We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable getaway....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
11
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We recently spent 4 days at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Our experience began with an air conditioned SUV with a courteous driver who provider cool, scented refreshing towels. The driver was warm and attentive during the 40 minute drive to Mayakoba.

Our check in process, began at the open and breezy lobby with a refreshing welcome drink and was seamless. Since our room was not yet ready, we were ushered to the Sands/Beach Club for a late lunch and drinks.

Following our first meal, we were driven to our lovely and private abode room 206, which was quite lovely and secluded. Our villa, 206, was the highlight of our stay and was so beautiful and inviting that we rarely visited the beach or the common pools like Reflections.

Each day began with a scrumptious breakfast at the Oriente which offered fresh made to order omelets as well as specialties for the day. Servers like Cesar, Manuel, and Fernando were quite attentive and courteous.

Dining at the BT Mayakoba was a wonderful experience. We dined at the Sands, Saffron, Tamarind as well as in-villa dining but must say that the Tamarind was the best and certainly beat the Punta Bonita at the Rosewood. The tequila tasting at the Tamarind with Erik was informative, fun and quite enjoyable.

Our afternoons were highlighted by phenomenal spa treatments. We did venture to the Rosewood Sense Spa one afternoon and that was a mistake that will not be repeated. While the Rosewood Sense Spa does have very beautiful common facilities, the spa room and most importantly the spa treatments and therapists were significantly better at the BT Mayakoba. Aim and Chandra were world class therapists.

Evenings were capped with a relaxing bath in an outdoor tub overlooking the stars and crescent moon.

All in all, service, accommodations, facilities, spa, dining, was absolutely wonderful.

We graciously accepted the farewell gift of the handmade turtle and requested an additional one so that we both can be sure to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

Thank you very much for visiting our hotel for your vacation. It was with a great pleasure to read your review and complimentary comments about some of our staff members and of our services. I am sure that your observations are also valuable for other readers.

We look forward to welcome you back to Banyan tree Mayakoba and I wish you all the best.

Remaining at your disposal,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,375 of 2,133 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, California, USA
1
Reviewed 30 April 2012

unbelievable enjoyable experience. the tai classic massage was just one of the many highlights of this trip- highly recommend it. the atmosphere is pure relaxation and ultimate luxury. I'm afraid I'll never be able to enjoy a 'normal vacation' after this experience. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

I want to say thank you for taking the time to write your personal impressions about your vacation with us. We appreciate that you have described the enjoyable and relaxing experience. That is exactly what we work for.

We do look forward to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Sincerely,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Monica
1
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was definitely the most beautiful and unique property I have ever been too that allows children. My husband and I had our honey moon at Bedara Island in Australia, and this very much reminded me of that property. Yet, they had facilities for my kids! Hooray! Definitely spring for one of the villas with its own, private pool. We barely left our villa because we were all having so much fun swimming and enjoying the private hideaway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

I wish to thank you very much your feedback in regards to your experience with us. It is nice to know that we have satisfied your family’s needs and that you have enjoyed the villa and the facilities provided.

We look forward to welcome you back top Banyan Tree Mayakoba,

With best regards

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We just got back from a week at the Mayakoba Banyan Tree and I will try to share a review that is helpful for those considering a visit. The 1) Resort / Area, 2) Accommodations, 3) Service, 4) Food, and 5) Spa...

1) The Resort is about three years old we heard and it is still holding up very well. Entering Mayakoba there are actually three resorts, Rosewood, Fairmont, and Banyan tree. We got a chance to visit/see all three when we ventured out to dinners and more. The Rosewood is more architecturally modern and is a beautiful property we may consider trying next time. It seemed nice, quiet, and a little smaller. The Fairmont seemed more like a massive resort with more typical hotel rooms, large pool, and was definitely busier. Banyan tree is large with a large pool (but typically we were the only two people there which is amazing), rooms apparently have the biggest private pools we were told by other hotels, and it is probably the best out of the three overall. The wooded setting is amazingly nicer than I expected and the separation of the hotel from the beach club is actually a pretty nice idea - and a very short trip. When you want to go they are more than happy to jet you over there on a golf cart or back to your room, the boat is fast and a neat journey as well (although we kept missing it and didn't want to wait for its 30 minute cycle time). Many people rent bikes as well to ride back and forth. The beach club is extremely nice with another smaller pool, restaurant that serves great food, and bar. The beach area in front of the pool (down stairs) is great although rocky in spots - but it is also in the middle of the strip where you can walk either direction for a nice stroll.

2) The room at the Banyan tree is extremely nice and we had the basic private garden villa (still not cheap I guess). You have a large private door into your villa, then another door into your room. The rooms have large sliding glass doors that open up to the patio with hammock and pool steps, and the other direct to pool and with the garden view. The room is setup nicely and they are still nicely equipped and furnished. The bed is comfortable and seemed to be a slight memory foam type bed (although not quite a temperpedic). The bathrooms are extremely nice and roomy although dark a bit at night as they don't have the typical bright lights. All the lighting in the room makes for a great ambiance. The outdoor garden is great as you get a couple comfortable lounge chairs and the pool is wonderful to swim in and quite large. Note though the room pools are not heated and often quite cold but in the hotter offpeak Summer months I'm sure they are plenty warm. Next time we'll probably get a room with the jacuzzi included. There is a great outdoor bathtub in all rooms that makes for a nice experience. Closets in the room are walk in and very large with drawers and plenty of space. Other than that there is the standard flat TV, minibar that is stocked well, desks, Bose wave radio with iPod dock, etc. Overall the room is supurb and about up to a Ritz standard I'd say. Each day the room is straightened up and cleaned very well, even the pool is cleaned every day or so.

3) Service was the best part of the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly always saying hello and wanting to help more than needed. They are also nice to each other which is a great sign. It's a stay where anything you need you feel like they'll be able to help out with. Check-in is pleasant usually with a small tour of the shared areas and everything from the restaurant staff to turn down service is extremely friendly. Turn down is interesting at this resort as they give you a little local artist gift each night a do a nice job at making the room comfortable.

4) The Banyan Tree really only has a few restaurants and that is really the only thing that was frustrating at times, although not an issue. Breakfast (at Orient) is a great spread and changes a little daily. You can find anything you want for breakfast here and its a great buffet. They have a Thai place (Saffron) that is great but its not your traditional Thai back in the US - much nicer spin on things. Tamarind is a more eclectic fine dining restaurant and is also great. Both will typically cost $150ish in range for a dinner for two I'd say. The Beach Club restaurant is a little more casual and serves more Mexican food but even then dishes are more upscale than usual. We did find even our lunches usually around $90 USD or so but its vacation right? The timing of restaurants was a little off for us as Breakfast is from 7-12, then only the Beach Club is open from 12-5, then the other two dinner restaurants are from 6-11 I think leaving some gaps. In room dining is always available though.

We ventured over to Fairmont as well and had a really nice dinner at El Pueblo but it was just about on the same level as ones at Banyan Tree - fine dining. We did get over to Rosewood and had a wonderful dinner at Point Bonita and loved it - as its on the beach with ocean view and food was Mexican and delicious. Definitely try it as well.

The staff is more than happy to take you between resorts with either each resort providing transportation or Banyan Tree making the transfer both ways.

5) We did try the Spa a few times. We had a massage each, had facials again, then also tried the rainforest experience (hydrotherapy type sessions). The massages were great and done well. The resort has 16 small huts where two individuals each get a massage together if you want. They bring you in, sit you down, give you drinks, do a small arm massage and footbath, you pick insense, and then the massage starts. Facials are similar experience. The rainforest session is basically several steam rooms where two can sit together with showers inbetween. They use small showers that have Kohler products that basically change lighting, have music, and a rain shower at the top while the temperature adjust, etc. You finally then end in a larger pool with a few bubble, jets, and jacuzzi options. Overall it is nice but we didn't enjoy it as much. The spa is wonderful although not cheap of course.

Overall we loved our stay at Banyan Tree Mayakoba and loved how empty it was. It was odd feeling like your the only people in a resort at times until you at least see some others at breakfast and the beach. It is definitely a place you feel like you get away to and we liked it much better than the other large mega resorts in the Riviera Maya. Definitely try it out!

Room Tip: The regular garden villas seem to be the most private since they don't have 2nd floors and thus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TXTravisWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear TXTravisWilliams

Thank you for coming to our Hotel and it is great to read that you have had an absolute satisfying experience.

We do thank you for your kind detailed notes regarding our food, associates, installations and other services. We are happy to know that we have been able to exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Warmest Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We came back to banyan tree a second time because of the unbelievable great experience we had the first time. The service and the hospitality is the best there is. The staff overlooks nothing. My only issue is they have not figured out how to give those of us that want peace and quiet and relaxation a separation from those with children. Maybe I could suggest making the reflections pool adult only. Also, when seating for dinner make sure the children are in a separate area. We wil be back for a third time.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank MDgolfer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, Director General at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear MDgolfer54

I am happy to know that you have come back to our hotel for a vacation and want to say thank you for writing your complimentary feedback on this web page. The suggestions you have made are to be shared with the persons involved.

We will be so looking forward to welcome you back again to this sanctuary of the senses.

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,136 reviews
6.6 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,810 reviews
8.9 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,248 reviews
2.2 km away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,160 reviews
7.2 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: ₹ 38,294 - ₹ 1,08,890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing