcome you back again,

Best regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews