We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Hotel - Lacking in Customer Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Ticul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Ticul
Ranked #55 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Palmdale, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Lacking in Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I will echo most of the observations of other reviewers except on one note. I made my reservation online and prepaid for their top-of-the-line room. When I arrived at the property the front desk staff said that they knew nothing of my reservation, I proceeded to show them my copy and they then agreed to provide me a room. I stated and showed them where I had paid for their premium room but they said it was unavailable. They did not offer to credit my account nor did they apologize in any way, shape, or form. This treatment ruined what otherwise would have been an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcstlmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    204
    47
    14
    6
See reviews for
48
531
64
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

Really lovely small hotel which we found at a great price for the location and standard of both the room and breakfast served on the roof terrace. Beach club passes were useful and we would recommend Canibal out of those we tried. Amazing "towel art" in the rooms was a nice touch. Staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank nickyg0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Been there last month on our honeymoon and loved every single second of our stay.
Great breakfast with a variety of choices every day something else.
The location is good is on the 5 eve between 38 and 40 street, it's just a bit far from all the commotion but it's 7 min walk.
The hotel is very plesent, quiet, clean with a nice p small pool.
But the main reason that I'm writing this review is a great person that work there that help us in a way I've never seen before in a hotel, her name is Paloma and she is amazing and helpful and kind in every situation. Best vacation we ever had!! Thank you Paloma!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avihovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel was recommended by friends who have stayed in Playa before. It was great in every way. The location is perfect for access to the beach and shopping/dining and still quiet. The staff went above and beyond in all categories. The breakfast ladies made breakfast to order with a smile. The outdoor terrace where breakfast is served is lovely. The desk staff helped us find great restaurants for dinner and helped with reservations for meals and other activities as well. The cleaning staff also were superlative. The room could use more space for sitting other than on your bed and a couple of drawers for storing clothing. But these are minor points. There were several nice places to sit outdoors to read or drink a beer and eat snacks if we wanted. The weather was always great so we did not really care about being in our room except to sleep. The craziness of 5th ave was close but not audible. We would recommend this hotel to couples who want a great value and service. We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We are pleased that the hotel has been recommended by friends and has been your total satisfaction.
As you say, every detail is important to us as a rich breakfast in the morning makes you an excellent day and then visit a nearby beach club are the advantages you get to stay in a small boutique hotel on Fifth Avenue.

Thanks for your comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

While we have vacationed in Playa many times, this is our first stay at Casa Ticul. We enjoy staying in north Playa, a more quiet, less frenetic area. We loved this hotel: nice size rooms with fridge & comfortable beds, updated bathroom with waterfall shower, thick towels, his/her bathrobes & slippers - which were a very nice touch. Breakfast,served roof-top, was wonderful, if not on the menu, just ask and they will gladly accommodate. Recommend you take advantage of the complimentary beach passes to Las Palapas, much less noisy and hectic than Mamitas. A convenience store right on the corner sells wine, beer and snacks, the restaurant Kool Fish will deliver food to the rooftop, or poolside making this another unique feature. Staff is friendly and always helpful. We will definitely be returning to this wonderful boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms facing pool - too much morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loves2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yoyo68, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Casa Ticul, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Casa Ticul offers from all the amenities required for comfort during your stay.
The advantage of having a variety of restaurants around the hotel to pick one and enjoy a romantic evening on our terrace falita is a detail that is very enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 km away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
1.2 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#14 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
1.3 km away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#38 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#57 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.6 km away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.0 km away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#54 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Ticul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Ticul

Property: Hotel Casa Ticul
Address: Quinta Avenida entre calle 38 y calle 40 Lote 8 | Zazil Ha, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,351 - ₹ 14,708
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa Ticul 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated style with Mexican tradition - for adults only, this is a restful and exclusive hideaway in Playa del Carmen where tradition and modernity merge - making the ideal escape for couples looking for a romantic get-away. Casa Ticul is much more than just a hotel; it is a home away from home where our personalized service and warm atmosphere ensure a peaceful vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Casa Ticul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ticul Hotel
Hotel Casa Ticul Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing