We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #2 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I highly recommend this place. The pools are awesome. They are large and heated.

The food was surprisingly good.

The gym was okay.

The beach was nice, but not as good as 7 mile beach in Grand Cayman.

This is probably the nicest property in that area other than Fairmont and Rosewood.

My wife said the spa was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoodleHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted to know throughout your comments that your Grand Velas Vacation was excellent and that you were amazed by the facilities, the culinary tour and our spa. Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We truly hope to welcome you back very soon.

With the best regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,271
    362
    104
    54
    34
See reviews for
1,176
882
23
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Couldnt get any better than this resort. Service is impeccable, resort is clean. Restaurants are top rated. Like being in paradise. One piece of advice lock up your valuables did have a bottle of Coach cologne go missing

Room Tip: Zen was very peaceful great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heathershay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Ok, we just got back from our trip to Riviera Maya. The first thing I can say is that the facility is very nice and the overall experience was good. The employees always greeted us with an Ola and a smile. They were very helpful to any of our needs. The food was exceptional and you should not be fearful of having choices when traveling with the young ones. I traveled with my wife and my fifteen year old daughter. For the most part it was good but my daughter did get a little bored. This is no fault of the facility but if you have adventurous teens, you could fall victim to the boredom bug. The pool was fabulous and we never had a problem with finding pool chairs. At one point we arrived early afternoon and Jorge assisted us in moving lounge chairs into the sun. He then brought us some drinks, I slipped him a $5 bill and Im afraid that he never came back.
Keep in mind that we have been fortunate enough to travel to Fore Seasons Resorts, Ritz Carltons and other top notch facilities. Because of this, my wife and I tried to put a finger on the fact that, for us, it didnt seem like 5 star service. I am not suggesting that it was bad, but it did seem that attention to detail was lacking. For instance, both my wife and I enjoy coffee in the morning. Our room had an Expresso Machine, which was nice. The problem was that some nights the maid left one cup and on other nights she left no cups. Minor I know but aggrivating at 5:30 in the morning. Also, we went to Lucca Resteraunt, the maitre'd was phenominal but then the waiter came up and asked "What do you want?" It was the little things.
I have no problem reccomending this facility and maybe it needs a little time to mature. All in all, a good experience but not phenominal. Food, fabulous. Facility, Very Good.

Room Tip: Ask for a fourth floor as these rooms have cathedral ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stockee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This resort is fantastic. Everything was clean, maintained and perfect for a relaxing week. Plenty of chairs to lay out by pool or beach, fun activities for my teenagers (18 & 15) and my younger children (12 & 9). Not sure I would take small children, although plenty of people did. It was too relaxing to have to keep a close eye on small children (just my thought). The resturants were great. Lots to do on property...wave runner (about $75.00 per 30 minutes), beach volleyball, sail boat, surf boards, etc. Lots of fun.

Room Tip: Luca (Italian) and Frieta's (gourmet mexican) were out of this world! Luca's portions were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you and your family found the amusement and relaxation you were looking for with our program activities. We would like to thank to you choosing us on you most recent trip and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you soon.

Best regards,

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband and I visited Grand Velas in June 2012 for a quick getaway. I was little apprehensive about security, food, etc., but let me tell you that this hotel is top-notch. The first day I was afraid to have ice in my drink but by the end of the trip I was drinking icy drinks, eating salads and fresh fruit and was completely fine. I was glad I could feel free to eat whatever I wanted because the food was AMAZING - all of the restaurants were 5 star.

The service was wonderful. You get your own personal concierge who helps with whatever you need. The room was stocked with beer, wine, snacks, tequila, etc., all included in the price. When you go to the beach, the waiters bring you water and drinks so you can just sit and relax. So nice when you just need to de-stress.

The rooms were very nice and clean. I am weird about cleanliness and found no problems. The beach was nice and the sand literally felt like baby powder. There are three pools on the property that were all beautiful. If we would have brought the kids they would have had a fantastic time as well and wished they could have been there to experience it with us.

I cannot wait to escape back to Grand Velas next year when we need some R&R! Definitely check it out, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank meg51577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having the time to send us your impressions of you most recent Grand Velas vacation it is such an honour to know that this trip exceed your expectations in terms of security, food and facilities. There is nothing more rewarding to know that you had a relaxing experience and that our attentive staff made this possible during your stay.
We will be truly delighted to have the opportunity host you and your family very soon.
Best regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
11.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,568 reviews
4.4 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,471 reviews
4.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
13.9 km away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,403 reviews
11.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 47,819 - ₹ 1,13,782
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the luxurious All Inclusive Luxury Resort Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing