We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Beautiful hotel. Amazing staff. It was our first time in Playa del Carmen, the hotel was recommended to us by an acquaintance. Banyan does not disappoint. The hotel is located in Mayakoba (within walking distance to fairmont hotel, gran Velasquez and rosewood) approx. ten minutes from PDC. The cab ride into town is 230 pesos. The Villas are huge. All have their own pools( just like the pictures on the website). Once there we decided to add two more days to our stay. The hotel has thought about everything, beach bags, bikini bags, extra flip flops, cappuccino maker, and a to of extras that add a nice touch. The breakfast is great, plenty of great and fresh choices. Banyan Tree's customer service is without a doubt the very best. Thank you Claudia, Mariana, the best beach attendant Cristiano and and the satff that worked during the week of july 30- august 4 for a wonderful stay. We certainly will be returning to Banyan Tree (either in PDC or other locations)

Room Tip: We booked through American Express which included breakfast and a 90 minute spa treatment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear lin1974

I appreciate that you took the time to share your gracious notes regarding your recent stay at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

We are honored to know that our associates’ efforts are well appreciated. I am sharing this feedback with all departments’ heads and employees of the hotel.

We well feel very glad to welcome you back again to our resort,

Best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    205
    79
    26
    14
See reviews for
417
1,137
21
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

the Mayakopa was a wonderful surprise, the place itself is incredible, the wait staff so extremely friendly and the food excellent; spa services folks, buggy drivers, boat drivers-all were wonderful, can't say enough good about the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

On behalf of the Banyan Tree Mayakoba I want to express our appreciation for your complimentary notes regarding your recent stay at our hotel.


Making our guests feel pampered and forgetting their everyday worries, are our main goals, and I feel glad that our staff, services and installations have achieved that


Looking forward to welcome you soon,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The location is perfect, you are in your own private oasis. The staff was excellent, the service was excellent. The nicest place I have ever stayed hands down. I would recomment staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: Everyone room is private villa, cant pick a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Chris S

Your notes are very much appreciated, thank you for sharing them with us. It is important for all of us to know you had such a good experience at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Do not hesitate is contacting us when if you decide to come for some more pamper.

With best Regards

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

If you are looking to get away from it all, and we all need to do that from time to time, I highly recommend Banyan Tree's unique's experience. Stay in a Villa w/pool and jacuzzi...you never have to leave and have space...you have private sitting room with huge sofa, dining table, TV, room bar.....and then a walk to your bedroom and bathroom...huge bathroom with walk in closet. Be sure to bath in the outdoor tub!!
Food delicious...comparable prices to fine dinner. Buffet breakfast over the top...they missed no choices.......

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MarthaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear MarthaAtlanta

First of all I want to thank you for coming to Banyan Tree Mayakoba. We are truly glad to read that our aim has been achieved during your stay with us: making you feel relaxed and away from the activities of the daily life.
Let me express my gratitude for writing your impressions in this website and to share them with other guests.

I wish I was given the opportunity to welcome you back again soon,

Kindest regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the Banyan Tree for 6 nights after 3 weeks in Peru. The service at this hotel was amazing. We were greated with a refreshing drink at checkin and quickly taken to our villa and were shown the features of the villa. We ate at all the restaurants, the Tamarind and Saffron were both good although quite expensive. We also ate the Fairmont as we wanted to eat Mexican food.

Cristiano at the pool was fantastic. He remembered our names and set up our loungers to our preference. He got an extra umbrella so we both had shade and cleaned our sunglasses. When i was swimming in the pool he offered a floatation device so I could relax in the cool waters.

The buffet breakfast was very good. There is a daily sparkling wine cocktail which is quite good. The staff remember what we like to drink and of course our names. It was a joy to go to breakfast each morning.

In room dining was also very good, we ate in one evening and we had excellent service. Our food was set up outside near our pool and our waiter asked when he should come back and collect the plates. We said 1 hr, exactly 1hr later he came and cleared everything.

The turndown service was also nice, each evening there was a small gift left along with informatino regarding resort activities.There is a bath menu you can select, I can recommend the milk bath. I ordered this to assist with sunburn one evening, when it was ready there were rose petals floating on the bath and also scattered througout the villa.

We also attended a wine buffet, another activity I can recommend. We were the only people at the buffet which had 15 wines from around the world you could sample. We had excellent service and got to try some interesting Mexican wines.

Overall a fantastic resort, we stayed at the St Regis Bali and thought no resort could surpass their service although the Banyan Tree has done just that!

Room Tip: Villa 101 was close to main facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear aussietraveller74

It is of our great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed yourselves during your 6-day stay at this Sanctuary of the Senses.

The whole Banyan tree family is grateful that you have taken the time to describe your experience. We appreciate that you have highlighted the name of the employee who have impressed you. Your recap has been shared with all the staff.

We sincerely hope to have the honor to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
6.6 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
7.9 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
2.2 km away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
10.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 34,159 - ₹ 1,06,138
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing