We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal spot right on the beach”

KEEL Restaurant at The Carmen Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,487 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 21
Description: Our Keel Restaurant & Beach Club is located on the beach in the award-winning The Carmen Hotel, features an exquisite variety of innovative specialties. The freshest seafood, sushi, steaks, pizza, pasta and open-fire grilled specialties, as well as sensational Mexican cuisine and daily specials all prepared with local and organic ingredients. Breakfast features all the traditional favorites including some local specialties. For lunch, savor our fresh ceviche or sushi, amazingly fresh salads, indulge in wood-fired pizza, try our tasty bar entrees featuring the best gourmet burger in town. Indulge yourself in a candlelit dinner under the stars. Keel is an experience that delights the palate and cannot be missed. Open daily 7 am - 11 pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Our Keel Restaurant & Beach Club is located on the beach in the award-winning The Carmen Hotel, features an exquisite variety of innovative specialties. The freshest seafood, sushi, steaks, pizza, pasta and open-fire grilled specialties, as well as sensational Mexican cuisine and daily specials all prepared with local and organic ingredients. Breakfast features all the traditional favorites including some local specialties. For lunch, savor our fresh ceviche or sushi, amazingly fresh salads, indulge in wood-fired pizza, try our tasty bar entrees featuring the best gourmet burger in town. Indulge yourself in a candlelit dinner under the stars. Keel is an experience that delights the palate and cannot be missed. Open daily 7 am - 11 pm.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Initially, the most striking feature is the location. It is so enjoyable being there with the beach and the sea right in front of you. Throughout the evening, Jose provided impeccable service, and the food was delicious.

Thank Anders_profile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at KEEL Restaurant at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks for the great review, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is literally on the beach about 2m from the sea. Staff were very friendly and the menu is good
Three of us ordered the steak and it was dried out and over cooked for $30 a piece

So would recommend for drinks only

Thank dominic c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at KEEL Restaurant at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Dominic,

We appreciate your review that definitely help us to improve our level of service and quality, it will be a pleasure you can give us the opportunity to have you as our host and allows us to create a remarkable experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

There's a lot of options for breakfast. Food was great, and the view is AMAZING! I Loved there waffles, and mango jam.

Thank Sam-Talaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at KEEL Restaurant at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Sam,

Thank you for your feedback and for your gracious words, I'm glad to to read that you had a wonderful time in Keel restaurant, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the keel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My family and I were there for lunch and our experience could not have been any better. You cannot beat that amazing view of the Caribbean sea, nice cool breeze and award-winning architecture of the hotel.
Our server Marco was very friendly and made sure everything was perfect for us. The food was just superb and the most amazing thing is that one of the owners personally ensured that our experience was unforgettable. We were really impressed by the quality of the ingredients and taste. Keel is definitely a hidden jewel and we highly recommend it for any time of day, breakfast, lunch or dinner. -- Don't forget dessert!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrp, Guest Relations Manager at KEEL Restaurant at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Jon M,

t's such a pleasure for us to read that you had a great experience at our restaurant, thanks for taking te time to share your opinion and recommend us.
We look forward to your next visit so we offer you again the top class service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Love the food and loved to sit so near the ocean. Beautiful!
The food is delicious and the staff is very friendly.

Thank georgefransssen2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrp, Guest Relations Manager at KEEL Restaurant at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear georgefransssen2002

Your comments make us so glad! It's a pleasure to read that your experience exceeded all your expectations. We work had everyday in order to offer a top class service and the most unique culinary experience. Thank you for writing this great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KEEL Restaurant at The Carmen Hotel also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to KEEL Restaurant at The Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing