We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the Banyan Tree for 6 nights after 3 weeks in Peru. The service at this hotel was amazing. We were greated with a refreshing drink at checkin and quickly taken to our villa and were shown the features of the villa. We ate at all the restaurants, the Tamarind and Saffron were both good although quite expensive. We also ate the Fairmont as we wanted to eat Mexican food.

Cristiano at the pool was fantastic. He remembered our names and set up our loungers to our preference. He got an extra umbrella so we both had shade and cleaned our sunglasses. When i was swimming in the pool he offered a floatation device so I could relax in the cool waters.

The buffet breakfast was very good. There is a daily sparkling wine cocktail which is quite good. The staff remember what we like to drink and of course our names. It was a joy to go to breakfast each morning.

In room dining was also very good, we ate in one evening and we had excellent service. Our food was set up outside near our pool and our waiter asked when he should come back and collect the plates. We said 1 hr, exactly 1hr later he came and cleared everything.

The turndown service was also nice, each evening there was a small gift left along with informatino regarding resort activities.There is a bath menu you can select, I can recommend the milk bath. I ordered this to assist with sunburn one evening, when it was ready there were rose petals floating on the bath and also scattered througout the villa.

We also attended a wine buffet, another activity I can recommend. We were the only people at the buffet which had 15 wines from around the world you could sample. We had excellent service and got to try some interesting Mexican wines.

Overall a fantastic resort, we stayed at the St Regis Bali and thought no resort could surpass their service although the Banyan Tree has done just that!

Room Tip: Villa 101 was close to main facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussietraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear aussietraveller74

It is of our great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed yourselves during your 6-day stay at this Sanctuary of the Senses.

The whole Banyan tree family is grateful that you have taken the time to describe your experience. We appreciate that you have highlighted the name of the employee who have impressed you. Your recap has been shared with all the staff.

We sincerely hope to have the honor to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    205
    79
    26
    14
See reviews for
417
1,137
21
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I were in Mexico for 9 days on our Honeymoon. We stayed at a Westin for the first 5 days and at the Banyan Tree for the last 4. The Banyan Tree resort and staff blew us away from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. They went out of their way to ensure we had a memorable experience. The staff is incredible and the facilities/rooms are far and away the best I have ever had the leasure of experiencing. The natural beauty at the resort is amazing and the resort is impeciably designed to blend in with the surroundings and put you at ease. We left so relaxed when we left. They took care of us like we were family the entire time we were there. It's not cheap but worth every penny in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

It is great that you have chosen BanyanTree Mayakoba to spend the second part of your honeymoon. We are happy to read your kind notes on Trip Advisor about your stay with us, we are delighted to know that our facilities and services have left a memorable experience.

Hoping to be able to welcome you back again,

Best regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at several Banyan Trees before, and we were all pleased by their service. All of our personal hosts were great and we assumed it will be the same at Mayakoba. But no, we had the worst service ever.

We arrived at around 8pm and were welcomed by our host Susana at the lobby and she took us to our villa by buggy. Once we walked in to our villa, we realized that the room is not cleaned yet, the housekeeping lady is still in the villa cleaning while we walked in. We were disappointed by that already, so we told our host that we will go straight to dinner first and go back to our villa later. And that's that's the only time we see our host until the very very last day with an even worst treatment from her.

We stayed there for 3 nights, and at the very last day when I was packing, I saw the welcome letter sitting on the table and realized we got a complimentary 90min spa. So we walked to the reception and trying to see if we can still use it after we check out, but Alejandro said it's only good for "during our stay" and can't be use after. So we explained to him that we didn't know about it until that morning, and that our host didn't tell us about it on the first day. (From my experience with other Banyan Tree before, our host should introduce the Villa and the hotel together with all the activities that we can do on the first day) Here than Alejandro tried to call the spa and see if there are availability for us to use it at the moment.

But our host Susana sat next to Alejandro jumped in and started telling me that she welcomed me on the first day and we decided to leave the villa without giving her enough time to introduce us. Also she said that the welcome letter is sitting on the table in our villa and it's our problem that we didn't know about the complimentary 90min spa, because it was in the letter. I was shocked that she jumped in to my conversation with Alejandro, and also very mad that she tried to made it sounds like is our fault that we didn't give her enough time to introduce the villa to us. So I can't help asking her back to see if she thinks is our fault that the room is not ready when we checked in. I don't think I should stay in a non-ready for guests room to listen to the introduction. If she is responsible enough, she can check back after our dinner, or next day at breakfast (that's what other host does at other Banyan Tree), but she did not. At the end Alejandro helped us to get an appointment before we leave that day.

But to be fair, there are many other ppls that provided good service at the hotel, such as the waiter at the breakfast I think his name is Francisco, he helped us to get information for the hotel tour (which I think that should be our host's responsibility) Fernanda from the Spa, she was great, the service she provided was excellent. And also Alejandro I think he did tried to help solving the problem, unlike our host just trying to defense and not helping the case at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rowina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at this resort last year for our anniversary, and it was fantastic. Do be warned, mosquito repellant is a must! We had an issue with bugs in our room one night, and the manager relocated is very quickly. The staff even assisted with our packing and unpacking, which was greatly appreciated. I was disappointed that he didn't offer an upgrade, but the next night we were given an excellent surprise! There was a beautiful outdoor bath, roses throughout the room, candles, and wine! It was the perfect surprise after a day at the beach!!! The breakfast buffet was wonderful, especially the services of a particual waiter. After the first day, he had our drink preferences down to a science. We would definately stay again!!! The spa was beautiful, but my masseuse was very rough. I was sore after the treatment.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Vice President,Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Nyra L
I personally thank you for providing us and other trip advisor users with your kind feedback and recommendations. It is nice to know that our guests take their time to express their impressions.

I am glad to know that after all your stay was a great experience and that you had enjoyed your selves at Banyan Tree Mayakoba

I will be glad to welcome you back to this sanctuary of the senses.

Wishing you the best,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Banyan Tree. All my expectations were met. Resort was beautiful and everything I hoped for. This is a great place to stay for people desiring luxury and looking to get away from it all and don't really care to be around the touristy parts of Cancun or Mexico. I also strongly considered the Rosewood but chose Banyan Tree because of their Asian heritage, spa reputation, larger pool size, and free wifi. Looking forward to visiting other Banyan Trees around the world.

It was about 40 minutes from the Cancun airport, all on a well maintained highway in a straight shot, and was a hassle free drive. The location is probably better for people wanting to stay at the resort most of the time instead of going out to sightsee since it is inconvenient to leave and to book any tours through the hotel is exorbitantly expensive.

Service was excellent all around and the staff was always there and willing to help. Check in was a seated process with chilled towel and welcome drink. Staff was always there to set up loungers at the pool and beach and frozen treats were handed out at the beach pool. Everything you would expect to be done at a 5 star resort was.

Villa was great, pool was not a plunge pool and one you could actually swim in. Bed was very comfortable and plush as a cloud. Loved the walk in closet to put all your stuff away and amernities are plentiful.

The breakfast buffet was excellent and had lots of choices from American to Mexican to Thai and there were always a few new dishes every day so it wasn't just the same food day after day. It was a delight to find rambutans (an Asian fruit) served. I thought the dinner options were a bit limited. At the time of our visit only two restaurants were open any given night. We ate at the Thai restaurant Saffron our first night and the food was very good. The menu at Tamarind sounded great but it is all outdoor and our preference is to dine indoors in air conditioning and without bugs. We did have an outdoor lunch at Sands and I came away with 4 or 5 mosquito bites. So the next 3 nights we had dinner at the Fairmont. They have 3 restaurants open, all of which have indoor dining, and we thought the menus offered more variety. Transportation between the resorts was readily available and we never had to wait for a car. Since all the resorts in Mayakoba are under the same owner, you can even charge your meal at the Fairmont to your room at Banyan Tree.

The spa was absolutely amazing. I am a bit of a spa junkie, and I have gotten treatments at other Banyan Tree locations in Asia as well as other luxury hotels in Asia and always found Thai/Southeast Asian spas/massages to be the best in the world, so I was eager to try this Banyan Tree spa and it did not disappoint. It was certainly my top spa experience in North America, and ranks up there with the best I have experienced in Asia. The Thai therapists we had were both amazing, and it was really a treat to be able to get a top notch Thai massage so close to home without going to Asia. Most spas in the US don't even offer Thai or Balinese massages and I'm sure the other spas in Mexico don't either. Their selection of massages was great and I don't think you could go wrong with any of them. We also did the Rainforest treatment, which was really just a series of 8 different rainshowers, steam rooms, and saunas. It was a fun and novel experience but it didn't make me relax like a massage does. I did love the "Vitality Pool" at the end. The spa was definitely the highlight of the stay for me.

Cons:

On two nights we found large spiders in the room and we never left any doors open for any length of time except to get in and out. Even though this is due to the location and not really the fault of the hotel, just be aware of it.

I sat in the hammock in the villa for less than 2 minutes and it fell because one end was just wrapped around the column with nothing supporting the rope underneath it, just the little tension created from pushing the looped rope high enough up the column. This is not a secure way of mounting a hammock. I wasn't hurt other than a very sore bottom but I could have easily injured myself and if it was an elderly guest it could have been very serious.

Neither of the pools have hot tubs. The outdoor bathtub in the villa had no jets in it. So unless you book a villa with a hot tub or the Rainforest experience in the spa where there are hot tubs inside, there are no other hot tub options. This seems very unusual for a resort that has everything else.

Room Tip: We booked via a third party website and the descriptions of the villas was unclear and we ended up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caesar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, Room Division Director at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Caesar 52

We want to thank you for visiting Banyan Tree Mayakoba and to tell you that the notes and sincere feedback are very appreciated by all of us.

Thank you for writing your impressions and for sharing your concerns regarding the Hammock mounting, I sincerely apologize for the mishap occurred during your stay. We hope to have you back in the near future to make your stay perfect this time.

Wishing to have the opportunity to be at your service again,

Best wishes,

Livia Martinez
Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
6.6 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
7.9 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
2.2 km away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
10.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 34,115 - ₹ 1,05,943
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing