We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What an incredible, unspoiled, natural phenomenon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Secreto

Rio Secreto
Book In Advance
US$ 78.98*
and up
Rio Secreto Underground River Tour with Crystal Caves
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mexico reveals its newly-discovered underground river: Very few places in the world boast conditions that make it possible to witness the extraordinary beauty of an underground river. Rio Secreto is a fantastic journey into a unique system of underground rivers and ancient caverns that reveals both the astonishing interaction of time within the interior of our planet and the miraculous existence of our lives. Come and experience this magical journey with us on your next vacations in Mexico.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an incredible, unspoiled, natural phenomenon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This portion of one of the underground rivers in the Yucatan was only opened to the public in 2006. I can't begin to describe how beautiful it is. What's really special about it though, is the effort the staff puts forth to make sure it stays unspoiled.

And I thought the lunch was delicious, especially the lime chicken soup. And the Xtabentun liquor is DEFINITELY worth buying, it is fantastic!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,774
    744
    166
    47
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

My mom, brother, sister-in-law, and I had a great time at Rio Secreto. We booked the last tour of the day. The staff was very hospitable and knowledgeable. Many of them spoke excellent English. The 15-minute van ride to the cavern entrance was bumpy, but that's what it feels like on an unpaved jungle road. The wetsuits and helmets do smell faintly of mildew, but through similar water-sport excursions I've experienced, I think that's just what rentals smell like.

Our tour guide, Alfredo, did a bilingual tour, and his translation was impressively precise. He's also just a really personable guy. The tour wasn't too strenuous. If the idea of hiking and swimming (life jackets keep you afloat) your way along a guided tour of some incredibly beautiful caverns appeals to you, I recommend Rio Secreto.

I'm not sure why previous reviews complained about the lunch. I thought it was delicious. I can understand why people complained about the photos. I do agree with the no-photo policy. It would be irresponsible to allow tourists to bring their own cameras into the cavern, not only in terms of conservation, but also safety. But the pricing of the professional photos ($25 for one, $69 for all, $100 for all + 3 souvenirs) so encourages you to purchase the whole package, that it you do feel manipulated. Still, the pricing is on par with similar excursions, and it does benefit the conservation of the cavern, so I can't complain.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank licoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not crazy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I would much rather go to the other one (not going to give name) but last year I went to other similar big excursion in riviera and it was much better than this one.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a great opportunity to swim in an underground cave. My wife and I went and had a great time!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seanatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool experience but too long and terrible lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The underground river tour is cool, but gets old fast and they try to sell you overpriced photos around every turn. However, the formations are beautiful and unique. The lunch was a sorry excuse for lunch with a meek lime chicken tortilla soup. warm salad, fruit and some sort of cream cheese filled tamales. We paid for the tour with transportation and definitely overpaid- $109 each which meant we spent $40 each on transportation- $80 for a crappy ride in a van with 10 other people on the way back which ended up taking an hour and a half!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerri U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rio Secreto also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rio Secreto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing